We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but showing it's age”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It must be really expensive keeping on top of maintaining such a grand building ! The entrance and public areas were fantastic, but sadly as you got to the bedrooms and corridors things did begin to look and feel a bit dated. Our room was perfectly adequate but felt like it had not been decorated for 20 years or more - peeling paint on the windows, very worn carpets etc. ( I haven't been in a hotel that doesn't have a digital flat screen TV for years, but this one was still hanging onto an old analogue set complete with snowstorm picture).

HOWEVER, it was all very clean and perfectly adequate for our short stay. The staff were very pleasant, it was only a short walk to the centre of Harrogate and the breakfast was good without being great. All in all, a good place to stay if you can get a good deal, but stay away if you expect your room to be modern !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greatn0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

After a grand reception the decor of the hotel is a little dated - I felt that I had stepped into an Agatha Christie novel, but the rooms are well appointed and immaculately clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was very good. It is a short walk into Harrogate - albeit with a bit of a hill, and I would recommend this hotel as a great base for exploring the town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kreachercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Friendly staff, good service. Excellent breakfast. Public areas quite grand. Bedrooms comfortable and clean. Window frames needed to be refurbished in room as paint flaking off but was nt a problem. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My sister and I spent 5 nights in the Cairn Hotel. The staff were all very helpful and curtious. The main reception area was an eye opener as it felt that you were in a grand palace. The food was of a high standard and the service prompt. I unfortunately took ill in the middle of Wednesday night and had to go to hospital. The night porter was vey helpful and waited with my sister and I until the taxi came. On our return he asked if there was anything that he and the hotel could do for me. I said that I was fine and all we both needed was a sleep. On coming down for breakfast the next morning the girl on reception ask how I was. We cut our holiday short as I wanted to get home and see my own doctor etc. Again the staff were very helpful and helped my sister carry the luggae down and load it into the car. We will be back and so will some of our friend and family. Our rooms were large and there was complmentry wine, fruit, water and sweets in our rooms. The hotel stamds in its own grounds so no traffic noises

Room Tip: As there is no traffice noise on loud music playing I would say that all romms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

stayed over the weekend of the 18th to 20th august and wasn't impressed at all.They offer an alternative breakfast if you don't want the buffet but i wouldn't bother ordering from it as i only ordered 2 lots of pancakes and waited over 40 minutes for them and just kept being told the chef was very busy, busy with what i have no idea as the breakfast buffet ran out of mushrooms and sausages and more.the whole waiting staff needs a serious kick up the backside, tables were being left dirty and people had to ask for tables to cleared which should not happen. i complained to the manager and all she seemed concerned about was that they had great reviews on trip advisor however from what i have read i would strongly disagree with her.the morning following the complaint management appeared in the breakfast room watching staff but will this continue , i don't think so!!!! i will not stay again nor will i recommend this hotel to anyone.If you get a room with a fourposter bed you can't watch tv in bed as the placement of the tv has been done by a blind man!!!
the hotel knows how many people are booked in to stay so why does the number of staff on at breakfast not represent it,management need to look at how they are running the hotel because as a visitor it doesn't come across well at all, management should know what is haappening in every part of the hotel not just their own little bit.
p.s never got the pancakes!!!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank helenk512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

stayed at this hotel on many occassions, just arrived back 19th aug, a little disappointed this time, service at breakfast was very slow, sat ten minutes for coffee and toast despite asking, 2nd morning they ran out of sausage, bacon and eggs so had to stand and wait until they were ready, i think more staff should have been on as the breakfast room was very busy

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just spent a night here 17/8/2012 to recharge our batteries after a lot of work and no play.
A lovely grand hotel that could do with some updating.
Good sized room even though it was a standard.
A lovely big bar that does meals and one of the best breakfasts I,ve ever had

Room Tip: Don,t get a room near the service stairs we could here the night staff running up and down all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harryb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing