We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned - but in nice way: think 'Black Forest Gâteau' not 'Tripe and Onions'”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
chester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned - but in nice way: think 'Black Forest Gâteau' not 'Tripe and Onions'”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

On arriving at the Cairn Hotel my young lady instantly noted that the curtains were a bit dated. The Hotel Inspector has a lot to answer for, personally I couldn't care less.

What I did care about was the charming young lady on reception who made us feel welcome and at home. We arrived at about 12:00 AM and left the car there while we did the 5 minute walk to Harrogate and not get into Betty's. It wasn't for want of trying but an hours wait for a coconut maccaroon didn't seem like a good deal.

After that we wandered around Harrogate and the lovely woodland park near the hotel for a while. By the way there's a boating pool for you to use that Radio controlled boat that the kids were bought for Christmas but you haven't got round to using yet and a superb play area for young children.

The room was on the top floor and at one end of a maze like corridor. The fire escape and fire alarm system were superb as we found out when we set them off with the steam from the shower........ twice. It only took two minutes for a very polite but panting manager to bound up the stairs and look for the problem.

We then went to the Drum and Monkey for a superb meal in pleasant surroundings befor retiring to a very comfortable bed and a great nights sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Nice bacon, nice sausage rather than the sub-ASDA value range that you sometime get in three star hotels. The only issue was that you had to grab the water for tea for yourself out of thermos flasks which is never a good idea because it really needs to be boiling. Also breakfast stopped at ten which was fine for us because the clocks went back but we'd have been getting out of bed for breakfast rather than a leisurely lie in any other weekend.

Checkout was fine and yet another charming young lady. There must be a production line of them or they've cornered the market which might explain some of the fleapits I get to stay in through work.

So all in all, great value, great service, great location. Not sure what more I can say. Change the curtains maybe, but the girlfriends made me say that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    588
    265
    84
    61
See reviews for
134
723
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I booked into the Cairn because I got a deal which included a carvery dinner and I expected great things from the home of yorkshire pudding! The staff at the Cairn are brilliant I cannot say anything bad about one of them..the guys in the dining room especially were helpful and friendly. However although the breakfasts were fine the main carvery dinner was not so good, the potatoes on the first night were not fresh roast potatoes.....they tasted like frozen ones that had been fried...horrid anyway! The next day we had roast beef which was very dry and overcooked and NO roast potatoes the yorkshire pud tasted fine though...not sure if fresh or frozen......the final dinner was roast pork and it was very nice but the potatoes let the meal down again. Please please give us proper roasties...par boil a fresh floury potato 10 mins then roast in the meat fat for about an hour....simple but divine! Frozen roasties or wax potato ones disasterous!
The first night I was given as asked a quiet room and I was happy...however the toilet didn't flush and I was told I had to be moved cos I came back the second day after reporting it to find the toilet in bits across the bathroom floor....my flannel was left there cos unable to get to it without falling over bits plus the room stank so much that I felt it may be unheigenic to use again anyway. I was moved to a larger room but it had wallpaper peeling off the wall and the decor more chintzy but at least the toilet worked! However nightmare = there was ballroom dancing all night for the two nights I was in the room...could hear it abouve the TV....I couldn't ask to be moved again as apparently shortage as they had probs getting me this one so my relaxing holiday was just one big hassle......it got even worse when I arrived at the Salutation it's sister hotel in Perth as THAT toilet also didn't work!!!!!!!!!!!!! At least the Cairn gave a handful of teabags...I got ONE at the Salutation!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetice_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Booked for a Cairn Cosy weekend of two nights which included evening meal, breakfast ,and afternoon tea. ,When we approached the room there were decorators painting the walls and woodwork, so great care had to taken for the rest of the day plus the smell of paint! Very pleasant staff and clean room, but that's about it. The very large bathroom had an equally noisy extractor fan which resembled an aircraft on take off, the lighting was dim and no lights over mirror. the frosting for the window was peeling off and the paintwork peeling off. The bed room itself looked to have recently been decorated and although clean was dark and wall paper damaged . The cupboard doors wouldn't close and the tv had seen better days. Only a Yale lock secured the door with no handle or anything else. Breakfast was good but thats about all you can say as the meals went downhill from there the cavery was not good with only one roast available, the potatoes were cold and hard, the veg looked as though it had been there all day as for the afternoon tea soggy biscuits and hard cake. On the plus side are very comfy beds and pleasant staff. This is one hotel that needs to change and get refurbished. Lift broken on day of leaving so had to carry luggage downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allaramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I liked the architecture the best and the staff were very welcoming and very efficient it just oozed quality on arrival

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Booked a Club room for 2 nights stay at 160 pounds. For this price although the room was quite small, it was good value with complimentary wine, chocolates and fruit daily, housekeeping was of good standard and the bathroom spotless. Down side of the room was that bed slightly too firm, no locks on the window (just restricted opening) and very poor T.V reception. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of parking and an easy walk down into town centre. Probably the most outstanding service this hotel provides is their breakfast. Even when we went down quite late on the last day, there was still plenty of good quality piping hot food, with a variety of cereals, and fruits also available, Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff in the restaurant who kept bringing out fresh food and hot plates. Overall impression is a hotel that is probably best suited to the more mature visitor, and requiring a bit of fresh paint and carpet here and there. The friendliness of all the staff, from reception to housekeeping to restaurant made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've returned today from a short holiday at this hotel and it was great. Admittedly the hotel itself has seen better days - the carpets are worn and redecoration is needed in many areas BUT the staff are absolutely superb; the food excellent and plentiful; the location brilliant (right at a bus stop with buses every 20 minutes) and the beds are very clean and comfortable. I particularly loved the large, fluffy white towels. There was also free wireless internet in public areas.

There are lots of places worth visiting in this area.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We were sent to Cairn Hotel after being double booked by Arden House so no idea what it would be like. The reception was excellent, always helpful. The double room we were given was horrible, small, not a very large double bed, wall paper pealing, dead insects on window frames etc. Our door looked like someone had attacked it with a machete. Hallways and stairways needed a hoover. The whole place needed a face lift really.

Breakfast was plentiful but very average.

This is a very large hotel with a large bar area. It was very difficult to find someone to serve drinks most of the time as the staff had disappeared elsewhere.

I can't understand why this hotel is so expensive. The only good thing I encountered were the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellytom8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing