We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay [Budget Hotel]”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Exterior of hotel is stunning, interior is slightly dated and in need of refurbishment. For an overnight stay the hotel was great, staff friendly, however, remember a bottle opener if you intend to have a night cap [they charge £5 for the use of theirs].

Breakfast was buffet style and kept well stocked and a lot of variety ie full English, cereal & pastries etc.

Shower was on the low side, as I am only just over 5' and still had to bend to get underneath???

Room extremely large, comfortable bed, very clean. Car park is very large which is always a bonus so close to a Town Centre.

Bar prices were good for a hotel.

In our opinion the hotel is geared up for coach tours which is obviously where they make most of their money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Cairn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Although the first appearance is that the hotel is tired this was not the case as our room was spotless with what appeared to be a new very modern bathroom.Everything worked as was required with a nice view from the room which was on the third floor at the back of the hotel.
The staff were very polite and very helpful, and the breakfast was superior to many hotels with a higher star rating. The car park is large and although there was a function taking place with a lot of visitors just for the evening we had no problem in finding a space to park. The walk into Harrogate takes approximately 15/20 minutes,part of which is uphill in either direction.
Would we use the hotel again - Yes

Room Tip: Only stayed once,but our room was on the third floor at the back of the hotel and there was no noise...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Speedbird402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A lovely old hotel with character. Spacious lounges and entertainment room. Good choice of menu with well cooked and tasty food. I had a very large double room for a single person with huge bathroom complete with bath and walk in shower. Very clean. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. There are bus stops right outside the hotel going into Harrogate bus station/ Ripon
and direct to Harewood and Leeds in the other direction. Not too difficult to walk into town even with some mobility problems. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

stayed there for 4 nights last week as part of a group of 100 people. From the efficient check in on arrival to departing the staff could not do enough to assist in any way possible. The food was excellent very pleasant staff who served it. The bar prices were good for a 3 star hotel. Rooms very claen. Would return again. Only a short walk to town centre

Room Tip: We did not have any club rooms but no need as the rooms we had were very good
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingarthur1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Harking back to days of yore. Work in progress to return it to its former elegance. Nothing wrong with this hotel. Food good, room fine, price was right, staff were pleasant, minutes from town centre. Yes, I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dailaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I booked a 3 night D B&B for February with Easy-Break.com but didn't take our insurance. Later I read other reviews and took the advice given and contacted Easy-Break to upgrade to a Club room which was as the reviewers said well worth the extra £20 per night. However because I had not taken insurance I also had to pay an additional £24 to upgrade, my mistake for not reading the small print which stated "any change to booking would incur an additional charge". This is not a grumble, just a warning.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The meals were tasty with a good selection to choose from and the wine was not overpriced. Our bedroom & bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable with cotton bed linen and a decent supply of towels. The carpets and decoration in the common areas are rather tired but appear to be in the process of being upgraded, this did not detract from our enjoyment. The main reception area of the hotel is very elegant with comfortable seating arranged in groups. If I was being critical I would suggest it could do with much larger plants to bring it back to its former glory as it’s a beautiful space in which to sit and enjoy a relaxed break. Our stay was excellent value for money, we will return and use it as our base to explore more of this interesting part of Yorkshire and I shall certainly recommend the Cairn Hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pickyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

stayed at the cairn hotel for 1 night in a club room, which was 70 quid and came with chocolate, robes, fruit and newspaper. the hotel is never going to win any design awards and to be honest needs a bit of an overhaul, tho the lobby and restaurant/bar areas have a certain faded elegance which is really quite nice. the room was very clean, comftable, lovely shower with lots of products provided. its also in a fantastic location, literally a few minutes walk from the centre of harrogate, but was really quiet at night. breakfast was average as far as a help yourself buffet can be, but value for money wise the hotel is great.

Room Tip: club rooms come with extra freebies but probably not worth the money.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank owlbeonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £61 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing