We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An all round good experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ensuite room spacious and squeaky clean. Comfortable beds. Staff very friendly and obliging. Consistently good food and buffet breakfast choices extensive and mostly tasty. Although we were in a large party, we felt we wer given a personal service. Would confidently recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    780
    343
    146
    57
See reviews for
298
1,138
54
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This review is overdue as I was waiting to be contacted by management as they had promised - but seeing as they haven't made efforts to since Nov 2013 I can only assume they are happy to have an honest review posted.

I had arranged to stay in the BW Cedar Court hotel because we were doing an activity day nearby for my partners 30th Birthday and this was one of only two available (should have chosen the other!). The whole stay was fairly awful.

We arrived and checked in, asking for an ice bucket with glasses and a local map to be sent up. Then the internet didn't work, there was no ironing board and we also failed to have adequate towels - an issue as we were dirty from the activity day and had dinner plans. After chasing this up 3 times only the ironing board materialized.

Each time we were promised someone would "be up right away" to sort the issues out but to no avail - small issues but irritating.

However the big issue is that the walls are so thin we could hear every single word said next door - not pleasant at 3am in the morning. Called reception - no answer so went round myself which was awkward. Still really loud, still no answer so ultimately no sleep.

The next morning there was absolutely no hot water. Tired and dirty I demanded to see the manager. The duty manager then came and said we could use the shower next door which involved darting down the corridor in our towels. Not acceptable.

We complained and they sat us down and gave us the "we understand your concerns, we are sorry but I am not authorized to give you a refund, so I'll get the general manager to contact you as soon as he can". Which they still haven't. I have chased to no avail.

In short the main issues are; the walls are so thin, the hot water unreliable, it is woeful understaffed and the managers don't care. It might be a one off - but I doubt it.

I would have welcomed the chance to discuss these issues in private with the management - something hotels are always complaining we, as reviewers, fail to do. However they don't seem to care enough to do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brightfamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice looking Hotel and great location but not without faults. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and accommodation was average with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was just about OK - good coffee - self service food was OK - fried eggs were poor and the scrambled egg disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank IanJM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beginning at the beginning - broken automatic doors, surly and unhelpful reception staff. Things perked up a bit once we found our room - reasonable size, clean bathroom and relatively comfortable bed. We were with a party and the meal arrangements were arcane - we were crammed into a too small room, then spread round a larger one, then crammed into part of the large one. I hate being forced to share a table at breakfast!!! Meals were uninspiring - and came plated having sat under hot lamps, I suspect. Nothing tasted of anything much. Cleaning during our stay was minimal - and a pile of plates, glasses and bottles was left by the lift for most of the time - very unattractive. On the plus side the car parking was good and the hotel conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very central and within walking distance of the town, and train station. It has a largel car park which is unusual as most hotels in the town have no parking or meters. The hotel overlooks the Stray which is wonderfully lit up at night. The hotel is nice and quiet as it is laid back from the main road. Easy to get to with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review. Our ample free parking is a gem indeed and leaving your car here is easy as we are so close to town! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After being offered an upgrade on our room I expected it to be 'better' - talk about disappointing! Apart from being at the front of the hotel rather than the back, room was mediocre at best! Noisy as over the entrance so every time the automatic doors opened we heard them!! Not great at all. Definitely one of those places that caters for coach parties, breakfast tables were all laid for 6 people! I travel a lot but this definitely is not on my list of hotels to return to, overall it was rather bland and not a great deal I can really recommend as somewhere to stay

Room Tip: Don't stay over the entance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestononion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From first arrival to final departure our party of four had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Plenty of parking, clean, well furnished and quiet rooms and fantastic breakfasts! I stayed for three nights with my wife and parents and found the hotel easy to find, well located within easy walking distance of Harrogate. We ate in the lounge area for two nights and found the bar staff extremely pleasant and well mannered. I'd definitely recommend and will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing