We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as guests at a wedding in the hotel. We paid for the club upgrade which was a nice addition to the room. There was good atmosphere in the hotel. The food and drinks in the hotel were very reasonable making it good value. It is only 7 min walk to centre if Harrogate. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you at The Cairn Hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    557
    242
    75
    60
See reviews for
122
669
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just spent a mid week break sequence dancing. First time at this hotel and was not disappointed. The staff, food and accommodation were very good. The bedrooms are spacious as is the restaurant. There are also spacious lounge areas on the ground floor. The hotel is in an excellent position to easily walk into Harrogate centre and if not able to walk, the bus stop is right outside the hotel (both ways). From the bus station in Harrogate you can get buses to all the surrounding towns and cities. This hotel also has a large car park. All in all it was a very good break and this hotel will not let you down.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our sequence dance holidays are very popular and have been running for many many years now, We also do lots of other types of dancing in hotel and our ballroom dance floor is one of the largest sprung dance floors in the north east of england.
The dance floor and carpet will be having a makeover early next year and I hope we see you back to see our changes.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed twice before at the Cairn, so we had no worries about booking again to get away for our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

As usual, check in was quick and easy, and the staff polite and helpful.
A lift / elevator was available to transport us and our luggage to the 2nd floor, and the corridors were wide and spacious, not dark and narrow as in some hotels of a similar age.

Our room, 218 was bright and cheerful, well appointed with hot drinks facilities, phone with an extension in the bathroom.
The bed was comfortable, with sufficient pillows to satisfy most needs, and the television was big enough for our needs. There was enough literature to guide you to any events and attractions in the town if you had not researched your stay in advance.
The room - and indeed the whole hotel was clean, and gave the impression of being well looked after - with the possible exception of years of layers of paint on the windows, but I accept that it would take some time to remedy short cuts taken in the distant past!

Although close to the town centre, the hotel is set back some distance from the road, and neither the traffic nor the other guests disturbed us.
Despite some guests having arrived by coach, the car park was busy, and a one way system is in place, which allows entry from the main road, but exit via a side street before rejoining the main road, but the hotel is situated just close enough to allow for a comfortable walk into town on foot. Just remember that you have to walk back afterwards, and may be laden with bags of shopping from the many unique businesses in the town!

Breakfast took the form of a buffet, where you could choose from the extensive range of items, but with other guests milling around, you might miss the sign which says you can order items not so obvious such as porridge, or poached eggs.
There were plenty of staff on hand to ask, and nothing seemed to much for them.
The only down side was the queue to make your own toast, which was lengthened by some guests putting it through the toaster twice in order to get it as dark as they wanted!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and will certainly be going back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_n_Sandra_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your silver wedding anniversary with us and hopefully we will see you back again to celebrate many more.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A great hotel in a great setting. Massive car park and concierge service. 6 of us went and had Dinner Bed & Breakfast. The Sunday dinner was excellent and the breakfast was too. The waiters didnt speak much English which didnt help and I got a little fustrated when ordering a drink from one of them. Apart from that, nice large room (we had a triple, and twin and a single) clean. Very old fashioned so dont expect modern, theres no flat screen Tv's here. The service was great at reception, one of my guests had a generator above his room so he asked to be moved and they moved him with no bother. An old building so lots of noises in the night from the pipes so I didnt sleep the best lol! Overall though a lovely hotel at a great price.

Room Tip: Tripple and twin rooms on first floor were great. Doubles rooms on second floor better than first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us including your dinner and breakfast.
We hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Scores very well on trip advisor and that raises expectations - All expectations met! Simple. Great location, well presented. Attentive staff, clean and spacious room, breakfast choice varied and tasty. Room rate reduced on request to match an internet quote. Would definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy to read that our staff and food helped make your stay an enjoyable one.
We look forward to seeing you back at The Cairn Hotel again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

a good location, with friendly staff, food good, all at a sensible price.

The hotel would be better for a makeover but i suspect the price would reflect that if it happened.
Large car park,has a lotof passing clients using coaches. Bar prices are reasonable

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and find us good value for money.
We have just started a refurbishment programme and should you visit us again you will notice many changes.
We look forward to seeing you back at The Cairn Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

stayed in the cairn hotel 3 weeks ago was disappointed needs a uplift very out dated ,the alarm went of at 5oclock in the morning we were told false alarm did not apoligise ,breakfast you had to cue for atleast a half hour

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ferbanemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very sorry you didn't not have a pleasant stay with us and that you were woken by a fire alarm.
All of our fire alarms have to be treated in the most serious nature and on finding the alarm to be a false one the aim especially in the early hours is to get everybody back to there rooms quickly and pleasantly. I am very sorry if the staff did not apologise to you for this.
We have recently started a refurbishment programme around the hotel and if you would give us the chance I am sure you will notice our improvements.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing