We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with character”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel with character”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good value for money too. As I noticed prices varies throughout the week and we got a double room for £63. The hotel is a bit old fashioned and some work and investment would do for some areas, but the room we got was very good size and facilities. I liked the entrance and reception area - huge space with high ceilings. Hotel was clean and quiet. Great selection of breakfast. Staff very smiley and helpful. The hotel is not far from town centre. We had great time. Probably I would stay again if I ever go to Harrogate :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ramune Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We totally agree that we are very good value for money!!
Prices do vary according to availability so a bargain is always available should you book early. I am very pleased you found our team to be very smiley and helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you back at The Cairn very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    578
    259
    81
    61
See reviews for
127
706
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a weekend here in august and were pleasantly surprised at how good value the hotel was for what we paid. Our room was a little dated but very clean and cosy with a kingsize bed. Shower was powerful and hot. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great with plenty of choice and of good quality. A 5 minute walk to town and excellent free car parking facilities. There were two weddings during our stay but this did not effect quality of service or sleep. There were signs up in hotel offering a warning about possible noise and offering a quiter room. We were on the 3rd floor and were not disturbed either evening. Will definately return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomooCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am so please that you had a nice stay and that the events taking placed didn't affect your weekend. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, oldy world hotel, great location, good atmosphere and value for money. Also plenty of free parking 5 mins. from centre ! A lovely Breakfast perfect for the morning after the night before.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Truffle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it good value for money.
Our breakfasts are definitely a good morning after the night before remedy and we are very happy that you enjoyed it.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We regularly stay at the Cairn, especially on its Sunday Specials and will continue to do so after our recent visit. Homely, clean, comfortable with friendly and efficient staff and really good food in a pleasant environment we always enjoy a relaxing break here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review.
We hope you will continue to come and stay with us on Sundays or any other days!!!
Thank you so much for your comments regarding our homely feel and friendly and efficient staff that really does please me to read that.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only had one night here, nice big hotel with big car park, front of house staff very friendly, the room was nice and clean the only trouble we had was trying to regulate the temperature of the shower and it was a little low in height.
The food was enjoyable and the service was quick, the bed was comfortable and it was nice and quiet.
The breakfast room was huge and there was a good choice of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room as they seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candybellscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you enjoyed our restaurant quality and service.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I payed £137 for a executive room and it looked like a big standard room to be honest not worth that money
Then or returning to the room on the night our room was like a disco the music from the wedding down stairs was awful the floor was shaking and we had no warning of any wedding taking place that night so I got no sleep at all that night :-/

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbrinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so sorry that you were not happy with your room or your stay with us. As you can imagine it is very difficult to rectify any issues brought to our attention after the event and I would like to apologise that we could not have been of assistance to you while you were here.
I do hope that you will try us again and bring to our attention anything you are not happy with to help us ensure your stay is a happy one.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a short break here, a lovely hotel, clean, the beds just wonderful I think the most comfortable we have had in a hotel. Food:-breakfast I agree with other clients we would like our toast with our breakfast not with coffee and dinner could have been warmer. Our choice is to have our evening meal at 8pm not 6pm the food it seemed had been sitting on the carvery some time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so happy that you have had a lovely break with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Traditionally toast is served with your hot beverage and it is very difficult for our servers to know exactly when guests would like to eat there toast as some eat it on its own with condiments and some like to have it with there cooked meal it is very difficult to know how each person would like it. Our carvery restaurant is open from 6.30pm-8.30pm and all of our dishes including the potatoes and vegetables are changed regularly to ensure that if you go in first or last you will still enjoy the same good quality that we are know for. We also offer an A la carte menu if you fancy something a bit different and this is cooked to order.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing