We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely hotel nestling on the edge of a lovely spa town - great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a lovely hotel nestling on the edge of a lovely spa town - great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Perfectly placed for a taste of spa town Harrogate, the Leeds shops, and the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, the Cedar Court Hotel certainly had the X-mas Factor when I stayed there on business just before the festive season in 2010. It is set in a beautifully-restored Victorian building, typical of the Harrogate history that is so appealing, with shops, restaurants, bars and the exquisite Yorkshire countryside on its doorstep. Car parking was plentiful and secure - not to be underestimated in this busy spa town - and the hotel amenities were clean, efficient, tasty (the restaurant food!) and great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixsterthetrixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    739
    315
    135
    56
See reviews for
282
1,069
51
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

The service was faultless, the staff could not do enough for you. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable with excellent views over The Stray. Close to the town centre (5 mins walk), yet in a quieter location. The food in the restaurant is of a superb standard. I would highly recommend this hotel to leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markfirth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Stayed here last month on a golfing trip with a group of friends and were really well looked after by polite friendly staff ,was joined at the bar by the manager who is a keen golfer himself and was very helpfull in helping to arrange golf for those who wanted to play on our rest day,
we ate in the hotel 3 of the 4 nights we stayed and thought the food was very good as we would not normally eat in the hotels when on our trips but with the town centre being a good walk away were happy to stay in the hotel.
good selection of beers and friendly atmosphere in the bar .

Rooms clean tidy and warm , would be happy to recommend to others and are meeting up again in the spring and bringing our partners to spend some time in Harrogate.

one downside a heath centre or pool would really make this hotel stand out

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

This hotel is in the centre of harrogate, perfect for visitors of the area so they can wander into town by foot. (Large, free car park available) The hotel interior is very traditional and welcoming. The food is homemade good quality and exceeds your usual hotel selection. I stayed in the honeymoon suit with a beautiful view accross the stray (green fields) a four poster bed and everything you may need. The staff where extemely friendly and helpful. I not only used the hotel for an overnight stay I also had a family party. Out of 40+ guests there were no complaints of rooms/food/drinks etc. Everyone found the hotel to be extremley good value for money. My family also pointed out how accomodating the Cedar was with young families, helping to arrange baby cots, small beds and joinging rooms.

The family will be using the hotel for the next family event, as they travel from all over the country and enjoy their stay at the Cedar Court Hotel greatly.

Living locally I have also had a couple of work conferences at this hotel and the standard of service /food seems extremely consistant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Family, friends, clients and me personally have used Cedar Court. Great location with the best outlook onto the Harrogate Stray. Standards are excellent and the the staff are always very polite and well trained. Food is of a very high standard, well presented and good value.

This is a great location in Harrogate and only a short walk from the Town centre.

If its your first stay in Harrogate try this Hotel you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

In the midst of the snowstorm of Sunday 29th November while trying to leave Harrogate we had to stop and book in for the night at Cedar Court since it took us two hours from the centre to this point. Staff administered a weary queue of desparate people with concern and efficiency showing a ready welcome. In the restaurant the food was of excellent quality and the whole experience helped us to relax again, recharge and set out to brave the winter roads again next day. We cannot praise all staff we encountered too highly.
Stuart and Kathleen Collingham.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMOSNGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Whilst the hotel was ok we went on a special deal and were very disappointed with the service and the manner of the staff. We had a couple of problems which they tried to tell us about i.e. we had a cream tea included in the package and they said we should not have and when I told them I had it in writing they were very rude. We were supposed to be in a double executive room which we did not get, the room was very small. My dinner was disgusting and in no way tasted like what I had ordered.

Whilst we were disappointed with our visit I must add that the breakfast was very good and plenty of it with a good selection.

We cut our weekend short because we were not happy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christineeccleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing