We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IThe. Cairn is definitely wrongly graded; it should be 4 stars”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
erskine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“IThe. Cairn is definitely wrongly graded; it should be 4 stars”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in the Cairn in a club room, (on speaking to people in standard rooms they were also very happy We were quite delighted with everything. On arrival we found in the huge bay windowed room a table with mineral water wine, fruit and chocolates. We had fluffy bathrobes and slippers and quality toiletries! On reading some reviews I have to check we are talking about the same hotel. I think some people just have to find fault. Everything in this Hotel as far as we are concerned was excellent. We were amazed, on returning to our room on day 2 to find the wine, water, chocs and fruit replenished and the daily paper delivered. The breakfast and dinner were cery good with a very varied dinner menu,and the service was extra efficient no matter how. busy the dining room. The mainly foreign young staff were cheerful and so helpful. Harrogate is a beautiful town and the Cairn is so handy for everything. We are heading now to a lovely hotel in Carlisle before we return home to Scotland. I know the Carlisle hotel the Cumbria Park is lovely because we stayed there on the way down. We have been so lucky with our hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    583
    260
    84
    61
See reviews for
130
712
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I booked this hotel at 2 days notice, just wanting somewhere convenient and inexpensive to stay in Harrogate for one night. On arrival we were impressed by the grand entrance hall. We were allocated a large room on the first floor. It was spotlessly clean, with pristine bed linen, (but I wish they would ditch the horrid, dated bedspread for something a little more stylish) and a good sized bathroom with a bath as well as a shower, and lashings of hot water.
Unfortunately, the view was appalling: bins, a broken window, rusty pipes and concrete. My advice to the manager would to at least put up some form of window dressing, blind etc to hide it. But, then again, we didn't go to Harrogate to spend time looking out of the hotel window.

Generally, the hotel is in need of a lot of refurbishment, particularly the paintwork on windows, skirting boards and doors, but I understood from a friendly member of staff that I spoke to that the relatively new manager is already planning on making improvements. It seems that it is a very popular hotel for functions and whilst we were there there was a jazz group practising, and a singer/pianist with an audience of a dozen or so guests. On returning to the hotel after a meal out we went to our room to relax but the noise from the 'musicians' was so loud we could hear them above the sound of the TV, so we went down to one of the lounges instead. I asked the young man on Reception how long the music went on for and he told us not to worry, they finished at 10.30, and they did.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down. There was the usual cereals, grapefruit and orange segments and prunes (from a tin), porridge, toast and a cooked option. Perhaps I should say 'overcooked'. The sausages and bacon were dried out and the scrambled eggs didn't look appetising but I did get a decent enough fried egg and fresh, grilled tomato. There was also mushrooms, tinned tomatoes, fried black pudding and fried bread. On leaving our table we noticed that there was also yogurt and fresh water melon, which wasn't there when we went for our breakfasts.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. But for what we paid I didn't expect the Ritz and I am not complaining, just generalising. The staff were friendly, polite and welcoming, and seemed to enjoy working there. If you want an inexpensive place, good sized room, cleanliness and on-site parking then it's a decent enough place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a decent view, and away from the noise of the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very nice hotel, very close to everything, food was ok. Very friendly staff, very clean, room a bit hot and you can only open the windows a couple of inches, overall very pleasant stay, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a large old hotel in a good location. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was quite large and the bathroom looked to be newly refurbished. Unfortunately the tv was antiquated, a small screen and only 4 channels. Breakfasts and evening meals were lovely with a good choice of food. We stayed Monday to Friday, and at the room rates they charge we will definately be back. I've rated it very good and not excellent because of the poor tv, no wifi in the rooms - it is available in the public areas of the hotel, and the quite expensive bar prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OorwullieLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is old fashioned but spotlessly clean.Staff were excellent. Breakfast is great with everyone catered for, fruit,porridge,full cooked breakfast etc.The hotel is in a quiet area a short walk from the city centre.Rooms are comfortable,clean and warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jock_potts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just got back from our second stay at the Cairn. The room was large and spotless. Breakfast excellent but the evening meal was cold both nights - would have been lovely if it was hotter. Will definitely stay again, but probably b&b and eat elsewhere in the evenings. Most staff were really friendly and helpful - just one rude and surly waiter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here for easter weekend with family and friends, rooms were clean and staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good though the evening meal in the lounge was not so good, maybe because we were a party of 14 and the restuarant was full resulting in a slow service, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing