We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome return-some disappointments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Bridlington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A welcome return-some disappointments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We love the Cairn with its Victorian splendour this our 6/7 visit but the first time I have reported. The occasion, a four day sequence dance holiday organised by the hotel.

Our greeting at the hotel was warm and we were offered help with our luggage to our room on the second floor. The hotel has only one lift but this was never a problem during our stay. One strange point was no ramp to reception although the entrance to the hotel does have a ramp.

Our room a standard double was large approx 19’x 13’ and was well decorated and with mostly new furnishings. Lovely white sheets and clean bedspreads As part of a running upgrade housekeeping staff came round during our visit to measure up for new curtains, carpet and windows which we took to mean secondary glazing. The room was warm and clean. The bathroom was very dated but the 4inch tiling circa 1980 in browny pink was remarkably clean and free from mould. Plenty of VERY hot water
Fresh towels were available daily if required but it appeared that toiletries ,dusting and vacuuming were reserved for changeover days .

The building is old and although money has been spent over the past two years particularly on the public areas the large reception and large lounge area together with the restaurant were insufficiently heated requiring a coat or jumper for comfort. Both if you were sat near a window.

Our disappointment came with the restaurant .Although a large group the service was satisfactory though at breakfast it was necessary sometimes to search out a waiter. Coffee and toast were brought to the table. The menu looked impressive but there was evidence of cost cutting. The continental breakfast consisted of fruit and cereal and yoghurt. If a bread roll was needed or ham and cheese or fresh fruit these had to be asked for meaning an additional trip for the waiter. On requesting rolls and ham and cheese my wife was delivered an omelette which she declared was delicious! Asking for the same the following day I received just a plain omelette. A kipper requested on day one arrived black and burnt on a cold plate

Plenty of choice for the cooked breakfast and always hot but some items particularly the bacon were always over cooked and dry

Evening dinner carvery style always hot with a choice of joints each night with fish ,stews and vegetarian with enough choice to keep every body happy, but let down with the vegetables - over coked/ undercooked or burnt . The desert choice was uninspiring ice-cream, cheese board or fruit salad featured every night with the addition of a pudding with custard or ice cream and one other item

Although with some language difficulties as seen above the staff were without exception the hotels main asset. Smartly dressed, polite and always with a smile and a greeting and nothing too much trouble.

Would we return again?. Yes of course- we have already booked. We like the hotel - the dancing holiday represents good value and the surrounding area has much to offer - weather permitting.



.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    557
    242
    75
    60
See reviews for
122
669
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had a good week-end break.room clean quite and nice and warm every thing you could wish for. staff excellent friendly and helpful.food good excellent breakfast.good car parking handy for town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dorothy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just back from an Easy-Breaks three-day spring break at this hotel. Hotel - grand old building full of character situated 5/10 minutes walk from town centre and amenities, bit of a maze inside, but spacious and clean public areas, if in need of some TLC here and there, surprisingly only one lift, that we could find, ample car parking. Rooms - Spacious, clean, well-appointed if a litlle dated, tea/coffee, TV, hairdrier etc., good-sized updated bathroom, over-bath shower, shower taps were a nightmare to get set though, abundant hot water at all times. Food - a la carte and budget, ate breakfast and dinner on all three occasions, food was good, well-cooked, good choice, buffet-style for main course. Bar - prices were a little steep, well-stocked with good choice. Staff - excellent from top to bottom, courteous, friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble. This hotel is an old building, which is probably very difficult to keep clean and well-maintained, so you cannot expect pristine conditions. All in all a very pleasant stay. Would certainly recommend it for a nice break, and a chance to explore Harrogate.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor (top).Room 304. Room was at the east-facing front of the hotel, looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie_f_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great warm welcome, lounge area full of ambience, we stayed on the Sunday so dinner was included in the fantastic price. The service was excellent staff attentive but not intrusive, food high standard and the meringue with chantilly cream was best I have ever tasted crisp and not too sweet. I have stayed at the salutation and this was equally as good.

Room Tip: One with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for a long week end, the staff were extremely friendly and our room was lovely. We had everything we needed, the room was clean and warm considering the very cold weather. The food was excellent we could not fault it. The Hotel is situated about five minutes walk from the town center and although on a busy road you could not hear any trafiic. Ample parking space which was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a charity event. The hotel staff were great, polite and obliging. The room was small and in need of attention but clean. The bathroom has been recently updated and the shower was fab and an abundant of hot water. The venue rooms easily 180 guests. A little tired but the original features of the hotel and room are beautiful. The breakfast hot and cold was what you would expect.
All in all a fab time, lovely venue but in need of tlc. Cracking location near to the beautiful spa town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

my wife and I stayed over with another couple late in February 2013. I think my room was 531 but when we entered it smelled very musty especially in the bathroom. I compared rooms with the other couple and found ours to be very inferior. The hotel was viaeve not to put both ciuples in similar accomodation as they might have known we would compare. After informing the reception they very quickly moved us to another room which was better than our friends room. the next problem concerns the restaurant. My dessert on both occasions were served on plates with a red fruit sauce squirted on the bare plate in a zig zag pattern but this must had been done at least 24 hours previously as I could not scrape the sauce off my plate with a knife as the juice had hardened. I consider everything on a plate should be edible, biut not in this case. There must be a risk of germs etc landing on the sauce during the many hours left on the plate. The internet is a pain as it is not available in the rooms.Most clients appeared to be retired . The carvery on consequtive evenings is a little too much of the same but you can up grade to a la carte for a hefty upgrade charge. The wine is reasonable at around £16.00. But to be honest the hotel a good value for money and is situated a few minuted walk from the city centre. harrogate is rather hilly and could be a strain for wheelchair visitors. I stll have not decided whether i would stay again.
ps. All the staff were brilliant .No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Functions on saturday night so 3rd floor if you sleep before 12.30am . There are warnings about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twlldyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing