We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“intruder in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“intruder in room”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here last year and we paid for a deal that covered - 2 nights stay, breakfast, dinner, afternoon tea and goodies in the room. I will start at the beginning - receptionist was very unwelcoming when we arrived to start, the next issue was when we went for the afternoon tea we were told it was not available even though we had pre-paid for it, had to go to reception and she basically rude and telling us we were in the wrong from which i had to go and produce the receipt to prove it, she then reluctantly gave us the service in the end. The waiter grunted at us when asked what we would like (cakes were not too bad though!) never the less the waiter nearly turned the cream sour. Evening meal followed the same hassle but won't ellaborate as the next part is the more important for you to read. To cut a long story short we left our hotel room about 7.30pm to go out, the bedroom doors are self locking doors (automatically close behind you and lock shut from the outside). On our return later in the evening went back to the room and again the door automatically shuts and we checked the door like we always do. We then went to bed and then about 3.30am my boyfriend was awoken by the tv as it was left on - this was lucky as to his horror there was a big, burly, scary male standing at the end of the bed just in his underwear staring at us intensily, this was extremely frightening - we shot out of bed and My boyfriend pushed him out the room and into corridor, it is a good job he was there, because who knows what would have happened if I would have been on my own. The shocker is how it was dealt with - to cut it short - after reporting it to reception he asked for a manager that never came, we had to keep going back to reception and asking, when the manager finally turned up she seemed really shady and told us that there were cameras in the hallway and they would be looked at and she would get back to us later. Again this never happened and we had to go to reception again and spoke to another manager as to which we were told that there were no cameras at all - and completey told us the opposite of the other manager, one of them was not telling the truth and covering up. we had to spend the second with the chair propped up against the door as the management never even offered us a room move. on leaving we had to ask again if they had found out what had happened, they hadn;t. phone number left, they never called us, we had to phone again a couple of days later we were told for the 3rd time that there was cameras and nothing was seen (even though the manager told us that they weren't any cameras) and then on a further conversation we were told us that were no cameras. in the end went to area manager who basically tried to make out we left the self shutting door open - which is impossible as we tested it. stay here at your own peril and what ever you do don't stay on your own. we have since stayed at the white hart and the crown hotel - not one problem at any of these.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    762
    328
    139
    56
See reviews for
290
1,102
53
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Had a lovely family party at Christmas, food was great and the atmosphere very festive. Lovely upgraded suite with fabulous 4 poster. Returning soon for another party weekend. Highly recommend as great value and excellent location . A short walk into town.

Room Tip: Try to get room at front of hotel on first floor , corner Room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and all members of our party were really pleased. Also booked a function room for a teenagers birthday. Once again staff very good at monitoring the evening and stepping in to help from time to time.
After the function decorations were taken down for us to collect the following morning at our leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed two nights in March 2013 -- 12th and 13th. Generally fine, and would certainly use again. Offered an upgrade on arrival at £20 per night, but declined as I have a Best western loyalty card and can get free upgrades -- not offered this time. Given room 306 at back, so view of car park. Some noise issues -- appeared to be an office next door, and could hear printer, shredder, and phonecalls through the wall. Doors to rooms often needed slammed to shut, so more noise. Comfy bed.

Hot water also a minor issue. Water from sink tap very hot, but supply to bath and shower lukewarm at best. I assumed they'd be from same source? No amount of fiddling with thermostat improved matters. Lighting in room could be better, but I've seen much worse.

Excellent breakfast with extensive buffet, and staff generally helpful and professional at all times. Worth booking Cedar Court if in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here overnight on 20th March 2013. Nice room, shame the plug for the sink and bath didn't work. Average bar meal from tables that are only designed for holding drinks or for midgets to eat from, spent the entire meal hunched over the plate because the table was too low.

Excellent breakfast in the morning.

Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan2272252117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have just stayed at Ceder Court with my friends for a weekend break and I can't fault it. The food, rooms and staff were all really good and very close to the town center. The only let down was the weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banksy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We visit family regularly in Harrogate and so have tried out most of the hotels and guest houses over the years. Many of the 'grander' hotels have been very disappointing and the guest houses have been fine - up to a point. We only stayed one night, but this was probably the best hotel. The standard double room was bigger than most, and clean and tidy with a good flat screen TV. The individually controlled heater was great as we could set the room temperature to our liking. The buffet breakfast was one of the best - well cooked and tasty and plenty of it. Staff friendly and helpful. A little bit pricey , but well worth the bit exttra

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear do not have a view over the stray, but are quieter as they don't look out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourkid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing