We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The room was comfortable & quiet. The food in both the Brassiere & the Cedar Suite was well above average, especially the breakfast which had everything you could think of on offer. The staff were extremely helpful and a credit to the management who run a cheerful and first class establishment. We will return and certainly recommend the Cedar Court to friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear James D,

Thank you for your taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all apsects of your stay at the hotel and that you found the customer service provided to be of a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    755
    323
    138
    56
See reviews for
285
1,093
53
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum and sister, we had two twin rooms on the 2nd floor, facing over the car park which was fine, we'd not requested anything more. It was lovely and quiet. The service was fantastic, warm and genuinely friendly staff. Breakfast was okay, nothing special but not bad.
The only real downside was the rooms we had. They were so dated, orange flock wallpaper, exposed breeze block corridors. They really need an update. However the bathrooms were newly refuted and had good showers.

We got a bargain rate through a friend who works at best western, so weren't complaining at all. Rack rates are like GBP120 ish for a basic room at weekends, I can't imagine that being good value!

Never the less, I would stay again at that sort of rate, and if the rooms are refurbed I wouldnt hesitate to book every time we came to Harrogate

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knebworthkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear knebworthkate,

Thank you for your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

We value all our guests feedback and your comments have been discussed with the team. I was obviously disappointed to read feedback from your stay with particular reference to the breakfast, which we have recently received many positive reviews for.

We are currently half way through a re-decoration programme at the hotel with plans in the near future to do a full refurbishment of all bedrooms including the bathrooms.

I am sorry however you found our hotel not to your liking or expectations.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a weekend break to Harrogate. The hotel is lovely, and the staff simply can not do eenough for you. The ladies on reception on check in are so professional and really give the hotel the warmest of welcomes. We ate in the Brasserie on both evenings of our stay and the food is beautiful!! Full marks to the Chef!! The whole stay ffrom start to finish was very pleasant and we will most certianly be coming back!! I would recomened this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Harrogate, it is in an ideal location opposite the Stray and is very close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Katherine R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be friendly and pro-active in their customer service approach. Our Head Chef and the kitchen team will be delighted to hear you found your evening meals in The Brasserie to be of excellent quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Court from Sunday to Tuesday and had a wonderful time , it is a very impressive building and easy to find. There is ample parking space at the front and also at the back of the hotel. We were checked in by Jane, who was very helpful and friendly, as were all the staff we met. Our room, (211), was overlooking the front of the hotel and gardens and was very comfortable and clean with complimentary fruit, water and dressing gowns. We stayed B&B, and have to say the breakfast and service was first class, everything piping hot and fresh. We did not eat our evening meal in the hotel but the food in the restaurant and the bar looked lovely.
Harrogate was a 5 to 10 minute walk away and is lovely to stroll around and of course we had to go to Betty's tea rooms for afternoon tea, it was absolutely brilliant, like going back to the past. We went to York on the train from Harrogate a 40 minute journey so much easier than driving, we loved it, and will definitely stay there again when we go back to Harrogate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulgirlCarnforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear SoulgirlCarnforth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to hear that you found not only the location to be ideal but also enjoyed the food and service provided by the team at breakfast. I shall ensure Jane receives your very kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary and would definitely stay again.
The receptionists were warm and friendly, and the hotel exterior is very impressive. We had a great view of The Strand from our window.
Our room was clean, decorated to a high standard and of a good size. Tea and coffee making facilities replenished every day by friendly housekeeping staff.
The breakfast was fantastic! A great many choices including a cooked breakfast, cereals, pastries, toast, and a wide variety of juices and preserves.
We also ordered room service during our stay and were very happy with the quality of food and the service provided.
Overall we had a wonderful stay at this hotel, the only recommendation being that they install some kind of air conditioning system. It wasn't particularly hot during our stay, however even with the window open, our room became quite warm and stuffy.
Despite this, I would definitely recommend the Cedar Court Hotel to anyone visiting Harrogate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Cakeroo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you found the bedrooms to be of a good size and cleaned to a high standard. Your feedback from your stay will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Using previous stays at a Best Western as a guide, we booked a weekend. What a great decision! The beautiful exterior of the Hotel hints at what to expect, we were not disappointed. The Hotel exudes class much as Harrogate itself, but this is not a self important, snobbish type of atmosphere, more a quiet confidence in standards of service that are the hallmark of this place.
The room was lovely with a stunning view over The Stray and like the rest of the Hotel, spotlessly clean. The food was of the standard you would expect of a hotel of this kind, the menu simple and enticing with a nod to current trends(the Morrocan Lamb was superb) Again the Wine list was short and simple but was exceptional value. The N.Z. Marlborough and the Aussie Cabernet were stunning value at £15 a bottle! At breakfast it is difficult to decide which is the greater attraction, the beautiful ceiling of the Rowan Suite or the dazzling display of food that marks the very best of British Hotel breakfasts.
The greatest asset this Hotel has is the staff who mix absolute professionalism with warmth and humour.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Stray or better still join Best Western Rewards and get the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillytheQuiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear BillytheQuiche,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, in particular our locally sourced Yorkshire Breakfast. Your kind comments regarding the excellent customer service the team provide are very much appreciated, and I will ensure your praise is passed onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

On business, agreed a price when booked got charged extra coz they had run out of dble rooms.. eh not my fault. Other guests arriving were told there were no rooms and got sent to another hotel. booked a table for dinner but saw the restuarant half empty and asked to bring time forward but were refused as the girl said they were fully booked so we went to the bar. Service at the bar was shocking .. still waiting for my garlic bread , thankfully I won't starve!! All a bit dated and could do with brightening up. Lots of elderly people think there must have been a bus trip in. I wouldn't choose this hotel again sorry :-(

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laiyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Dennell, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear laiyw,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court,

I was sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the hotel. After discussion with the reception and reservations team we do not understand your comments regarding being charged more for a room as we had run out of doubles. At the hotel we only offer double or twin rooms and would not charge extra unless there was an additional guest. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with yourself and would be happy for you to contact me directly at the hotel.

We do receive in the most part positive feedback for our food and beverage service in particularly in the restaurant as recent reviews support. I am sorry however you found our hotel not to your liking or expectations.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing