We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very freindly efficient staff and good value for the price we paid.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very freindly efficient staff and good value for the price we paid.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived early but our rooms were ready for us, we were a parry of 5 in 3 rooms. The rooms were clean, perhaps in need of a re-fit but for the price we paid more than adequate. The location was superb, a 5 minute walk into the centre of Harrogate. There was a wedding party going on on Saturday night, it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and everything we had was very good.
In summary, good value for money, excellent location, probably in need of a spruce up but very helpful freindly staff. We would return...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barlikontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    559
    244
    76
    60
See reviews for
122
673
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from a two night break at The Cairn
It is or has been a beautiful building but really needs sprucing up
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately on our first night they were hosting a young farmers event and our room was directly above the party the noise was very loud . The reception team were very good though and allowed us to change rooms . we were in a club room and paid 150 for one night and 80 for the other as we booked the nights seperatley definately not worth the 150 . Although we did enjoy our stay .

Room Tip: Go for a club room but not above the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were here for a dance weekend, so were part of a group. Had we been here on our own, our review would, perhaps, have been more critical. I'll try to be as objective as I can.

First off, this is an old Edwardian hotel and the character and internal and external architecture reflects that and can't be changed. That in itself causes some issues: (1) these places are extremely difficult and costly to maintain, so it's all a bit shabby in parts and frayed round the edges, and (2) the plumbing and soundproofing isn't what would be expected in a more modern building. But, on the plus side the hotel does have a very strong charm and art-deco flavour to it; from the stained glass and leaded windows, to the tiled reception lobby (where you could almost expect to see Hercule Poirot at any minute!), and to the lovely high ceilings, fluted columns, and fascinating framed photos from the early 1900's.
The bedroom was, again, "characterful" (my view: others might say "dated") but with a number of maintenance issues which should be addressed. But it was, I must say, very well cleaned.
Bottom line: with a very thorough programme of renovation and redecoration this could be an absolute gem of a hotel and should have a strong potential and appeal to the American tourist market. Good car parking provision and nice, central location within a few minutes walk from the town centre.
As to food? Breakfast was good, so no problems there. Dinner was carvery style and was just o/k, although the dessert wasn't up to scratch (rhubarb pie that was far too bitter and pastry slightly undercooked). The staff were polite, attentive and helpful without being over the top.

Over the weekend we stayed (as a Dance Group), there was also a RAF reunion group, and a Young Farmers disco., which was extremely loud and a tad boisterous and the music went on until about 1:00am. Whilst I recognise that this sort of event - and the attendant bar takings(!) - is a vital source of revenue for hotels these days there is a point at which this WILL conflict with legitimate hotel guests or other (more sedate) groups who retire to their beds at more normal hours. In short, extremely bad management strategy and they should perhaps ask themselves whether they want to be a hotel, or a night club?

I've not marked the hotel down because of this, on the assumption that we were just unlucky and this was just a one-off. The Cairn is a 3* hotel, and that's - just - about right.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just spent a night at the Cairn Hotel to attend a reunion. Our room was acceptable and the general service overall was good.. Our brealfast was most enjoyable with plenty of choice and the waiting on service was good. Sadly ( as a chef with 46 years experience) the reunion meal was well below par. The soup whilst tasty had not been blended sufficiently to give a smooth texture. Strings of chicken giving the soup a poor and rough quality. The Roast Sirloin was overcooked and tough. The roast potatoes had been put though a frier and not roasted. The new potatoes along with the vegetables were undercooked and below serving temperature. The sauce as such was like a paste. No Horseradish Sauce was served with the beef and as for the pudding these again were poor quality and below par. I would hope the this meal was a on off / bad night for the chef, but if it is the norm then the management need to look into this type of complaint and rectify the problem asap

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milopilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The photos on the website belay what is in fact true. Our room at £120 per night was only fit for a doss house. I told them prior to our arrival that my wife was disabled and found it difficult walking. When I arrived they said they had given us a room close to the lift. TOTAL LIE it couldn`t have been further. The room had damp in one cornerm there were cracked tiles in the `bathroom`. The grouting around the sink was awful, the bath was cracked, the towels could have been used as sand paper. This is a shabby chic hotel with the emphasis on shabby.

Room Tip: Don`t go here for £120 per room it should be £40. Breakfast was £12.95 for bad bacon, ropy eggs,, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insptubbs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick,
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Cairn is a lovely old, slightly threadbare in places, but pleasant hotel. It has plenty of reception space with lots of easy chairs, sofas and tables, and the bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable (though some, like ours only have a view of the flat roofs below and a large flue). Another advantage of this hotel - just a hundred yards or so from the centre and the International Conference venue, is that it has plenty of free parking for residents. Good breakfast, with buffet and hot served breakfast for those who want it. I have good memories from many years ago of conferences based here - before the Conference Centre opened, and not much has changed - which is good!
Reasonbly priced and attractive and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just returned from a 3 day Autumn Break - good value for money, as other reviews have stated the hotel is looking tired in the public areas and needs some updating. Our room was of a reasonable standard just the basic not the club room. The bathroom was large and modern and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was of a good standard. however we had the misfortune to have booked in when there were 3 coach parties in the hotel. This made meal times something of trial. We had to arrange our mealtimes in order to miss the coach parties or otherwise you could stand and wait for 10-15mins to be served at the carvary and the breakfast buffet...

Room Tip: Hotel is set back off the road and was quiet with no traffic noise and good size car park room 102...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing