We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous show!!”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fabulous show!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Cairn hotel Harrogate on the 21/1/2012. thank goodness we only booked the one night..Upon arrival we were told that the room that we had been allocated was just above the dance floor and there was to be an annual dinner dance that evening.. we were asked would we like another room, of course we said yes..The wrong answer!!..we were put on the third floor.. When we opened the door the room and bathroom were freezing, what a welcome..the rads were not working, we sent for help, the porter came and bled the rads..which seemed forever...they never kept at a constant temp..mostly cool..there was a huge gap under and down the side of the door, with light shining through from the corridor, we blocked the sides from draughts with scarves and a cushion..we had drinks from the complimentary tray, to find the milk carton was out of date (17/12/2011)..(only over one month old!)we complained and the receptionist said ' oh dear' and gave us some more!!.not are you both o.k....the window in the bathroom was rotten and the wind was howling in, we tried to block the draught out with the curtains..but feared the window if touched would fall out!..oh dear I must stop now..I could write a book!!the whole place needs upgrading, where do they get those stars!!..The highlight and saviour of our intended visit to Harrogate was the superb Katherine Jenkins show at the International Centre...what a fabulous show and what a fantastic place..thats the Centre I am talking about by the way!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    593
    266
    84
    62
See reviews for
136
726
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

As the organiser of our motorcycle club it was with pleasure that our group let me set up our "black Tie" dinner dance here. This is the 12th year we have been dealing with the hotel, and with the excellent guidance from the events Team lead by Vicky with overall help from The manager Sue it always ends up as a superb function.

With 80 stopping the Friday swelled to 150 on the saturday, we choose to use the Grand Pavillion Ballroom and the ambience of the room creates the best atmosphere, this room with the stage and the sprung floor lets us exploit the room, its set up/ the table settings/ our band / comediene/ and D.J's proved spectacular.

We could not have wished for a better welcome from all the staff, the servers and the chefs gave us an excellent meal served swiftly and piping hot, and all washed down with drinks at the xmas events offer prices, the servers even found time to all present a birthday cake with "the Song" to one of our members - brilliant and thanks to you all

On the Friday our members enjoyed a brilliant 3 course meal included in the price which was of good quality ,good choices and served again piping hot , the staff that night again were polite and nothing was too much trouble.- instead of going into town follwing the meal we all chose to stay in the lobby bar and a grand night was had by all until the very early hours

And in the mornings they all remarked on how good the breakfast was , we prefer the self service style, as this allows you to choose from the menu what suits your taste , and there certainly was plenty of that

Previous comments about the corridors etc are true , yes a bit of TLC is needed , but we sleep in our rooms not in the corridors and from the comments received from our group there is no real cause for any major complaints, in fact on the last morning and to date the 150 that came this year wish to book for 2013.

Any group that is planning an event at the Cairn , we would highly recommend the hotel and if you consult and work with the events organisers you will be certain that you will have an excellent function

Room Tip: worth paying the extra and have a "Club Room" or push the boat out and enjoy the Crown S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theyorkiesvsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just back from our second stay at the Cairn, for the bike club's annual dinner dance, and again we've had a fantastic time.
The staff are lovely - a friendly, down-to-earth bunch of people who go out of their way to help. The food's excellent too, especially the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet!:)
Sure, the communal areas could do with some TLC (the carpet is taped down in some areas and there are cracks in the ceiling) but restoring the Cairn to it's former glory would cost an arm and a leg - and they simply don't charge enough.
So, if luxury decor's your thing, try one of the four or five star hotels in town. If you want a great value break with lovely helpful people and delicious food, choose the Cairn!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room - the special touches are well worth paying that bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brummymummy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Well, we were back at the Cairn Hotel for our annual dinner/dance, with 80 of us staying on Friday night and our numbers swelling to 150 for the Saturday night dinner/dance and stop over.
We have stayed many timesat the Cairn Hotel over the years and have always found the staff to be welcoming and curtious, nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for them and they always aim to please!
Many of the staff are easily recognisable to us and that must be a good way of telling that the Cairn Hotel is a nice place to work and that they do their jobs well.
The food in general is always very nice and the cooked breakfast is really a mouth watering experience!

Room Tip: We havestayed at the Cairn Hotel many times over the years and have had many different rooms in vari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midnightkawboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My partner, myself, my best friend and her husband stayed at the Cairn hotel for two nights, having booked the rooms as other hotels we had stayed in were full. What a shame we did. Although the hotel must have been spectacular when it was built, it doesn't appear to have had a lick of paint or new carpets since then. There was duct tape all over the carpets and our room was horrendous with a TV that looked older than I am. That said, my friends room was ok. Within hours or arriving the lift had broken down and we were told that it could not be fixed until Monday, good job we didn't want to spend any time in our room as going up and down the creaky stairs would have driven us mad! When booking we hadn't been told that an annual dinner-dance for a group of bikers was on that weekend and although the people attending it were really lovely and fun to meet, we didn't realise that we'd be able to hear the function from our room! Mind you the banging and clanging of the radiators in our freezing cold room drowned out the band at times. We left feeling tired and out of pocket only to see someone reporting the theft of money from their room. Would never stay there again although we did all laugh about how awful it was and the comment from my partner when we left instructing us to wipe our feet before we exited.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had 2 nights here for the New Year 2011.We were told of the entertainment and to expect some noise.For some reason our room number changed 3 times,not sure why,the room we got was right over the entertainment so was very loud.Will request a quieter room next time. Anyway happy with the service and it was a lovely place to stay.Bit of duct tape needed on the carpet in the bedroom but that was the only problem that really needed attention. Remote in room 217 not working but on checking I saw the batteries were the wrong size,I have mentioned this so hopefully they will have the right one's by now.Lovely breakfast and having Haggis on 1st Jan topped it off.All staff we met were very nice and it was Andrew in the bar that gave the hotel a feeling that you were back home with a friend.Thank you Andrew,looking forward to our next visit and chat about NUFC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is'nt over the top of the entertainment ( if possible ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed here before but never at Christmas. The 4 day package termed 'House Party' certainly lived up to it's name. 23rd to 27th December.
The room was excellent, very clean and the house staff did an exceptional cleaning job every day which quite frankly we didn't expect over Christmas including Christmas day.
The whole of the Hotel staff performed extremely well including the manager who never stopped. Not quite sure where she gets the energy from!
Food as usual was excellent, as was the evening entertainment.
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would not hesitate to do it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry186345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,729 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing