We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“welcoming”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel needs a little decorating but for value and friendliness it cannot be faulted

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammywBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    590
    266
    84
    61
See reviews for
134
724
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Having stayed at the majestic and now the Cairns hotel in Harrogate, I think I am reasonably informed to make a comparison between these hotels which share a similar location and Victorian  ambiance. This review focuses however on the Cairns.
The hotel looks good from the outside with a nice large carpark at the front. Entrance lobby looks really nice although the reception is a little hard to find when you first enter, it's not really obvious. Reception was handled well and efficiently and I was shown up to the room. This was on the top floor. I had booked a standard double even though it was only myself staying as I fancied some extra space. The room was generally ok. Bed was a standard double which looked a bit small as I'm used to a queen size even at home but it was only a standard room after all. Bed however was very comfy. Room smelled slightly damp. Nothing serious and I do have a sensitive nose but there was definitely a bit of damp going on. Older style tv with terrestrial channels only. Overall I thought the room was average for what I paid. It was very clean.
I've looked at other reviews for this hotel and would say they are fairly accurate. Duct tape is evident in places on the carpet on the public areas and it does look a bit tired in many areas. Wood chip wallpaper seems to rule here. Creaky floorboards and noisy plumbing, it was all there but to be expected to some extent  in a building of this type.  One thing I noticed was that prices charged equaled prices you would pay in much higher standard hotels. 
Food in the restaurant was fairly cafeteria like and not great. The carvery could have been measured out with a ruler. The grandeur of the dining room was rather spoilt by the cheap tables and chairs. It was clear the staff were under instructions on portion size. On the subject of staff I found the English staff really pleasant and genuine but unusually a lot of the foreign staff were unhappy. One or two were marginally cheerful but most weren't. Strange as its usually the other way round.

At the time of writing this the majestic hotel sits one place above this hotel in the tripadvisor ratings. In reality it is in a different league to the Cairns pretty much in all areas. The Cairns isn't a bad hotel but it's seriously tired with no physical indication of future development. The majestic ( possibly thanks to the fire a couple of years ago) is building and growing whilst keeping its Victorian roots.
I didn't have a bad experience and the hotel has many redeeming features but i probably wouldn't stay again.
The best advice I could give is try it out yourself.  I certainly wouldn't advise anyone not to go.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I satyed for 1 night over half term. The Hotel is set in it's own grounds and is a huge building. It is an old hotel with lots of original stained glass windows, ballrooms, fireplaces etc. Needless to say because of this the floors can be a little unlevel, noisy to walk on, but to me it added to the ambience of the place. It was like stepping back in time. The room we had was fine. Simple but clean and the beds were comfortable. For the price we paid it was spot on. I liked the location as it was an easy walk into Harrogate, the breakfast was self service and again perfectly adequate if a little busy. I didn't have time to see all of the Hotel but really enjoyed the feel of the place - beats staying in a serid Travelodge on an out of town industrail estate any day of the week. If you accept the Hotel is old, I think you would enjoy this place. I would certainly not hesitate to go back, given the price I got it for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I joined a party of over 100 at the Cairn for a Turkey and Tinsel weekend. This was a week before their advertised T&T breaks as the group had to move to the Cairn from another hotel.
Despite this we were made very welcome. We were met on the coaches, smoothly gathering room keys and made our way to rooms. My room was 228 facing the town centre on the side of the hotel. This was a large room with three windows.
Breakfast and dinner were served in various function suites over the weekend and although the hotel-organised entertainment was a little hit and miss and there was no new year 'bells', fun was had by all.
The location is perfect for travellers by coach, train or car. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the town centre (up and down steep hills). We also had a day trip to York - 30 minutes away by train.
Well worth a return visit for Turkey and Tinsel or a weekend in North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

an overnight stay at the Cairn was a most pleasant one, bedroom was warm and comfortable with super bathroom. The buffet breakfast was a meal to set us up for the day. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: room 112 was ours, couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmacavity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Having seen mixed reviews we tried the Cairn instead of a central chain hotel and were very pleased. The room was a good size and well decorated plus a tea, coffee, biscuits selection. A good quite modern bathroom with an excellent shower and complimentary toiletries. Yes some of the corridor and stair carpet was not in the first flush of youth with the odd patch but everywhere was clean. With ample free parking a quite acceptable buffet breakfast included in the very reasonable on-line price a hands down winner over the chain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ea217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in October 2011. Buffet breakfast excellent along with the evening meals although we did think that £4.20 for 7 or 8 balls of melon in a small wine glass was a bit steep.

The plates in the restaurant felt as though they had just come out of the oven. You needed two or three paper napkins to carry them. I know it is the British way to have hot plates but these were positively dangerous - especially for younger/older folk.

After the first night I asked in the morning for a pillow. It hadn't arrived when we returned late afternoon. I enquired again and was told it will be sent up "immediately". It never arrived.

The most serious concern we had with this hotel is that they have installed bars across each window, presumably to prevent people falling out. The opening of the window is also restricted so they only open a short way. My concern is that if there was ever a fire in the room and the only escape route was through the window, you wouldn't get out. Very serious indeed.

Instructions were provided on how to use the bath mat (!) and a notice that the radiator gets very hot - well, it would wouldn't it?

Having said all that it is a pleasant hotel, good location for the town centre and (apart from the pillow) the staff were very helpful, but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one without window bars but I guess all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing