We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,600)
Filter reviews
1,600 results
Traveller rating
457
677
300
100
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
677
300
100
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarvery styletown centregroupon deala large car parkthird floorsuperior roomlovely old hotelmain courselarge hotelevening mealreception areafire alarmbiscuitsold buildingreception staffsunday nightbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 1,600 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

having spent one night in this hotel, we would recommend and def stay again. Luvly spacious room, clean plus we had a clubroom with free wine,chocs,slippers. Plus an extra room with tele and leather couch. Superb. Evening meal was really nice and breakfast excellent. Very freindly staff, a rather grand old victorian hotel. Well done staff, mr and mrs. frank. We stayed room 123.

Room Tip: Room 123 very very nice, only downfall no view but nevertheless was still great as we only stayed the one night
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 750peterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments regarding the staff & evening meal will be passed on to all.
Thank you again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel must have been absolutely stunning in its heyday. The foyer is splendid and the stained glass windows throughout the dining room point to the high class establishment it once was.However the general feeling now is one of being rather dated and tired. The bedrooms and corridors in particular have a rather worn feel. Having said that we have just stayed for £45 a night each with a full english breakbast and breakfast buffet included and so how could you complain at that. The hotel is clean and staff helpful in our experience.Its also well located just a short walk to Harrogate down the hill. Yes the hotel may have seen better days but this is reflected in the price and as a result offers good value accomodation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy that you had a nice stay with us.
We are about to start a refurbishment programme of our public areas which will commence over a period of the next fews months going into next year.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and I am sure you will see some small changes to the look of the hotel in your future visits.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Reception: Welcoming, efficient.
Rooms: Standard fixtures and fittings dated & 'tired' but decor clean and OK for the price. Superior rooms more recently refitted but still tired.
Restaurant: Cuisine basic Yorkshire fare but well prepared. Service, all overseas European, willing and OK in an informal way.
Bar Service. Poor, decidedly 'Yorkshire' (ie poorly trained & unhelpful).
Public areas: generally in need of redecoration but NOT 'modernisation'; the Victorian ambience is well worth retaining. Ballroom floor is good but needs sanding and refinishing.
A hotel with great potential but suffering from unimaginative management.

Room Tip: Noisy events are on the ground floor. Our floor 5 room was quiet; friends' floor 3 room was not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Bum_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not happy with all aspects of your stay.
We are about to commence a refurbishment programme which includes our public areas and ballroom dance floor and I hope that if you visit us again you will see these changes happening over the next few months.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our reception and dining room.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Staff were very welcoming and professional, although old, the hotel is beautiful and has plenty of character. We stayed in room 112, finding it had ample space and facilities, everything working and everywhere was very clean. The bed was really comfy and had a great nights sleep. The portions were more than enough and although the menu was basic, the food was lovely and enjoyed our evening meal and the massive breakfast on the morning. The staff were excellent throughout the hotel, providing great service. We would definitely return to the hotel and look forward to the next time we do.

Room Tip: Prior to paying for a room, staff invited us to visit various rooms before choosing. Don't choose here if your looking for a modern hotel. Though if you like old buildings with plenty of character and a homely atmosphere, this place is definitely worth a visit!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments regarding the meals & staff will be passed on to all concerned.
I'm glad you enjoyed our generous portions!! We like to send all our guests away from the dining room feeling happy & satisfied.
Thank you again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at The Cairn for one night, booking last minute. Easy to find, and with an enormous car park we received a warm welcome. The Reception area is absolutely lovely - a real Victorian delight and a shining example of what hotel reception lobby's ought to look like!

Our room was spacious, with double-aspect windows, and the bed comfy. I'm a fairly light sleeper but had a great night's sleep with no noise from the corridors or outside.

Breakfast was great - right down to the freshly brewed coffee arriving in a silver coffee pot and pink gerbera on the white linen tablecloth. Couldn't fault it!

Location: a 5 minute walk from the centre of Harrogate, full of fab shops, pubs, restaurants and the famous Betty's Tea Room.

The Cairn offers some great mini breaks (their Twixmas DBB break looks like great value for money) and we will definitely be returning to further explore Harrogate and its surrounding area.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez_SocialMediaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very pleased that you had a nice stay with us and that you found us easy to find.
Our breakfasts are very popular and I was happy to read that you enjoyed yours too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews