We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good architectural building”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good architectural building”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I liked the architecture the best and the staff were very welcoming and very efficient it just oozed quality on arrival

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    584
    260
    84
    61
See reviews for
131
712
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Booked a Club room for 2 nights stay at 160 pounds. For this price although the room was quite small, it was good value with complimentary wine, chocolates and fruit daily, housekeeping was of good standard and the bathroom spotless. Down side of the room was that bed slightly too firm, no locks on the window (just restricted opening) and very poor T.V reception. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of parking and an easy walk down into town centre. Probably the most outstanding service this hotel provides is their breakfast. Even when we went down quite late on the last day, there was still plenty of good quality piping hot food, with a variety of cereals, and fruits also available, Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff in the restaurant who kept bringing out fresh food and hot plates. Overall impression is a hotel that is probably best suited to the more mature visitor, and requiring a bit of fresh paint and carpet here and there. The friendliness of all the staff, from reception to housekeeping to restaurant made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've returned today from a short holiday at this hotel and it was great. Admittedly the hotel itself has seen better days - the carpets are worn and redecoration is needed in many areas BUT the staff are absolutely superb; the food excellent and plentiful; the location brilliant (right at a bus stop with buses every 20 minutes) and the beds are very clean and comfortable. I particularly loved the large, fluffy white towels. There was also free wireless internet in public areas.

There are lots of places worth visiting in this area.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We were sent to Cairn Hotel after being double booked by Arden House so no idea what it would be like. The reception was excellent, always helpful. The double room we were given was horrible, small, not a very large double bed, wall paper pealing, dead insects on window frames etc. Our door looked like someone had attacked it with a machete. Hallways and stairways needed a hoover. The whole place needed a face lift really.

Breakfast was plentiful but very average.

This is a very large hotel with a large bar area. It was very difficult to find someone to serve drinks most of the time as the staff had disappeared elsewhere.

I can't understand why this hotel is so expensive. The only good thing I encountered were the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellytom8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We had our wedding reception and evening party at the Cairn in May and it was amazing!! We booked about 100 rooms over three nights and heard nothing but great comments from our guests. Out of 100 ish there was one problem with a room and the couple were upgraded for the next night with sincere apologies offered. The staff at the hotel work so hard continuously to make your stay perfect. Everything was so much better than we ever could have wished for. Vicky the Events Manager is just fantastic!! The food was amazing, the sit down meal, the buffett, the evening meals and the breakfasts. I really can't rate it highly enough to do it justice!! I would recommend to anyone looking for a wedding venue to go to The Cairn. We had the 'suite' room and it was pure luxury, i saw a lot of other rooms too which were very impressive. The building itself is beautiful. Yes the decor needs updating but so what - its a very old massive building. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegalEagle_5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My wife and I were very satisfied with this lovely hotel. Will certainly return for a short break next year, the area has so much to offer.
Derek Barber

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrab35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We booked the Cairn Hotel as visitors to the Harrogate International Centre, we are glad we did having read some of the poor reviews we didn't expect much. How wrong we were, fantastic welcome from the receptionist with a free upgrade to the club room, excellent room and very clean. The Cairn is indeed an old hotel but this all adds to the charm of the place. Fantastic location for Harrogate town centre, food was lovely we particularly enjoyed the carvery. See past the wee bit dated carpet and we are sure you will enjoy the hospitality and warm welcome the staff extend to visitors.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fantooshnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing