We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned charm with all mod cons.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Preston UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm with all mod cons.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for a weekend as part of a group. The hotel is well located, a short walk from the centre of Harrogate. It has a large private car park. The hotel has a good old fashioned look and feel, but it is spotlessly clean, has a very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed, spacious, with all the usual facilities and comfortable beds. The breakfasts were served by attentive friendly staff and the cooked food was hot tasty and well presented. The cereals and fruit juice to start with were self service. The evening meals were very good with a starter followed by a carvery with several choices of meat, plenty of veg and finished off with a selection of deserts and coffee. Free wifi is available in the lounge / bar area. The public areas were spacious and well laid out with plenty of places to sit and chat, with a cosy feel to them. There were also several function rooms. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. in fact we have booked again for next year. We would definitely recommend this hotel for couples, families or groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Bxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    559
    245
    76
    60
See reviews for
122
674
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Booked the Cairn Hotel for weekend break in Harrogate 12th October 2012.

Great Location with plenty of on site car parking and only 5 minute walk from town centre, shopping, restaurants and visitor attractions.

On arrival Reception Staff were very friendly and attentive, registration procedure quick and efficient. Lobby area is impressive.

Allocated Room was adequate for our needs, however decor and fittings showing their age as was the bathroom. TV was big old thing with only 5 TV channels - ok were not here to watch TV but just another sign that the place needs some modernisation.

Breakfast - a buffet and counter service affair, choices were again adequate but not extensive and all cooked food was piping hot and of good quality. Again staff were friendly and attentive.

Bar - large open plan Bar area, comfortable seating, good selection of beer and spirits and pleasant and friendly staff. Prices not over inflated.

All in all a good stay, but some modernisation wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Suggest you request an outside room, ours was on the inside and view was diabolical.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shakleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed at the cairn at the end of september for two nights. the hotel has the oldie worldy look about it. It has sprawling coridoors with squeeky floorboards. The hotel does need a make over but with such a large building it would take a fortune, the coridoor carpets need replacing, but the rooms although small are clean and the bathroom was very modern with a bath and a seperate shower. Only problem was the tv was on the end of the dressing table and in an awkward position to watch, could do with smaller flat screens that attach to the wall.
The breakfast was very good and we had an evening meal which was also good.The staff at the hotel were always helpful and friendly. It is very central for harrogate center and has plenty of free parking which is a bonus in harrogate, but be aware thet it is on a hill and you have to walk up another hill to get to the town center, so if disabled it could be quite a trek if walking although harrogate does have a large car park on the other side of the station if you need to park in town, once in town everything is on the flat with easy access. The cairn is not far from the valley gardens and montpelier with its famous bettys tea rooms, this you will have to queue to get in but there is another tea rooms at the Harlow car gardens which is usually less hectic depending on what time of year and day you go. They are a few miles outside town but easy to get to. So if you want to stay in a hotel with fantastic features and lots of history the Cairn is as good a place as any.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmacwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Part of a large group of dancers on our third year annual dance at the Cairn. Although the Hotel itself is in need of some TLC it was clean. The staff and food however left a lot to be desired especially management. There were two other parties in at the same time a party of Young Farmers and another one of teenagers either a school leaving or reunion. It was bedlam.By 10.30pm the foyer was full of teenagers slightly worse for drink, you could get into the toilets for teenagers being sick. There were two "heavies" outside out ballroom who appeared rooted to the spot the whole night. Also a group of "first aiders" walking around. The disco which was held in the dining room grew louder and louder as the night progressed. We retired to our room about 11.15 we had dancing the following morning. We were in room 132 right over the "disco" everything in the room vibrated you couldnt hear your self speak. On ringing the reception I was told it would be going on until 1.00am and no not possible to turn the volumn down. Reception rang back later and offered to move us. We declined as it was 11.45 by this time and to be honest the mangement were aware of what was going to happen so people should not have been put on that floor or made to "put up" with the noise.It was a case of taking as much money as possible from the teenagers and begger the ordinary dancers we were a crowd of over 100.I got dressed and went down stairs to the ballroom where there were other people from our group unable to sleep. The "disco" room had been trashed according to a security person.One of the chandlers appeared to be broken with someone swinging from it and some panes of glass broken. Some drunken bodies on the floor under the tables. We did take photographs. By the time all the teenagers had been escorted out from 1.00am onwards it was going on for 2.30 before the screaming and shouting had subsided. Many complaints made to the staff to no avail. I have written to the head office as other people have and still waiting for a reply. We had booked to go next year making it our fourth year. Very reluctant to visit this Hotel as customer care doesnt appear to apply.

Room Tip: Check if a disco or large gathering is taking place before booking as the noise does travel all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie01Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived early but our rooms were ready for us, we were a parry of 5 in 3 rooms. The rooms were clean, perhaps in need of a re-fit but for the price we paid more than adequate. The location was superb, a 5 minute walk into the centre of Harrogate. There was a wedding party going on on Saturday night, it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and everything we had was very good.
In summary, good value for money, excellent location, probably in need of a spruce up but very helpful freindly staff. We would return...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barlikontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from a two night break at The Cairn
It is or has been a beautiful building but really needs sprucing up
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately on our first night they were hosting a young farmers event and our room was directly above the party the noise was very loud . The reception team were very good though and allowed us to change rooms . we were in a club room and paid 150 for one night and 80 for the other as we booked the nights seperatley definately not worth the 150 . Although we did enjoy our stay .

Room Tip: Go for a club room but not above the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were here for a dance weekend, so were part of a group. Had we been here on our own, our review would, perhaps, have been more critical. I'll try to be as objective as I can.

First off, this is an old Edwardian hotel and the character and internal and external architecture reflects that and can't be changed. That in itself causes some issues: (1) these places are extremely difficult and costly to maintain, so it's all a bit shabby in parts and frayed round the edges, and (2) the plumbing and soundproofing isn't what would be expected in a more modern building. But, on the plus side the hotel does have a very strong charm and art-deco flavour to it; from the stained glass and leaded windows, to the tiled reception lobby (where you could almost expect to see Hercule Poirot at any minute!), and to the lovely high ceilings, fluted columns, and fascinating framed photos from the early 1900's.
The bedroom was, again, "characterful" (my view: others might say "dated") but with a number of maintenance issues which should be addressed. But it was, I must say, very well cleaned.
Bottom line: with a very thorough programme of renovation and redecoration this could be an absolute gem of a hotel and should have a strong potential and appeal to the American tourist market. Good car parking provision and nice, central location within a few minutes walk from the town centre.
As to food? Breakfast was good, so no problems there. Dinner was carvery style and was just o/k, although the dessert wasn't up to scratch (rhubarb pie that was far too bitter and pastry slightly undercooked). The staff were polite, attentive and helpful without being over the top.

Over the weekend we stayed (as a Dance Group), there was also a RAF reunion group, and a Young Farmers disco., which was extremely loud and a tad boisterous and the music went on until about 1:00am. Whilst I recognise that this sort of event - and the attendant bar takings(!) - is a vital source of revenue for hotels these days there is a point at which this WILL conflict with legitimate hotel guests or other (more sedate) groups who retire to their beds at more normal hours. In short, extremely bad management strategy and they should perhaps ask themselves whether they want to be a hotel, or a night club?

I've not marked the hotel down because of this, on the assumption that we were just unlucky and this was just a one-off. The Cairn is a 3* hotel, and that's - just - about right.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing