We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in so many ways.....”
Review of Cedar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beginning at the beginning - broken automatic doors, surly and unhelpful reception staff. Things perked up a bit once we found our room - reasonable size, clean bathroom and relatively comfortable bed. We were with a party and the meal arrangements were arcane - we were crammed into a too small room, then spread round a larger one, then crammed into part of the large one. I hate being forced to share a table at breakfast!!! Meals were uninspiring - and came plated having sat under hot lamps, I suspect. Nothing tasted of anything much. Cleaning during our stay was minimal - and a pile of plates, glasses and bottles was left by the lift for most of the time - very unattractive. On the plus side the car parking was good and the hotel conveniently located.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very central and within walking distance of the town, and train station. It has a largel car park which is unusual as most hotels in the town have no parking or meters. The hotel overlooks the Stray which is wonderfully lit up at night. The hotel is nice and quiet as it is laid back from the main road. Easy to get to with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review. Our ample free parking is a gem indeed and leaving your car here is easy as we are so close to town! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After being offered an upgrade on our room I expected it to be 'better' - talk about disappointing! Apart from being at the front of the hotel rather than the back, room was mediocre at best! Noisy as over the entrance so every time the automatic doors opened we heard them!! Not great at all. Definitely one of those places that caters for coach parties, breakfast tables were all laid for 6 people! I travel a lot but this definitely is not on my list of hotels to return to, overall it was rather bland and not a great deal I can really recommend as somewhere to stay

Room Tip: Don't stay over the entance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nestononion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From first arrival to final departure our party of four had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Plenty of parking, clean, well furnished and quiet rooms and fantastic breakfasts! I stayed for three nights with my wife and parents and found the hotel easy to find, well located within easy walking distance of Harrogate. We ate in the lounge area for two nights and found the bar staff extremely pleasant and well mannered. I'd definitely recommend and will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at the Cedar Lodge for 3 nights. Very comfortable and spacious room. Breakfast was excellent - wide choice of fresh fruits, cereals, croissants etc. and a range of cooked items all presented in a lovely breakfast room. Location is excellent with only a 10 minute walk into the town centre with a wide choice of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Braikley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your review and kind words about our breakfast - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my fiancee's birthday via groupon. Upon arrival we arrived at reception to check in, the reception staff were so friendly and could not do more for you if you had a problem. The bar was very good but as you would expect the pints were bit overpriced, but the bar staff were excellent. Rooms were nice and cosy but I have to agree with others, could do with updating decor wise. Harrogate centre only a ten minute walk away via the back of hotel, I recommend Monteys Rock and Roll Bar down The Ginnell, good beer deals and cocktails all reasonbly priced. On to the Oscar Award of this hotel is the breakfast. Absolutely delicious, all you can eat Full English breakfast buffet, and if your a vegetarian there is plenty of cereal or fruit plus toast or bread etc. All in all would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Harrogate. And a tip to anyone fancying some posh grub, try the Brassiere resturaunt within the hotel or if you fancy some pub grub there is also food available in the main bar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jimbo_hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for such a wonderful review! We think our breakfasts are amazing also. A great way to start your day. See you again soon hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel

Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £51 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing