We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“turkey and tinsel a winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“turkey and tinsel a winner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We have just returned from a five day break at the Cairn Hotel. We have stayed here before as a center to travel around.
This time we booked the Turkey and Tinsel break and it wasnt a turkey I can assure you!
We chose a Club room and were delighted to find a modern well appointed room with treats like wine fruit bottled water and assorted sweets and choccies all replenished daily. Dressing gowns soft and fluffy.
Evening entertainment of average hotel standard but everything was geared to allowing us to enjoy an early Christmas.
Food was well cooked and plenty of it. Breakfast was plentyfull, enough to keep anyone going all day.
The staff were VERY busy as each day the Hotel had functions from lunchtime onwards yet they made sure we were well taken care off.

My only complaint is regarding the TV reception in our room despite drawing attention to it on several occasions there was no improvement, other guests commented on it as well so
everyone seemed to be in the same boat.

All in all we had a great trip, just what we needed.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crabbitandcrabbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    570
    254
    79
    61
See reviews for
123
692
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We had an overnight stay in the hotel as part of a coach party and it very comfortable with helpful staff. The public areas were very festive and decorated with Christmas trees and the stained glass windows were stunning. Our double room looked as though it had recently been refurbished and was clean and comfortable. The evening carvery was nothing out of the ordinary, but well cooked and tasty with several choices in each course and breakfast was plentiful - again with a variety of choices. The situation is ideal if you wish to visit Harrogate, with a short walk down the hill to the centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeMaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We just had one night at the Cairn Hotel, on a coach tour, and it was exellent value. The dining room is beautifully set out, red chairs, white tablecloths and dark green wall paper, a relaxing ambience. The dinner was excellent value, 3 tasty courses, and coffee, but the prices that would have been charged us otherwise seemed slightly high! Breakfast was also very good - self service, and beautifully hot and well presented.
Yes, the decor is tired in many places, and duct tape has been used in various spots on the carpet in the public areas, but the radiator in our room worked a treat.
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly - well done the Cairn!

Room Tip: We were on the third flloor, and our room was fine, but I only used the lift once - it never seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We only stayed one night, in November 2011. What a lovely hotel. Warm and friendly welcome on check in. Gorgeous Christmas Tree in the huge reception area. A couple of coaches of "christmas breaks" in the hotel, which added to the good atmosphere. Our room was a double, very nice decor, separate bathroom up few steps, with bath and a large separate shower. In house toiletries provided. We ate in the restaurant for dinner as the weather outside was appalling. Food was excellent and the staff so polite and helpful. All immaculately dressed. Had a good nights sleep, bed was comfortable. The breakfast the next morning, was amazing. Everything you could want was there. Full English, self serve, all fresh and piping hot, plenty of fresh fruit, prepared or not as you wanted. Self serve toaster, all kinds of bread. Good selection of cereals, yogurt, preserves etc. (Other choices were available e.g. kippers, boiled eggs, porridge, pancakes etc). Tea or coffee brought to the table. Couldnt fault it.
We have already booked a weekend for next year. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amerikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Outdated rooms, very dodgy decor but good location and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel needs a little decorating but for value and friendliness it cannot be faulted

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammywBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Having stayed at the majestic and now the Cairns hotel in Harrogate, I think I am reasonably informed to make a comparison between these hotels which share a similar location and Victorian  ambiance. This review focuses however on the Cairns.
The hotel looks good from the outside with a nice large carpark at the front. Entrance lobby looks really nice although the reception is a little hard to find when you first enter, it's not really obvious. Reception was handled well and efficiently and I was shown up to the room. This was on the top floor. I had booked a standard double even though it was only myself staying as I fancied some extra space. The room was generally ok. Bed was a standard double which looked a bit small as I'm used to a queen size even at home but it was only a standard room after all. Bed however was very comfy. Room smelled slightly damp. Nothing serious and I do have a sensitive nose but there was definitely a bit of damp going on. Older style tv with terrestrial channels only. Overall I thought the room was average for what I paid. It was very clean.
I've looked at other reviews for this hotel and would say they are fairly accurate. Duct tape is evident in places on the carpet on the public areas and it does look a bit tired in many areas. Wood chip wallpaper seems to rule here. Creaky floorboards and noisy plumbing, it was all there but to be expected to some extent  in a building of this type.  One thing I noticed was that prices charged equaled prices you would pay in much higher standard hotels. 
Food in the restaurant was fairly cafeteria like and not great. The carvery could have been measured out with a ruler. The grandeur of the dining room was rather spoilt by the cheap tables and chairs. It was clear the staff were under instructions on portion size. On the subject of staff I found the English staff really pleasant and genuine but unusually a lot of the foreign staff were unhappy. One or two were marginally cheerful but most weren't. Strange as its usually the other way round.

At the time of writing this the majestic hotel sits one place above this hotel in the tripadvisor ratings. In reality it is in a different league to the Cairns pretty much in all areas. The Cairns isn't a bad hotel but it's seriously tired with no physical indication of future development. The majestic ( possibly thanks to the fire a couple of years ago) is building and growing whilst keeping its Victorian roots.
I didn't have a bad experience and the hotel has many redeeming features but i probably wouldn't stay again.
The best advice I could give is try it out yourself.  I certainly wouldn't advise anyone not to go.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing