We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,600)
Filter reviews
1,600 results
Traveller rating
457
677
300
100
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
677
300
100
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarvery styletown centregroupon deala large car parkthird floorsuperior roomlovely old hotelmain courselarge hotelevening mealreception areafire alarmbiscuitsold buildingreception staffsunday nightbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1,119 - 1,124 of 1,600 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

After visiting the Cairn, and having a fantastic night, for the previous (abba) tribute night we decided to book for the Michael Buble night in the hope of a similar experience - and we weren't disappointed! Although much busier we were still looked after extremely well, the food was again superb (my salmon was delicious) and the service turn around was smooth and effortless. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and went out of their way to make the evening special for the 60th birthday and hen party groups who had also attended the event, this all combined to create a great atmosphere with another packed dance floor and a room full of happy customers - we can't make the grease tribute night unfortunately but are looking forward to booking for either the beyonce/rhianna, kylie or bootleg barlow nights, maybe even all 3!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so happy that you keep returning for our tribute nights.
As you mentioned the night was very popular and the feedback has been fantastic.
We have lots more events happening throughout the year including a fantastic fun filled day for the tour de france.
We hope you will back again soon and thank you for your lovely comments which will be passed on to everyone concerned.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed at the Cairn several times and we love it for several reasons: great location, grand hotel with history and character, helpful, cheerful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. This time, we were very lucky to get a room as the flower show was on, plus other Harrogate events. The hotel was 'full' but we got a cancellation at the last minute. We stayed in Room 201. This room is comfortable, clean with a fab shower and tv, tea, coffee, etc. The only downsides are the heat and the view. Previously we have been lucky enough to have a super view of Ripon Road and across the rooftops and skyline of Harrogate. Let's just say that Room 201 does not have a good view. Also, it is a very warm room ... even with radiators off and windows open. However, we love the Cairn and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are so happy that you keep returning to us and we hope we will see you again very soon.
As you mentioned the hotel does have some internal looking bedrooms in what we call our 'wells' we get very few complaints about these but if you are wanting a front facing or harrogate facing room it is best to request this on booking.
I do hope this did not spoil your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. After reading a review posted here regarding a particular room, 107, we hoped we would not be unlucky enough to get this. Unfortunately, we did end up getting this room and I have to fully agree with the previous reviewer who stayed there also.

The room is located right next door to the service lift and service stairs, and so was incredibly noisy. I had very little sleep because of this and the very uncomfortable bed didnt help either. The room is in need of updating and is extremely old fashioned.

However, apart from this, the room was spotlessly clean and had all facilities required. The staff were incredibly helpful and breakfast was fantastic with a great selection of choice (however the times of breakfast could be better - a bit too early). The location of this hotel is ideal for anyone wanting the centre within a 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself downstairs is done to a high standard, however, I do not feel this is reflected in the rooms. This could of been due to the particular room we were allocated, I cannot speak for other rooms.Because of this, we unfortunately wouldnt stay here again, unless the hotel were to have some much needed refurbishment.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 107!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andiej89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments about the staff will passed on.
We are currently working our way through the hotel refurbishing first our corridors with bedrooms and public areas to follow. As you can imagine this can not be done over night but the feedback we have received so far has been excellent.
I do hope that when you return you will notice the improvements.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cairn Hotel, Harrogate at Easter weekend and had a particularly relaxing break. The hotel was only 5 mins walk from town centre and was extremely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just stayed in this hotel for one night and it was very pleasant. The receptionist was very welcoming, the bedroom and en suite were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty, hot and freshly cooked and served. The waiting on staff were very busy this morning (Easter Sunday) but were very prompt with tea and toast, once ordered. A lovely touch was a Galaxy truffle egg under each teacup. Parts of the hotel are a little tired looking and are being refurbished but the price reflects that. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends if staying in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Room 356 is at the end of a corridor so no-one walking past late at night or early morning.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us (and your truffle egg!) and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews