We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday roast early bird”

The Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #144 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Shoulder of Mutton is a traditional pub at the heart of village life, serving real ales and delicious pub food in a warm and inviting setting.
knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday roast early bird”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Friends visiting, so we decided to eat out on Sunday as our treat.
Excellent Sunday roast, dessert, followed by coffee and shortbread.
Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the late afternoon "early bird".
Good beer and excellent friendly service from the staff.
Good to see that the pub continues to maintain its good standard.
Hearted lay reccommendations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    52
    14
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub ,Great Beer, Good Early Bird Menu”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited early evening and sampled the early Bird Menu , nice welcoming efficient service.
We had the same starter ,Pate on toasted Soda bread which was superb served with a lovely onion chutney. For mains my wife had a chicken Biryani style dish which was succulent and bursting with delicate indian flavours. I had the Fish, chips and mushy peas,which was nicely cooked in a decent enough crispy batter, my only criricism was in relation to my own pet hate frozen chips. ( I can never understand why restaurants don't serve homemade chips?)The black sheep beer was well kept and on good form. The bill was very reasonable, and we shall return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good pub food - Worth a detour”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I called in for lunch midweek . The staff were welcoming and friendly. The menu was not extensive but the dishes we chose were pub food standard at its best. I particularly enjoyed the gammon with two eggs. The latter were cooked to perfection (which is rare in my experience) and the gammon melted in the mouth. My wife was equally impressed with her scampi. The sticky toffee pudding is also highly recommended. In this fine summer weather there is also a nice garden if you want to eat alfresco and an early bird deal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaydnDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant Saturday evening in the sun”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Taking advantage of the glorious summer sun my friends and decided to leave the city and go to one of the local country pubs
Arriving at 18:45 on a Saturday we were surprised to see there was an early-bird deal between 18:00-19:00. It had a good choice and was excellent value for three courses and coffee £15.50. In the end only one of us had this menu because the main menu looked so good.
The chicken pate was tasty though the chunks of soda bread were a little to thick. There fish and chips were excellent and very filling. One friend had the goats cheese as a main which was well presented The other the pork - the accompanying sauce was a little thin. For desert it was the lemon cheese cake which was light and refreshing
All in all a very good meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate my mums birthday with family. Good choice for everyone on the menu. Waitresses polite and helpful. Food was delicious and plentiful. I was too full for dessert but those who managed thoroughly enjoyed. Will visit again. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing