We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellant Value”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Attended a leaving party in Harrogate and decided to stay overnight. This hotel gives excellant value for money. It is extremly clean warm and well appointed. reception desk desk on both arrival and departure and very quick to attend to you and make you feel welcome. Large well lit car park so no issues or probelms leaving your vehicle. For a four star hotel was expecting to pay a lot more than we did. the hotel was excellant value for money. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room at front overlook the Stray so you have an excellant view over open land
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    791
    347
    148
    60
See reviews for
301
1,157
54
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Cute hotel.
Very nice building of historical value (read the guest information book!)

The decor is dated but I suppose it has to be in order to match the exterior.
Very clean all round.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boygarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at Cedar Court in Harrogate as a birthday treat with my husband. Good points; Friendly welcome on checking in. Nicely decorated room with a view of The Stray. Comfortable bed and pillows. Convenient 10min walk into town centre (leave via the back car park, turning left). Not so good points; Squeaky floorboards all around the room and outside corridors. TV clock display very bright and light streaming through eye-hole in the door to our room-I am a very light sleeper so these small but annoying issues did not help me at all. Had a very disturbed sleep! Room quite cold, especially the bathroom. Shame it took us nearly to the end of our stay to work out the heating! Lastly, nearly being charged for breakfasts we advised on arrival we didn't want.
Would we stay again? Yes but only if we secured good room rates. Have had much better sleeps in cheaper hotels.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First time stay in Harrogate the hotel was easy to find and was very clean and tidy. The reception and restaurant staff were very polite and attentive would definitely stay again. The hotel also offered free parking which is a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent staff, all very cheerful and helpful and make you feel welcome. We had a superior room which was lovely and a good size. Very quiet and good quality sleep. Bathroom a good size and except for the very narrow bath was well equipped. The hotel is let down by a very dreary bar area. Still firmly in the 1980,s with all that old fashioned brown woodwork and furniture and dull lighting. At very little cost this could soon be brightened and made more inviting. Why do hotels insist on having a tv on but then play loud disco music over it, lowers the tone every time. Loud music in the breakfast room is also inappropriate, how many people want noise at breakfast? This hotel could be so much better if management would just look at their clientele and adapt to them, please make the social areas more classy and get rid of the music.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having spent two nights in the Holiday Inn, we decided to try a different hotel for the third night. This was clearly a mistake.

The floor boards creak so you are woken every few minutes throughout the night.

The rooms are very cold indeed. The heating is electric and on motion sensors, so turns off at night. Perhaps not unreasonable, but in such an old building you will find it very cold.

My sink leaked so the floor was soaked.

Our Colleagues room had broken window catches, poor tv reception and the same creaky floorboards.

I also found an unwanted hair in the bath!

What has upset me most is an additional round of drinks were added to our bar bill, which customer services have refused to assist us with, and in response to them, no it doesn't really help that I have been overcharged £15!

I would avoid this hotel and try the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing