We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed Hotel”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here just for one night on 31st August. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The decor of the room we stayed in was a little tired but it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style and the choice is good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was very happy to read that you will hopefully be coming to stay with us again.
We are extremely proud of our friendly and helpful staff and our hearty Yorkshire breakfast always sets our guests up for the day.
We look forward to welcoming your family and friends too.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

A really comfortable room and excellent value make this one of our favourite hotels. It is a great place to relax, and the food, both at dinner and breakfast, is very good. The hotel has a traditional charm which more modern establishments struggle to match. It is dog friendly - at £10 per night, and is highly recommended especially on one of the many bargain breaks available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
I was very pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay with us and that your room, our service and food helped you to have an enjoyable time.
I hope we will continue to be one of your favourite hotels and that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Its a shame because when I first stayed here on business over 25 years ago , the Cairn was definitely up there with some of the best in the town. I stayed in a 'Superior' double for £95 including breakfast. The Room was tiny in my opinion and the walkways are definitely in need of refurbishment as are many other parts of the hotel.

The staff are really nice and helpful so the hotel scores highly there. The breakfast was also quite nice and a great location for the shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrouchoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you had on previous visits.
We are about to start a refurbishment programme which will include our corridors and public areas and I'm sure if you visit us again the future you will notice a difference in these areas.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, the breakfast and the location.
We really hope to see you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from what must be our 5th or 6th stay at The Cairn. There will be many more stays as we absolutely love this place. It's the perfect destination for a relaxing long weekend break. At a 5 minute walk from the town centre, the location couldn't be much better. The grounds are peaceful, with ample parking and the staff always pleasant and helpful. Food is good, especially breakfast, and the average price per night represents outstanding value. But the real selling point for us is the tangible sense of period and history from this once grand Victorian spa hotel. The original fixtures, fittings and decor, almost unchanged since it's heyday, engenders a sense of romantic slightly faded grandeur. The solid marble pillars in the grand entrance, antique stained glass, deco and nouveau light shades and detail, add up to the sort of old fashioned hotel experience sadly disappearing amidst the headlong rush to boutique and bijou. I've seen it written that there is a dated feel to The Cairn. True; some of the carpets and furniture are a little frayed and tired, but my plea would be don't ever change and modernise. A trip to The Cairn is also a trip back in time to the golden age of grand hotels and I wouldn't have it any other way!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I was extremely pleased to read your comments about the style of hotel and I do agree that it would be a shame to change any of the original features as I think that's what makes us stand out.
I will ensure every single one of my team reads your wonderful comments and we can't wait to have you back for your 7th visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here in a family room for one night. First impression is of a great hotel but in need of a bit of TLC. Having said that it suited us fine for one night & they allow dogs which is a bonus. The room we had was large & clean but bathroom was a bit dated & the view was dreadful but that didn't matter for one night. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was very good. Five minutes walk from town centre but the walk back is uphill so not for people with mobility issues. All in all a pleasant stay at a bargain price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFCgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review.
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your first time with us.
I'm sorry that your room didn't have a very good view, with have lots of rooms with beautiful views of harrogate town and others with views out as far as skipton and beyond, hopefully when you come and visit us the next time we can ensure you get one of these rooms.
Thank you for your comments regarding the staff and breakfast I will ensure these are passed on to all concerned.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had wedding breakfast and evening party at hotel and stayed two nights along with family and friends in many rooms and everything was great, nothing was too much trouble including one family member in a wheelchair. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding with us and it was a pleasure to help you celebrate your special day.
Hopefully you will come and visit us every anniversary!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in a twin room. Room spacious and clean with well stocked refreshment tray. The hotel reception and lounge area is beautifully arranged and we even had live music gently played on one evening. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous both in reception and in the dining room. The breakfast was first rate and plenty of it. We were on the 3rd floor and there are lifts if you dont want to climb the grand staircase. The hotel does need a little makeover in areas but on the whole very satisfied. We had a late deal so had excellent value for money.

Room Tip: we were satisfied with 344 though if you are particularly tall, you might find the shower head is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We are about to start a refurbishment programme of our public areas therefore the next time you visit us you will notice an improvement to these areas.
I will pass on your kind comments to all my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing