We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

we stayed here for a quiet break to harrogate,room 336,you could hear everyone walking around corridor due to creaky wooden floor and bed being up to wall made it worse,then got a wake up call by immigrant cleaner at 8.10 which we never asked for,also in this room you could hear constant drone of kitchen fan day and night then to top things off at breakfast time.
we had tea ,coffee and toast on our table then just moved to get our breakfasts,came back and everything had gone and been removed by foreign immigrant workers infact the vast majority were foreign workers,i would not recommend this hotel at all,the only positive thing i can say is that it is 10 mins walk from the centre,but stay somewhere else and not here.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    761
    328
    139
    56
See reviews for
290
1,102
53
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We were attending a business event here and I had been a little put off booking by some of the reviews so we had booked elsewhere.we then decided to book for just the Saturday evening.We were lucky enough to book a superior and the new suite,room 309 this is fantastic.We also booked for dinner in the restaurant which was also superb,food,service and staff were all fantastic.I would definitely recommend this hotel the only thing I would say if you can,upgrade to the superior rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We needed a central hotel and this was also the venue for an event we attended. Harrogate is well known to us and we were pleased to have found this hotel which we will hopefully use again. The evening dinner menu was good and well served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newmillerdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

this is my second stay at cedar court and I wasn't as impressed as I was on my first visit,my first room was first class,very clean and fresh,lovely upholstery and that is why I rebooked but the room experience was the opposite,tired old furniture and a net curtain at the window with a rip nearly all the way down the middle plus this room was over the reception area and we could hear the automatic doors every time it was opened and the tv reception was not good.so my recommendation is do not stay in room 225.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank barbara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were pleased with the location and the ability to park for the duration and walk to the town centre. Our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, my only gripe was the heavy and too warm duvet, this can be so often the case when duvets are put through the laundry. A blanket was provided when requested so the 2nd night was a lot better! Breakfast had a large selection of starter items which I prefer to cooked so was well pleased and their home made yogurt is delicious. The cooked breakfast suffered a little from being stored in bain maries.
The evening Brasserie fare was wonderful, (reviewed separately) All in all a very pleasant hotel which I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellwood_lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Two night stay at a nice hotel, the great point is the parking, which is always difficult in Harrogate. Just a short walk from the town centre, if you don't mind walking that is! Breakfast in a magnificent dining room, everything you could need and very good staff. Comfortable bed and nice size room with everything you could need, will definitely stay again if we get another deal! Meal in the bar was a bit iffy apart from that excellent.

Room Tip: Room at the front would be better, rear rooms overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Some more attention to detail and this would be a lovely hotel. We stayed for two nights in a superior double which was a good size, very clean and very comfortable. We had dinner in the Brasserie on the first night and this had a mixed reception. The cauliflower soup was delicious and presented like a work of art. But other dishes didn't quite make our excellent list.Helpful staff in the main but reception checking in and out was robotic and soulless. Comfortable bar area. Cleaning staff wanted access to the room as we were packing and before the appointed time which was annoying. I wish this hotel well though and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The main road at the front can be noisy even though the hotel is set back I am not sure what the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing