We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for the AGM weekend of a national walking club. Super service from a well trained and supervised staff. Dinner for around 150 on Saturday was like a well drilled military campaign, but with smiles.
Reception and most of the public areas were lovely, but areas and rooms which had yet to be renovated were rather tired and tatty at the edges. Very convenient for exploring Harrogate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellwalkerCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    570
    254
    79
    61
See reviews for
123
692
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We held two bereavement seminars each for 20 midwives at the Cairn Hotel which was sponsored by "Our Angels" charity support group and found the staff and services excellent. The facilities were very good and the food of a high standard. Coffee and water was refreshed during the day which was very welcome. The staff were very welcoming and refreshments were provided promptly according to our agenda. The room was spacious and comfortable and contained all the requirements necessary for day long seminars. The decor was pleasant and the room clean and bright. Would certainly use this venue again and recommend it to anyone seeking a suitable venue for business purposes. We would like to thank the hotel for making our study days pleasurable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We were very happy to help with the seminars and if we can be of further assistance please let us know.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked break by phone last month, but accidently booked wrong dates, unfortunately did not notice until the last minute. I phoned the hotel and reception could not have been more helpful, and we were not charged for the night we did not turn up for. Hotel with lots of character. Booked a spring break that included breakfast and evening meal, service brilliant and food lovely. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555Pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I was very happy to read that reception were able to sort out your reservation with no problem and will pass your comments on to the reception manager. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I visited the Cairn Hotel while in Harrogate for a conference this week. The hotel is ideally situated if you are visiting Harrogate, it's about an eight minute walk from the centre of the town, and if you are attending the Conference Centre, it is very convenient indeed (about a six minute walk).

The hotel has character, the reception, lounge and restaurant areas are all very attractively laid out, and comfortable. My room, a twin, was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was perfectly suitable to my needs.

The staff were outstanding, from beginning to end, very polite and attentive, and the breakfast was excellent. They made my short stay a pleasure, and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think that the better rooms are perhaps on the lower floors, but they are improving the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was extremely proud to read your comments regarding the staff and about our breakfast. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I am a trainer who recently held a training day for 20 midwives at the cairn hotel. The facilities were very well appointed and accompanied by excellent staff. Attention to detail and all our needs were excellently looked after. Than you especially to Dianne for coordinating my stay at the hotel And all of the arrangements. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yourfuturesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We were very happy to be the venue for your training and I will pass on your kind comments to all concerned with the organising of the event.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed one night for a girls weekend away - celebrating the birthday of one of our party.
The hotel was beautiful, well decorated, clean and comfortable... and the staff had arranged for items we requested to be placed in the room.
The staff were helpful, recommending places to spend our night out, we picked one of the more unusual suggestions which turned out to be great too!

We had our evening meal in the restaurant, and breakfast, and were pleased with both - the food was well prepared and service well done... not too over the top.

I am happy to recommend this hotel on the basis of our stay, and look forward to returning again in the future, to both the hotel, AND Harrogate itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Only stayed for 1 nt but it was an excellent place very clean. Good location for shopping. Food was wonderful service was great,bedrooms were of a good size very warm and freindly. Will be bk again, plenty of parking as well

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay for your friends birthday and hopefully we will see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing