We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Cairn is a lovely big old hotel set well back from the road and just five minutes' walk from the town centre. Plenty of car parking space when I was there. The grand entrance, staircase and vast eating areas (probably a ballroom at one time) are impressive and I was pleasantly surprised given some of the reviews I'd read on here. A coat of paint needed here and there perhaps, but so does my hallway. My room wasn't huge but perfectly adequate with everything I needed. Clean bathroom (and bath!) with loads of hot water. Thick curtains that actually kept out the light. I had booked dinner, B&B and was very happy with both evening meal and breakfast. Plenty of choice for both meals, generous helpings (breakfast is self service), food very tasty. The service was attentive and friendly and the surroundings and tables were beautifully presented. All in all, a really pleasant and enjoyable weekend break in a great town, I couldn't fault it without being picky so I won't, and I can certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    570
    254
    79
    61
See reviews for
123
692
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food was good , plenty of variety. Our room warm and comfy (203). Old fashioned which suited us just fine. Enjoyed our stay and will definately come again. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed for one night with friends. A huge hotel - a little tired in places but very clean with friendly, helpful staff. Reception area was very grand - a reminder of a bye-gone era. Our room was light and airy and a good size. The bathroom was spotless with lovely white towels. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and served piping hot. Would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton upon Humber
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Lovely old building......shabby in some places but all adds to the overall character we felt. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Room was nice, noit too big but we were only there for 2 nights. Food was great......as much as you can eat at breakfast which sets you up for the day! Had mentioned it would be my birthday during our stay when I booked and a birthday card from the Cirn staff was waiting in our room. Thought this was a lovely touch. Would definitely use again for a visit to the Dales.

Room Tip: Not far from town centre admittedly but the hill is a killer! If there is a wedding party on, gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A long established hotel, modernised and well presented. Close to town centre and general travel facilities.
It was the hotel chosen by Dodds of Troon, Ayrshire for a recent trip involving passengers from N.Ireland and Ayrshire, Scotland.
All facilities were excellent.

Room Tip: Choice of staircase. Lifts of good size and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elwyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Cairn for Easter weekend. Lovely hotel. Very clean and the food was first class. The hotel has a large car park. The town centre is a five minute walk and there is also a bus stop outside the hotel. I found the staff very polite and welcoming. I would definately stay here again if i was in the area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are roomy with a dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs u.k
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed for one night over the easter weekend and were very pleased.Never met such friendly hotel staff-they were lovely.Hotel clean if a bit dated.Breakfast really nice and plenty of it! Short walk into the town and massive car park-what more do you need?! Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing