We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style faded charm”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at the Cairn whilst working nearby and found the hotel to be comfortable if slightly shabby, with a beautiful grand reception area and restaurant. The twin room was spacious, and the bathroom huge - as big as many bedrooms I have stayed in! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. A ten minute walk into town was ideal for a bit of exercise and to walk in to find a restaurant. Good value package for such a grand hotel. Free parking was a bonus when so close to town, as most hotels seem to charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed three nights here on an extremely good value deal. The Cairn is one of the big old Harrogate hotels and retains all the comfort of large spaces and grand decor. Our room was adequately sized, with a good ensuite, two comfortable beds and a pleasant view over the Duchy area. There was one easy chair and one desk chair. It was very quiet at night. The hotel is well placed for the sights of Harrogate and for driving out of the town towards Ripon or Skipton. It has a good sized car park, which in this town is very important. We could not fault the staff for their friendliness and willingness to please. Breakfasts were pretty generous, with a served buffet. One could also ask for other things like kippers or an omelette. But, if you are looking for outstanding cuisine, I wouldn't particularly recommend the restaurant. The a la carte menu was no more interesting than the set menu. The main course of the latter was served as a carvery, mass catering style. We had a dish described as white fish in clam chowder which had not a clam in sight and was simply a very dull piece of fish in yellow sauce with a few shrimps. It may be that the other dishes were better, but all the vegetables were very overcooked. One other irritation was that one had to retain at all times a slip of paper bearing the room number and every extra drink at the bar, bottle of wine with the dinner and so on had to be signed for with this paper. This seemed unnecessary as other hotels don't require more than the room number. However, this is a charming hotel with very pleasant staff and ideal for a quiet and relaxing stay. The rooms and decor make it very suitable for a wedding venue- but check out the food first.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our last visit to the Cairn was not good. However, things have certainly improved. We took parents with us this time, their first visit to North Yorkshire. After checking in, we went to the lounge and ordered afternoon tea as a treat for step dad, it was father's Day. It was fabulous!!. Later we had dinner in the Restaurant which was really good, the roast beef perfectly cooked. We retired to the lounge with coffee, to find live entertainment which finished the evening off and was enjoyable. Breakfast was very good, piping hot and plenty of choice. All the Staff were really helpful and polite, in particular the young man in the Bar and the reception girls. We were pleased to see that refurbishments are taking place, new carpets in the corridors and redecorations taking place. Our rooms were nice and very comfortable. My parents were very impressed and have already booked for one of the social weekends later in the year. Well done The Cairn, faultless!!!

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the back if possible, its quieter and the rooms have a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amerikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

last minute booking at The Cairn and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed comfy Breakfast was plentiful, overall the value was good and I will go back. Worthy of note the staff, all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

my wife and l have stayed at the Cairn on four separate occasions now and we would look no further for a great hotel, excellent rooms, good food and friendly staff. Easy to access off the Ripon Road with the bonus of a bus stop outside. Free ample parking for residents and just a short casual stroll to the shops and amenities. We will be back again before long.
Check out the special packages, excellent value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for the club room, excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent just one night here but nothing was to much trouble for the staff the first room we where offered was a little dark for us so mentioned to reception and was immediately offered another room which was light airy very very clean and comfortable it's only a five miniute walk into town breakfast was Buffett style but the quality was good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My partner and I are fairly regular visitors to this hotel - sometimes for a Christmas Break and sometimes for dancing weekends. We always look forward to our visits to this hotel as it has a welcoming atmosphere.
The staff are always very pleasant and helpful and we have never had a bad experience. The public rooms are spacious and welcoming and the bedrooms are comfortable. Our experience in the dining room has always been satisfactory but, like most hotels these days, breakfast and evening meals are partly buffet. The choice of food is acceptable and reasonably varied bearing in mind that one is not paying top rates.
The hotel has a lovely ballroom with a sprung (very!) wooden floor. Ideal for dancers and wedding receptions. There is also a very spacious car park.

For anyone who has not visited Harrogate - you are in for a real treat. The hotel is within 5 to 7mins.walking time from the town centre, where there are many and varied shops, cafes, restaurants and, of course, the world famous Betty's Tearoom (but be prepared to queue for this one). There are many elegant buildings to be admired and, of course, the lovely Yorkshire moors are just a few miles away. The historic town of York is well worth a visit as is Leeds and Pickering. If you just wish to park up your car during your visit then the public transport offers excellent and frequent services to nearby towns.

The town is attractive to visit at any time of year, but we have fond memories of Spring visits when the town approaches are lined with avenues of daffodils.

Do try the Cairn Hotel sometime- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing