We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but only if you have a deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but only if you have a deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had a deal for two night for £135 for two people b&b and would not want to pay any more as the hotel seriously needs updating although the room was clean. Nice but old fashioned traditional public areas and staff were all pleasant enough. Breakfast was adequate with enough choices plus cooked selection as well and nice hot tea and coffee. Lots of older guests here as well who perhaps don't mind it being so dated! But if you have a deal then it's fine because it's so near Harrogate but I wouldn't want to pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    570
    254
    79
    61
See reviews for
123
692
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
county durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice hotel a little dated and in need of a bit af a refurb we had a club room 323 very nice and spacious foyer and reception area are very nice breakfast was very good for the deal we got it was worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding due to limited availability in Harrogate. There was a massive line to check in and the staff on reception were slow and very rude. The hotel needs a total renovation the decoration was poor throughout and gaffer tape on the carpets is never a good look! There was a very old tv in the room - not that age Is an issue I would have just preferred it worked! The bath was big enough for two and the only good thing about our room.
Breakfast was generally poor, low quality ingredients although it was hot.
There are many hotels in Harrogate so avoid this one

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul1701w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was advertised as dog friendly. They then charged us an extra £10 for the dog to stay and wouldn't let it in the bar or restaurant so there was nowhere in the hotel where we could eat without leaving the dog alone, which is not our idea of dog friendly!
We could also only get a room with the 'club' upgrade for £25 which was really bad value as the upgrade items are only worth about £5.
The hotel is well located, but has really seen better days

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristoljimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

only stayed one night and on entry the foyer is lovely,unfortunately it goes downhill from there.our room was at the end of a long creaky corridor,with a lovely view of a wall.the decor was shabby,the bed rock hard and the bathroom looked as though some of the tiles were held on more by luck than adhesive.the corridor carpets have gaffer tape over creases and holes.the tv in the bedroom was circa 1990 and the curtains were probably older.all in all i was very disappointed as we had paid 129.00 pounds i feel that this was very expensive.not very happy.the breakfast was adequate and the service was good

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a traditional hotel and good for a cheap stay near the town centre. There is ample parking, and Reception staff are pleasant. We had a better room last time on the top floor with a view over the gardens at the rear. We had a very gloomy twin room this time looking over fire-escapes. Rooms are clean though, and adequate for a break in Harrogate. The hotel attracts coach parties and dancing holidays - it has one of the largest sprung dance floors in the country - bet you're glad you know that- so be prepared to see a sea of white hair at breakfast, and queue for your bacon, sausage etc. It's ok - good value and staff that look after you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Looked at the reviews, and this place seems to divide opinions! Decided to book it because it was only for a one night stay, and the hotel is very close to Harrogate town centre.

The service at reception and in the bar was excellent, and the public areas look really nice and well cared for.

The room was good, clean and relatively basic- no problems here except for the comedy miniature TV that could really do with an update. The bed was comfortable too.

I didn't eat here, so I can only really say that the food on the menu looked ok, assuming it was cooked well, and was a fair price.

In summary, I liked this hotel and would go back again if I wanted a base to get to Harrogate from - it's a bit old school, which I don't really mind, and the service was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing