We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    779
    343
    146
    57
See reviews for
298
1,137
54
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner booked the hotel as a surprise for a stop off on our way to Scotland but honestly I think we should of just kept driving! The hotel looks really nice from the outside but the inside is very dated and the room although clean looked like it had not been refurbished since the 1980's. We were on the top floor and the room was unbearably hot in fact we hardly managed to sleep at all because although we were provided with a fan it made no difference at all and the window would barely open. I was amazed to see the manager smoking a electronic cigarette while working in a non smoking hotel very bizarre. The hotel advertises free WiFi but this doesn't seem to work in any area if the hotel. After a terrible nights sleep we were looking forward to our breakfast before our long drive but once again we were to be very disappointed. I have to say it was the worst breakfast I have ever had - burnt sausages, under cooked mushrooms, congealed fried eggs and the bacon looked almost raw. It looked like all the food had been sat under the hot plate for hours so we ended up just having cereal and toast!! Having said all this the staff were really friendly and Christina and Emily on reception were really friendly and helpful. This is definitely not a Best Western Plus standard hotel and I think Best Western should be ashamed to have this hotel as part of their group.

Room Tip: Don't go by the picture on trip advisor you have to pay extra for that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in mid June. We checked in just after midday. We'd had a problem while travelling around the county and needed to repair one of the car windows on arrival at the hotel. The receptionist, Natalia was very helpful when we explained the situation to her. As we had called a company to do the repair at the hotel she allocated us a ground floor room which made it easy for us to keep an eye on the car and wait for the repair to be done. The room was at the back of the building looking out on the overflow car park. The room itself was clean and tidy, a little on the small side and the décor was rather dated but it had some character. It was a warm day and we had to keep the sash window open while we were in the room. The hotel has no air conditioning but a fan had been left in the room. We thought it could be quite hot at night but with the window open it was cool enough. There was some kind of generator outside the room but it wasn't noisy. The corridor was dark and the carpet was old and there was a slight musty smell outside. The hotel has ample car parking and is a 10 minute stroll from the town. The breakfast was ok but some items were warm rather than hot. From reading other reviews it sounds like it very much depends which room you get. We have stayed at many Best Westerns, both here and abroad and it's a bit hit and miss whether you get a good one. We feel that this one wasn't too bad over all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet021065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We only stayed in this hotel one night, but absolutely loved it. The hotel was exquisitely decorated and enjoyed all the little features that were available - the Yorkshire tea, local shampoo products. A real sense of Pride! The hotel was only a short walk away (roughly ten minutes) from the town centre, with buses also connecting in also. Really would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy-ish. We weren't waiting too long but we sort of treated as though we were the first people to ever have our company pre-book a room for us.

My room was on the top floor at the back... Where the wi-fi doesn't work. The hotel should state "free wi-fi in some of the rooms, depends where you stay I guess". It's misleading to say the free wi-fi is available, especially if you're planning on working. The room was a nice size though, and clean too, the hotel can't really be faulted on that

We didn't stay for dinner because the restaurant looked pretty clinical so we decided to go out. We pre-paid for breakfast though because it was £5 cheaper than paying in the morning. So £10 in advance and £15 if you pay in the morning. This is a massively overpriced breakfast because the food is pretty poor. It's just over-cooked food left in hot plates to get even more over-cooked. If you went up to the high street and paid £10 for food of that quality, you would send it back in a heart beat.

Also, the hotel seems to be full of older people. I'm 33, and I didn't see anyone in the hotel under the age of 70. So if you're looking for a hotel with a bit of a nice bar / restaurant / social scene, this definitely is not for you.

If you like being surrounded by BT staff and people of an elderly age, then book it up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarShakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing