We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Southport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with excellent staff.”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on a specialist package break. The facilities were commensurate with it's four star rating.

A key feature of the stay was the extremely positive attitude of the staff. They appeared to be well motivated and highly responsive.

All in all a very enjoyable break in a hotel with an with an individual style.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelfanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear TravelfanSouthport,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall pass your praise onto the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    771
    334
    142
    56
See reviews for
296
1,119
53
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annan Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for my husbands birthday, taking in Ripon races. We actually booked this hotel only because our 1st choice was fully booked, but this hotel will be our 1st choice in future! We booked 2 nights b & b and 1st night dinner, but the restaurant was so good we paid for dinner there the 2nd night too. Really was excellent food, beautifully presented and I would highly recommend it!
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. and the room was basic, but large and clean, with good tv and trouser press and usual tea/coffee
Breakfast was also very nice. I had asked for a quiet room on upper floor and was glad I did as there was a wedding party on the Sat night.,
All in all a pleasant good value weekend.

Room Tip: Seems its popular for weddings so rooms at back are quieter but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlover026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear sunlover026,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us in particular your meal in The Brasserie. Our Head Chef and Brasserie Manager will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening meal and found all aspects of service to be of a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed as part of a group of 27.
The booking process was extremely well managed.
The check in was excellent and staff very polite, smiley and helpful at all times.
Beds very comfortable with lovely soft pillows.
Menu good and food good, huge choice for breakfast, good choice for evening.
Excellent location for Harrogate centre.
Good parking, including for our coach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear EMK58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that the team provided a high level of customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a good, solid four-star old-established hotel typical of several to be found in Harrogate. We stayed four nights with friends end August/early September on a Great Rail Journeys holiday (which was well organised and excellent value for money, by the way).

The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard, is spotlessly clean in all areas and the bedrooms are quite spacious and comfortable with well-appointed bathrooms. Because we were on a package trip the evening meal was served separately to our group and the table d’hote menu (forms given out to select in advance) was rather limited with options from three starters, mains and sweets and a bit unimaginative but certainly adequate. However, the superb breakfast more than made up for any lacking in dinners with a wide choice from just about everything you could wish for – and more!

But what struck us most about the Cedar Court Harrogate was the quality of service provided by the young staff, all of whom were friendly and eager to please. Although the hotel is under the Best Western brand it is part of a small group of properties and the company clearly lays great emphasis on training and good staffing numbers which is to be especially applauded in these recessionary times (and does make a difference to the customer experience).

One note of caution: on the Saturday and Sunday of our stay the hotel was the venue for wedding celebrations which didn’t cause any problems in themselves but there was some noise and disturbance from high-spirited guests leaving late (for rooms at the front) and some staying overnight.

On the Sunday night the noise from next door was so bad, despite the occupants having been warned by the duty manager earlier, that we had to complain again and this time we were given a quieter room further away in which to continue our sleep. Although this was a disruption it has to be said that the duty manager responded swiftly and appropriately under the circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear juliandee,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review of Best Western Cedar Court.

Firstly may I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay by other guests within the hotel. I was however pleased to hear that the duty manager responded quickly and appropriately to the problem.

I was delighted to read that you found all aspects of the service you received during your stay to be of a very high standard.

As a four star hotel we pride ourselves on our customer service and I will ensure I pass your very kind comments onto the team. It's feedback such as yours that acts as a real motivator to the team and encourages them to continue their efforts in providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastleton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

E njoyed our stay, rooms clean and tidy but could do with a little up-dating. Staff (especially in the morning) very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good too much to choose from. We had a set dinner which was tasty. Not 4 star but close to it. The only negative thing regarding hotel was that there was no air conditioning in bedrooms, therefore window had to be kept open, fine for most of stay until Saturday when a wedding party interupted our sleep until 4.40am. Our room was at front of building, lovely but as Ive said apart from wedding party. We would go back but only if we could get a room in another position.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Lorena F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, your constructive feedback is appreciated and we shall be reviewing our procedures for allocating bedrooms when we have functions on to minimise any noise dispruption to future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel was in an excellent position, only 5 min walk to center of Harrogate and the infamous Bettys! Large car park so no problem with parking.
We had upgraded our room so we were a little upset to find that the room we had been given was overloooking the front of the hotel which was lovely, however, when we had booked no one had mentioned that there was a fun fair with dance music and teenagers screaming on rides right outside the hotel! Would have been alright if the window could have been kept shut but there in no air con in the rooms and the heating was on! In August!
We spoke to the staff regarding this and they did move us to another less nice room but no partial refund offered!
The staff were very nice and friendly - they spent a lot of time giving directions and provided a very good map.
The hotel is just a bit tired and could do with some refurbishment, not what I expected for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Gemma H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of Best Western Cedar Court. Your feedback is welcomed and appreciated and has been discussed with the relevant teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We found the hotel to be average we made the booking through a discount site for 2 nights and would be more upset if we paid rack rates. The breakfast staff are well trained and are friendly.

This is the first time I have not left 5 stars on tripadvisor we stayed at another hotel in york the night before and found it deserved 5 stars for about the same price.

We might have stayed at a bad time as I can see the hotels got a lot of good feedback but we left with a little bit of a bad taste in our mouths.



Good points:-
1. The view from the room was lovely we had a front facing room from which the view from outside the large window was spectacular
2. We found the breakfast very enjoyable good quality food, plenty to choose from & friendly knowagable staff.
3. Lovely well kept gardens (apart from the odd nail sticking out from in between the gravel here and there I pick up two)
4. The large doors at the entrance must be in the top 50 grandest automatic doors in UK.
5. The 32? inch Samsung TV in the room.
6. Complimentary WIFI (took 3 to 4 hours to get it up and running though but wotked fine after that)
7. Plenty of parking spaces.



Not so good:-
1. It took far to long to get the WIFI operational (I was put in touch with a lady who worked for the internet supplier the Cedar Court Hotel use eventually, but did not really understand the English language that well, it took approx 3-4 hours of checking in to get it up and running) if the reception had more than one staff member on at 17:00 I might have had someone help me who wasn't so busy running a large hotel reception on their own, when checking in the phone was going basically throughout check in and then also when we checked out with the staff being very stretched nobody could answer it, it was quite stressful for both us and must have been for the staff member.
2. Dated decor in our room seemed to be a prime room but edges of wall paper peeling off and it wasn't attractive.
3. The dinner in the evening was quite a large let down we had a discount price it cost us approx £60 including 1 bottle of the house wine without the discount it should have cost us approx £80 for the meal at this price you'd expect experienced staff who understand the English language quite a bit better we had to repeat ourselves a lot and we had to wait for the water which we requested for close to an hour (only three couples in dinning so no too busy to excuse), every time we wanted something we struggled to get attention as the staff were not that concerned about keeping an eye the guests when at their desk and when walking through the restaurant they seemed to have blinkers on as they did not see anyone looking for service. Not a big deal if it was a cheap meal but for a £80 meal I would expect a lot better service.
4. The 07:00 wake up call we didn't ask for was upsetting and for the the man to just say ok (with no appology!) was bewildering when he was told we did not request one. When checking out I mentioned this "We sincerely apologise" or the likes of was said with no sincerity in her voice and was shrugged off onto "I see there are some extra charges for dinner at that point I made my way out and let my partner finish checking out as my girlfriend does not like any kind of confrontation. (saying that I was very polite but knew whatever I was going to mention would have not realy mattered as the receptionest was clearly under a lot of pressure and did not have time to sort any negative experiances we had)

A sincere apology, someone to have the time to deal with us and a reassurance that next time we would stay these experiences would be taken into consideration would have stopped these issues going onto trip advisor.

This is a honest review I really do not like being negative and hope these comments help improve the service I understand we had a good deal also a room with a nice view but hope you understand why we have a some issue's.

Kindest regards

Room Tip: Ask for park facing room very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Kenneth M,

Thank you for your detailed review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I was disappointed to read that your stay with us on this occasion didn't meet your expectations and our usual high standards of customer service. I was particulary disappointed that you didn't feel that you could let us know of your concerns during your stay as you felt the team were too busy. We always have a duty manager on shift who is available to listen and resolve guest concerns.

Your constructive feedback is aways welcomed and appreciated and we will always use this to improve our guest experience.

May I offer my sincere apologies for any inconveniences during your stay. Your experience has now been discussed with the team and improvements will be made where possible.

I do hope you allow us to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, so that we can provide you with positive experiences for all aspects of your stay.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing