We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were on a GRJ tour and were booked in this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was on the the first floor and very pleasant with views over the park. Quality of the room was good but the pillows were hard in the extreme.
Breakfast was very good we found the quality and selection first class, but the self serve toast machine naff (they always are) Why not bring the toast with the tea from the kitchen?
Dinner, being a group we were in the breakfast room (splendid room) the selection and quality given was good but it does seem that this hotel practices portion control with enthusiasm. We had salmon the first night which was the size of a fish finger and between a table of 6 a soup plate filled with a jumbled mixture of vegetables. Similar pattern for each night

Conclusion - Nice hotel in a good location, but if on a package tour make sure you have a good lunch out.

Room Tip: Front Rooms have a nice view and the road is not that noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    762
    328
    139
    56
See reviews for
290
1,102
53
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The building it's self is beautiful, ame parking available also. Arrived and was checked in quickly and the reception staff were friendly. Rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable. Bathroom smelt abit stale and the walls are like paper you can hear everything especially the room next door. Food was nice and home cooked. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I ordered a jacket potatoe with beef chilli, I didn't want a jacket and they were really accommodating and did some rice for me at the same price. Prices are reasonable also. As the walls are so thin I didn't sleep that well but I am a light sleeper anyway. Breakfast was great, so much choice and all local produce. Not sure if this be my first choice but the majory father stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tello84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a B & B, KGB deal. Booked 2 double rooms for myself and hubby and my parents. Arrived to find a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location for the city centre. My first impression of the staff was that they were all smartly dressed, immaculately groomed and looked very professional. The receptionist gave us our room pass, there was then an awkward moment when I asked for the second pass (for my parents!) and the receptionist looked a bit confused. I explained that I had purchased 2 deals and gave her the printed receipts. Turns out they had only booked one room. The receptionist dealt with this very swiftly and gave us another room opposite to ours without fuss, apologising for the mix up. Was very relieved as I didn't fancy all 4 of us in one room! Both rooms were very spacious, clean and tidy and were well stocked with the usual tea/coffee/toiletries.

The hotel is within around 10-15 stroll of the centre of Harrogate so the location is great. It's quite an impressive looking building in lovely grounds. The bar and reception area are very clean and modern. We didn't eat in the restaurant, found that a bit pricey, but we did eat the bar meals. They were lovely and were served quickly. If I'm honest, the curry was very overpriced and average, but I had the fish and it was fab!
The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast served (help-yourself buffet style) was absolutely top notch! Can honestly say it was one of the best breakfasts we'd had in any hotel or B & B. The pork and leek sausages were very tasty, but I particularly liked the yoghurt with fresh and dried fruits. There were also cereals, muffins and croissants to choose from so you'd have to be incredibly fussy not to find something you liked!
Hotel does have a gym, but it wasn't open when we looked (room had a broken keyhole/doorknob too) but it didn't seem very big from what we could see, and we only wanted a peek anyway!
Been on a few KGB or similar cheap deals now and I can honestly say that this hotel is definitely one of the better ones. Stayed in a few Best Western hotels now and have found them to be very good. Even the ones that may need a bit of updating always seem to have very polite, professional staff. The maid who was about to clean our room smiled and said good morning and made us feel welcomed! To me, this is very important as good manners and customer service costs nothing. It also exemplifies the ethos of the chain. I hope BW keeps this up as I'd have no hesitation in recommending them or staying with them again in that case!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Just had a 4 day stay on a package with Treyn not to impressed with evening meal first night served up Luke warm and for the first three nights same veg served and just one small dish between 6 people.was rectified when mentioned to staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylsm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Just spent 1 night , but rooms nice with everything needed. Breakfast next morning was very expansive, what ever you wished for was there and The quality was top notch. Overall a nice, good quality hotel

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waltham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having read plenty of reviews I thought I would give my opinion. The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking (we arrived Friday 1pm). The outside of the hotel is very beautiful and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. We had booked a 2 nights stay using KGB deal for £179 with dinner on one night and you could tell with our room that we were on a cheap deal! The room overlooked the kitchen roof and the smells of cooking wafted through! That said the room wasn't as bad as some hotels I have stayed in but my room at the Premier Inn Meadowhall on Wednesday was far superior!! We ate at the hotel on Friday evening and the food and service was first class. Breakfast was buffet style and the choice was fantastic. We walked into Harrogate city centre which took about a 10 minute walk and we felt the hotel was well located as we enjoy having a walk around and don't mind not being bang centre for it all.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again but hope that we would get a better room!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensenfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just back from a very disapointing overnight stay.
We have stayed here before and been satisfied.
On this occasion we found the staff (of which were few)
not very helpful.
The room 201 was small and in need of an upgrade. Wallpaper peeling off for example.
The toilet seat was loose and bathroom had an unpleasant smell.
Breakfast was most disapointing with lack of staff .Who just couldnt cope with the number of guests arriving. The bistro area was most unwelcoming and to top it all the tablecloths were Plastic.(last time I had plastic was in a Greasy Spoon on the A1 years ago)
We had to queue for ages for plates.
Cold plates for hot food and Hot plates for cold food.
The sausages look most unhealthy, on inspection they were undercooked so didnt go near eating one. The hash browns were like bullets . A mush called scrambled eggs was left cold.
However it was not all negative as the coffe was very nice although trying to find milk was difficult
and when the container was found it was empty.
This is not what I would expect from a hotel with a previously good reputation.
I certainly would not recommend anyone staying here under the present regime.
Sorry about being so critical but these things need addressing if your previous good reputation is to be upheld.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4BYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing