We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Paint and Splendid Breakfast”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was areal last minute booking. We hadn't expected to be able to stay for a friends 50th and booked on the day we were staying. Last minute.com found a rom that I couldn't find and we weren't expecting a lot. Big victorian hotel and expected it to be tired and a bit run down.
First things first very clean,staff incredibly helpful and friendly. We were upgraded and although some of the decor and fittings weren't boutiquey there was fresh decorating all over and our room was pleasant. Brilliant breakfast with excellent sausages. All in all a really good stay. The 50th? It was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for one nights B and B and to attend a function. We had a club room which was of a high standard.It is a magnificent building but really needs a coat of paint. Breakfast ample but sausages overcooked. Would certainly stay again. Less said about the function the better but this was not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Choose a club room worth that bit extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

just had 2 days at cairn hotel. it was second visit and wont be the last. while the hotel does need some updating the food, cleanliness and staff cant be faulted. Dont know how they do it for the price of their special breaks. Theres a big car park and only 5 mins from centre. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10KATH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have stayed a few times.love the old cairn.love the old style.not into moden hotels.breakfast great.rooms clean.staff brill.dont change.will be back.great thanks.Would love to stay at Xmas. Hopefully one day.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank sue2phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Nice hotel with a good location. Rooms were a bit shabby as were the public corridors. However the staff were excellent and food was good.

Maybe a reason for shabby rooms and carpets?? The hotel allows dogs. This was the weekend of a dog show in the town and they were allowed in the hotel bedrooms. This disgusted and shocked me as I have never before seen dogs allowed in rooms. I won't be going there again if I want to stay with a dog I will book into kennels for a lot less, that's my opinion of where dogs should be. The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment.

Room Tip: It's a bit on the shabby side and they allow dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiseleKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is rated as a 3*, maybe so in the 1970's which is when I imagine the hotel was last decorated. If you value standards of cleanliness and decor this hotel is best avoided. The carpets in the hallways are held together with masking tape, peeling paintwork and damp, musty smells made this a thoroughly unpleasant experience. We made the mistake of trusting other reviews from this site and others that portrayed this hotel in a favourable light. All I can say is it worries me what standards people deem as acceptable.

We have written to the company on two occasions expressing our concerns and asking for feedback however it has now been three months since our stay and we have had no reply. This is indicative of the state of this hotel. It is such a shame because Harrogate is lovely but there are many nicer hotels to choose for your stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheshiretravellersab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at the Cairn as part of a wedding party so got a good discount for the room. On arrival were greated by a very friendly young women who explained everything in a helpful manner. I agree, the hotel is somewhat worn at the seams but I actually liked liked the old-fashioned way of things. Our room was fine, we had a flat-screen tv, it was teeny and instructions would have been helpful. Our bathroom was absolutely fine, the shower was fairly good, a shelf for shampoo/soap would have been handy. A bedside lamp on both sides of the bed would have been useful, but maybe that's just being a bit picky!
Breakfast was good, lots of choice on the well-stocked buffet and again a nice friendly guy was on hand to take our order for toast and coffee.
Don't know whether I would pay full price for a stay there, but I was pretty happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £52 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing