We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed the price on check out”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashley House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashley House Hotel
Ranked #88 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Changed the price on check out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We recently attended the Hearth & Home exhibition. on arrival at Harrogate, we called to Ashley House and agreed a price for a doubl and a single room for 5 nights. We paid there and then by debit card. Five days later on check out, we were told we must pay an extra £150. The owner, said the receptionist that had charged us on arrival was just a "worker" and hadn't charged us enough. We felt we had no alternative but to pay the extra "rip-off". Also there was one tiny piece of soap and half a toilet roll for two people in the double room to last us the five days! Never again.

Joe Goodfellow. Ireland 00353 87 7765206

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I'm sorry for the inconvenient, but when you call us the price was already quoted to you. On your check in you paid but you didn't mention to the receptionist that you already spoken with me and i gave you price,so she give you alternative accommodation which was wrong. In this case we have the right to charge you full price as agreed in our previous conversation. About the toilet paper and the soap, we always keep some spare near the reception,so if we miss to provide in the room you can take any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    12
    19
    45
See reviews for
7
27
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were 'upgraded' to this apparently 4-star guesthouse when our planned accomodation was double booked. We arrived to find the place very dated and in need of a lick of paint, which we don't really mind as long as it's clean and comfortable... but when we got into our room there was vomit in the toliet! Not a good first impression, so we complained, and to her credit the receptionist did clean it for us. In the morning however there were people waiting for breakfast for an hour while we waited for 20 minutes just for someone to come and take our order, and when nobody did we gave up.

We were actually willing to let the vomit go as an oversight at first, but with no breakfast and lots of other minor things (including dirty glasses in the room, card machine broken, unable to find someone at reception the night before, that sort of thing) we decided to ask for our money back, stating that clean rooms and breakfast are the very minimum we could expect. However, Mrs Banks, the owner, flatly refused to offer any money back to us. She then decided she didn't want to talk to us anymore, so walked off. Horrible woman. The receptionist was lovely and very sorry, but all she could do was keep passing our messages to Mrs Banks, and kept coming back with a refusual. Eventually, after about 30 minutes, we got a £5 refund! Mrs Banks' logic was that because they cleaned the sick, there was no problem. I put it to her that it shouldn't have been there in the first place, and that if you complained to a waiter that there was a fly in your soup, him then picking it out and saying "there, nothing to complain about now" doesn't really help.

In short: don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I,m sorry you felt that way. You was staying in double room which is normally £75 and you have the special price of £45. When the receptionist come to your room to see what is the problem there was guest laid on the bed feeling ill.You explained that there is sick in the toilet and we rectified the problem straight away, if you was mentioned that you want to change your room we was happy to help you and offer you another one. When you check out we reduced the price further , i was in the middle of meeting so it was not possible to discuss with you all the matters, but we have staff capable to help you out with all questions and requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

If you are expecting 5 star accommodation then this will disappoint, but if you want clean surroundings, good breakfast and comfy bed then you wont be disappointed. Stayed 2 nights for husbands birthday, Room 7 which was quite large and spacious, nice and quiet good sleep, somebody had badly marked the carpet which was obviously brand new which was a shame for the owner who was chatty and hospitable. Don't go if you don;t like dogs as the owner has a beautiful dog called Cindy who is soft as butter. 10 mins from centre ideally situated so you can leave the car, parking permits available.

Room Tip: ask for room on front of hotel seem to be the larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Hotel wasn't chosen by us (two females visiting a conference), as we were moved there because the previous hotel we were booked into had no en-suite attached to the room. On arrival the owner kindly moved her car to allow us a parking space. Good start to the stay I thought! When we arrived at the reception area, another lady was leaving due to her allergy to dogs, however this wasn't particularly an issue to us. The hotel corridors and stair wells are very dark and dismal and the door to the bedroom appeared to have been previously forced open and repaired with filler. It didn't feel very safe for a female staying in a room on her own and the doors didn't lock adequately and didn't have safety chains. The decor is definitely tired and in need of an uplift. We decided we couldn't stay there and went back to reception to return the keys. Prior to seeing the rooms we had agreed to stay 3 nights at a charge of £95 (double room) inclusive of breakfast, however when we stated we were leaving the owner declared that the organisation booking this on our behalf would be required to pay for all 3 nights. Although I can't comment on the fantastic breakfast that others have mentioned as we didn't stay there, I do believe that this B & B is expensive and overpriced in comparison to the other very nice hotels around The rooms were depressing and the bedroom had a dull, unclean, well worn saggy sofa in the corner which I would be very reluctant to sit on. This put me off the thought of sleeping in the bed. Our main concern is the standard of the accommodation compared with well known hotel chains which provide a better standard of accommodation for less money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank 1MJW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here once a year for several years and state of decor and cleanliness has deteriorated to the point where we will not stay again. Stained wallpaper. Multiple plugs into single extension leads. Lamps missing/not working. Round bottom of shower mouldy. Alarm radio display faulty. No management on premises most of time. Staff pleasent but inadequately trained to deal with eventualities. Breakfast was best feature.

Room Tip: Look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
I am really sorry that you felt this way.Thanks for alerting us to this. We work very hard to offer
good and a friendly service, I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations.If you said to us at the time of your visit we are always happy to help and give afford to fix and make you feel better. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you would like to contact me directly then please email us on sales@ashleyliving.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

enjoyable stay a bit old fashioned but comfy bed owner very nice breakfast good will go back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley h, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We are happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us at Ashley House. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Ashley House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lofthouse, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a great experience staying in Harrogate, we stayed at the Ashley House Hotel on Franklin Road. After checking in we had a great night out in Harrogate and could walk back, it only took about 5 minutes to back back from the centre of town. Great when you have had a few to drink. We'll defiantly be staying here again.

I must admit we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant that night but the full English was simply amazing, just what we needed after having a night on the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#7 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Hotel

Property: Ashley House Hotel
Address: 36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 diamond AA Rac & ETB rated hotel, situated in a quiet tree lined street close to the Harrogate town centre. Snug bar has a selection of over 100 whiskies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashley House Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing