We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep and great breakfast - good value”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good nights sleep and great breakfast - good value”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

last minute booking at The Cairn and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed comfy Breakfast was plentiful, overall the value was good and I will go back. Worthy of note the staff, all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    599
    270
    85
    62
See reviews for
139
738
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

my wife and l have stayed at the Cairn on four separate occasions now and we would look no further for a great hotel, excellent rooms, good food and friendly staff. Easy to access off the Ripon Road with the bonus of a bus stop outside. Free ample parking for residents and just a short casual stroll to the shops and amenities. We will be back again before long.
Check out the special packages, excellent value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for the club room, excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent just one night here but nothing was to much trouble for the staff the first room we where offered was a little dark for us so mentioned to reception and was immediately offered another room which was light airy very very clean and comfortable it's only a five miniute walk into town breakfast was Buffett style but the quality was good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knittershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My partner and I are fairly regular visitors to this hotel - sometimes for a Christmas Break and sometimes for dancing weekends. We always look forward to our visits to this hotel as it has a welcoming atmosphere.
The staff are always very pleasant and helpful and we have never had a bad experience. The public rooms are spacious and welcoming and the bedrooms are comfortable. Our experience in the dining room has always been satisfactory but, like most hotels these days, breakfast and evening meals are partly buffet. The choice of food is acceptable and reasonably varied bearing in mind that one is not paying top rates.
The hotel has a lovely ballroom with a sprung (very!) wooden floor. Ideal for dancers and wedding receptions. There is also a very spacious car park.

For anyone who has not visited Harrogate - you are in for a real treat. The hotel is within 5 to 7mins.walking time from the town centre, where there are many and varied shops, cafes, restaurants and, of course, the world famous Betty's Tearoom (but be prepared to queue for this one). There are many elegant buildings to be admired and, of course, the lovely Yorkshire moors are just a few miles away. The historic town of York is well worth a visit as is Leeds and Pickering. If you just wish to park up your car during your visit then the public transport offers excellent and frequent services to nearby towns.

The town is attractive to visit at any time of year, but we have fond memories of Spring visits when the town approaches are lined with avenues of daffodils.

Do try the Cairn Hotel sometime- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group of choir members on a singing weekend. The room we had was comfortable and spacious; the bathroom was quite small by comparison but was adequate for our needs. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We don't go up that way very often but would certainly stay at the Cairn again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lift so no problems with accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

October 2013 the Hotel ran a Ballroom & Social Dance weekend hosted by Maz Johnson this went very well with a good number of participants. The downside was the foyer, bar and dining room were in use for another function and the group had to dine in one of the other rooms.
All in all the company and music outweighed the complications of sharing the public space.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EABlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very helpful receptionist..clean room (a little dated, but they are refurbishing the hotel!), great location and reasonably priced. Have stayed here 3 times now and it seems to get better the more we stay! We were a little late for breakfast so had to wait a little but that's our fault. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-Harrogate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing