We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly but with minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and friendly but with minor issues”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Best Western Cedar court for 2 nights in a twin room for a conference at a rival hotel. We picked Best Western as it had infinitely more positive reviews over our conference recommended list, and, even better, was £100+ cheaper than the other options available to us.

The room, though a little basic was very clean and spacious with a modern interior. The bathroom was spotless and very classy. Staff were welcoming and accommodating.

Cedar Court suffers from two minor issues though. The WiFi, whilst free, was absolutely rubbish with slow speeds and connection problems.

The fish and chips were expensive, with a small portion and unfortunately had very little taste... Bar prices were a tad extortionate too.

That said, I would definitely stay again - bedding was very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep apart from my colleague whom snored like an elephant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary_Kellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    793
    347
    149
    60
See reviews for
303
1,159
54
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The outside of this hotel is more appealing than other Cedar Court properties with which I'm familiar - a period building overlooking the Stray. My bedroom was a reasonable size and included the usual comforts - although the shower control was fussy. Breakfast is a very comprehensive buffet; I didn't try other meals there but the restaurant seemed appealing and had plenty of choice. The location is very convenient - 5 minutes' walk from the center of town - and I found it good value compared with some of the higher profile hotels; internet connection was free and the speed was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowley32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. I am delighted you were impressed by the exterior of the hotel. It is indeed a beautiful building.I see you travelled from afar to visit us, but we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Two night stay for business trip. A bit out of town - good 20/30 min walk depending on fitness into town. Hotel good value. Good bar selection. Restaurant excellent Bar menu limited but good. Madras Curry advertised as hot but I would say mild at best but very tasty

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the second floor although you need to get the lift to the first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris26c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, however it really is only a 10 minute walk to town! if you had asked a member of staff we could have given you the most direct route to take (there is a shortcut through our rear carpark) We look forward to welcoming you bcak soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for my sons wedding, our room was a superior room and it was lovely. The "Bridal suite" left a lot to be desired, it was part of the wedding package,very dismal and cramped. The wedding itself was ok but lacked proper organisation. The wedding food was disgusting and so was the breakfast the following morning I sent a complaint in to the manager as did my sister but all we got told was regarding the wedding food the chef had noticed that a lot of food had been returned and asked front of house to find out why, nobody asked our table or the bride and groom. The breakfast bacon and sausage looked as though they had been cooked the day before and warmed , the eggs were solid, and this was at 7.30 am. When I mentioned this to the manager he asked me what time I had gone down and when I told him he said it should have been freshly cooked then. Other members of my family went to breakfast later and theirs was ok. The manager said it could have understood if it was the other way round. Make of that what you will. I was told that as the Bridal couple had not complained there was nothing going to be done re the wedding. Neither my sister or myself were offered a refund for the terrible breakfast. We certainly won't be going there again I think they need to get the food and wedding organising up to a standard that goes well with the surroundings which we could not fault

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A17m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Terrific breakfast but let down by main meals that were part of a package holiday arrangement. Avoid tasteless fish pie. Staff and room could not be faulted. Pleasant grounds and locality not far from railway station and town centre.

Room Tip: Room 314 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed for a full week. An impressive front to this hotel was matched with a quality reception area and very helpful and efficient reception staff. All staff are smartly dressed and helpful. My room was in the new wing at the rear and was clean and comfortable - but - I was woken and regularly disturbed by the bedroom doors of nearby rooms banging shut at all hours of the day. I know that fire doors must have a positive shut, but if other hotels can have quiet door closers, so can Cedar Court - disappointed. Breakfast is in very plush rooms, which change some days depending on number of guests I presume. Breakfast is a help-yourself-buffet from several individual heated trays, I was pleased to see that the plates were heated, but unfortunately the food was only warm. I mentioned this to the staff on the Monday morning and was pleased to see that staff measured the food temperature in the trays straight away. I was told that it was at 70 degrees and I must have taken too long to sit down to eat it! I think they meant 70 degrees Fahrenheit, not Celsius. Breakfast was warm, not hot, each day of my stay. Guests are expected to stand at the machine and make their own toast, but that would mean my breakfast would be even colder! - disappointed. So, a mixed stay - an impressive looking hotel and reception, with smart and efficient reception staff, but let down by small details such as banging doors and a help yourself warm breakfast. Although the rate I paid was very reasonable, I would rather not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmite-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHDALE
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having booked this hotel a few months ago, was thrilled at how much we all enjoyed the hotel. The location is fab, easy ten minute walk to Harrogate, very attractive setting. From the moment of arrival to leaving, each and every member of staff were amazing, very pleasant, happy and courteous they honestly could not do enough to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We booked DBB&EM for first night and then BB for second. The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, the evening meal exceeded our expectations, service and quality of food superb. As there were eight of us they set a circular table and the Head Of the Restaurant appeared at the end of the evening to check all was in order. Value for money exceptional would not hesitate to recommend and would book again
.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing