We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Reception area is amazing on arrival and the staff were very helpful that checked us in, the rest of the hotel is very dated and needs a good coat of paint!! The rooms are very comfortable with a very spacious bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was of good quality but we had to ask for Tea/coffees which were brought to us when we had nearly finished our breakfasts along with toast which we should have had from the start. I would probably stay there again if I couldn’t get in at the Kimberley.!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so sorry that you did not receive your tea/coffee and toast immediately and I will most definitely investigate into why this did not happen.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the reception area and staff.
We are currently going through a refurbishment and hope that if you return you will notice a big difference.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

we had a lovely 2 nights here ideally placed for lots of places. Hotel has had refurb since our last stay to a very high standard i may add we visited local park and on a sunny day this was stunning enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your short break with us and noticed the improvements we have made since your last stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Two colleagues in separate rooms both had similar experiences. Large, airy & clean Victorian hotel in the very centre of Harrogate with large comfortable rooms possibly offers better value than others. Good solid breakfast but we did not dine there. [Although this does not affect the review there was a small fire in the middle of the night which disturbed our sleep. It is only mentioned to note that the active fire drill was most highly efficient and this would only serve to reinforce the recommendation]

Room Tip: Front rooms huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the kind comments regarding the fire evacuation that we had during your stay.
I am so happy that this did not hinder your stay and we would love to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A short walk up the hill and an elegant but friendly place to stay. Some hints of 'faded glory' in places but spacious and comfortable with good food and plenty of (free) parking space. Helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel including the food and free parking.
Thank you for your comment regarding our helpful staff we hope you will be back to visit soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

first off I will give a few positives. The staff seemed helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were nice apart from the lack of warm toast and the location was good.
Decor - the hotel has clearly seen better days, the entrance hall looks very nice indeed but as soon as you leave that area (even to the side) you can see that serious work is quite overdue. The dining hall looks like a magnificent room in size and was probably once quite grand - unfortunately the best I can say now is that there are some original features (eg peeling and ripped wall paper) - they also felt the need to divide the room garden trellis dividers in the center which really did take what ever charm the room would of had down several pegs.
The need for renovations was readily apparent in other parts of the hotel, where peeling paint and general state of disrepair was the rule rather than the exception.
The room we were initially put in was very dated again, and the bathroom while very large was like something you might see in a very cheap rental property, the shower also was extremely low at 5'6 I was a least a foot too tall to have used it. We changed rooms to a smaller but entirely more satisfactory one - and I will leave it like that, it was satisfactory nothing more nothing less.
The food at dinner was not very pleasant, the buffet food was generally over cooked the 2nd night I tried some meat balls and no exaggeration I had two bites and stopped eating they were entirely devoid of flavor - and were in all honesty actively unpleasant, we left and ate elsewhere that night. The Sunday promised a roast beef and yorkshire puds, the beef was, as is all to often in hotels overcooked in the extreme, while the chef was kind enough to cut central piece for me, it was still overcooked - I actually felt a little sorry for him, I suspect he works under restrictions to get the slop into the buffet at the lowest possible price. As for the gravy - it had little flavor and tasted more like it was based on chicken rather than beef while the roast potatoes were bizarrely greasy and watery at the same time as being burnt on the outside. To make a brief comment on deserts - the ice cream and sorbet are fine; but the last night I tried a cheesecake that tasted of nothing but off-milk one bite and I just left it. In general I would recommend if you do stay here avoid all inclusive- its just not worth it - the food is at best canteen quality.
Entertainment - think of a bad activity night from an episode of "pheonix nights", out of tune keyboard music and bingo - ok for its kitsch value and little else. The guy doing it seemed really pleasant but it overall it was quite depressing.
Overall the most disappointing thing was that with a little work the place could be improved drastically - some paint, changing the horrid signs, ditching the trellis in the dining hall, giving the windows a good clean and banning the buffet cart would be a start.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so sorry that you and your wife did not enjoy your stay with us and would like the opportunity to speak to you regarding your review and the issues you have raised.
At the Cairn Hotel we pride ourselves on being one of the friendliest hotels in Harrogate and I am very proud of my team and the hotel. However I am personally disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, as it is our aim to ensure everyone has a good holiday. As this is now the 4th time you have submitted this review I feel that this would be better dealt with directly rather than through a review website. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night with my husband for our wedding anniversary. The staff are very helpful, the room was ok but very much in need of an update as was a bit shabby, however the bathroom looked fairly new and all in all it was very clean. There did seem to be rather alot of elderly people staying here so the entertainment was really not to our taste. Breakfast was ok with plenty of choice and fresh tea and toast brought to the table. Excellent location to explore Harrogate centre so if you're just looking for a place to rest your head then this place is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us and on behalf of all the team congratulations.
We are currently working our way through the hotel refurbishing first our corridors with bedrooms and public areas to follow. As you can imagine this is not a easy task but we are very proud of what we have done so far.
I do hope that when you return you will notice the improvements.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

After visiting the Cairn, and having a fantastic night, for the previous (abba) tribute night we decided to book for the Michael Buble night in the hope of a similar experience - and we weren't disappointed! Although much busier we were still looked after extremely well, the food was again superb (my salmon was delicious) and the service turn around was smooth and effortless. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and went out of their way to make the evening special for the 60th birthday and hen party groups who had also attended the event, this all combined to create a great atmosphere with another packed dance floor and a room full of happy customers - we can't make the grease tribute night unfortunately but are looking forward to booking for either the beyonce/rhianna, kylie or bootleg barlow nights, maybe even all 3!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so happy that you keep returning for our tribute nights.
As you mentioned the night was very popular and the feedback has been fantastic.
We have lots more events happening throughout the year including a fantastic fun filled day for the tour de france.
We hope you will back again soon and thank you for your lovely comments which will be passed on to everyone concerned.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing