We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food”

The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #133 of 436 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shoulder of Mutton is a traditional pub at the heart of village life, serving real ales and delicious pub food in a warm and inviting setting.
Level Contributor
247 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate my mums birthday with family. Good choice for everyone on the menu. Waitresses polite and helpful. Food was delicious and plentiful. I was too full for dessert but those who managed thoroughly enjoyed. Will visit again. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
horsham
Level Contributor
437 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our friends live in this pretty village close to Harrogate so it was walking distance to the pub. I had the shoulder of mutton in gravy with dauphinoise potatoes and veg. It was delicious. The fish and chips and pie were equally rated by others in the group.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My adult son and I were visiting friends in North Yorkshire last month and on the Sunday we were there they took us to The Shoulder of Mutton in Kirkby Overblow (near Harrogate). Three of us ordered the roast mutton special and one the roast beef. We also ordered a nice bottle of wine and split a starter. The lamb was really, really good - falling off the bone tender and with a minted, rich gravy that was to die for!! There were also potatoes and veggies. I would definitely recommend this lovely little pub to anyone who is visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeysLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A SURPRISE AFTER THE LEEDS ROCK FESTIVAL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having enjoyed a terrific day at the lets rock Leeds festival in June this year, it was decided by the people around me that we should try this place for Sunday lunch. It was a great view across the fields and there were grazing sheep next to the pub car park.The small deli shop also caught my eye. The food was sensational , the service second to none, the company funny and the ambience relaxing . Naturally I chose shoulder of mutton with mint and redcurrant gravy..,utterly divine! The chef came out to check on us which was a nice touch and the desserts were yummy! If I am back in this area again I will return

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesAragorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food, early bird menu is exceptional value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We'd read that they had a menu for Coeliacs so we went out of our way to visit arriving as the doors opened at 6:00pm. The landlady is a Coeliac herself so not only is there an extensive GF menu they will adapt dishes from the main menu to be GF if they can.

There was a hell of a shock when the bill came........just £12.50 for two courses AND coffee!!! I wished we lived nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
North Rigton, Harrogate
 

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing