We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and comfortable”
Review of Ashley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley House Hotel
Ranked #86 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Booked Azalea hotel but was transferred to the Ashley Court Hotel so that several family bookings could be together. Yes the hotel is a little dated BUT it was clean and comfortable,the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was very nice,could of had a later one if we had wanted. The bed was very comfortable and the quiet location meant a good nights sleep. Didn't even hear a certain family member whose snoring is legend. Close to town centre,a good choice for an overnight stay,in fact this is a second visit for one of us. Would stay again even though the cold tap stopped working as we were about to leave ( I'm sure it's a temporary glitch due to the time of day).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you very much for the positive comments. Its always encouraging when customers acknowledge the hard work of our team as its what we aim for. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

I had booked Aston Hotel on-line through a Hotel website. On arrival at Aston House, I rang the bell, knocked the door then found the front door opened - so I walked in. I still could not find anybody but fortunately there was a mobile phone number pasted up. I telephoned to be told - the same as other reviewers, that I had been upgraded to a Hotel around the corner - Ashley House. It was annoying that I had not been informed of this when booking as I didnt book Ashley and was carrying suitacse from Car to Reception to Car to Reception even before I saw anyone. I arrived at Ashley and was shown to my room and en-suite which was acceptable. Breakfast the next morning was fine although the mushrooms were dia! But hey, I slept well, the mattress was Ok and the Chinese lady who owns it was very nice. 30 GBP was an OK price for a bed and some food on Thursday 2 August. I certainly would not want to pay more.

Room Tip: Find out which of their four hotels the owner intends you sleeping in before you book otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoshNoshSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

We do apologies for the inconvenient, we normally try to contact the guest previous day to let them know we would like to upgrade them when we have that chance. Thank you for the good points an d we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just stayed at the Ashley court hotel for an overnighter as we were visiting relatives in Harrogate. This hotel is not a 4star as advertised. We were greeted by a very nice lady when we booked in. Our room was rather small for a double but clean, bed was very comfortable, shower was a bit small and the toilet rocked a bit when you sat on it. Breakfast was nice, you had a choice which was good. Overall the hotel could do with a lick of paint but ideally situated for the shopping area as it was only a five minute walk to centre. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you very much for the positive comments. we always work hard to offer good and friendly service and I’m so glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass your feedback onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.We are trying as well to improve our service and all points you mentioned are really helpful for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We recently attended the Hearth & Home exhibition. on arrival at Harrogate, we called to Ashley House and agreed a price for a doubl and a single room for 5 nights. We paid there and then by debit card. Five days later on check out, we were told we must pay an extra £150. The owner, said the receptionist that had charged us on arrival was just a "worker" and hadn't charged us enough. We felt we had no alternative but to pay the extra "rip-off". Also there was one tiny piece of soap and half a toilet roll for two people in the double room to last us the five days! Never again.

Joe Goodfellow. Ireland 00353 87 7765206

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

I'm sorry for the inconvenient, but when you call us the price was already quoted to you. On your check in you paid but you didn't mention to the receptionist that you already spoken with me and i gave you price,so she give you alternative accommodation which was wrong. In this case we have the right to charge you full price as agreed in our previous conversation. About the toilet paper and the soap, we always keep some spare near the reception,so if we miss to provide in the room you can take any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were 'upgraded' to this apparently 4-star guesthouse when our planned accomodation was double booked. We arrived to find the place very dated and in need of a lick of paint, which we don't really mind as long as it's clean and comfortable... but when we got into our room there was vomit in the toliet! Not a good first impression, so we complained, and to her credit the receptionist did clean it for us. In the morning however there were people waiting for breakfast for an hour while we waited for 20 minutes just for someone to come and take our order, and when nobody did we gave up.

We were actually willing to let the vomit go as an oversight at first, but with no breakfast and lots of other minor things (including dirty glasses in the room, card machine broken, unable to find someone at reception the night before, that sort of thing) we decided to ask for our money back, stating that clean rooms and breakfast are the very minimum we could expect. However, Mrs Banks, the owner, flatly refused to offer any money back to us. She then decided she didn't want to talk to us anymore, so walked off. Horrible woman. The receptionist was lovely and very sorry, but all she could do was keep passing our messages to Mrs Banks, and kept coming back with a refusual. Eventually, after about 30 minutes, we got a £5 refund! Mrs Banks' logic was that because they cleaned the sick, there was no problem. I put it to her that it shouldn't have been there in the first place, and that if you complained to a waiter that there was a fly in your soup, him then picking it out and saying "there, nothing to complain about now" doesn't really help.

In short: don't stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleyliving, Manager at Ashley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

I,m sorry you felt that way. You was staying in double room which is normally £75 and you have the special price of £45. When the receptionist come to your room to see what is the problem there was guest laid on the bed feeling ill.You explained that there is sick in the toilet and we rectified the problem straight away, if you was mentioned that you want to change your room we was happy to help you and offer you another one. When you check out we reduced the price further , i was in the middle of meeting so it was not possible to discuss with you all the matters, but we have staff capable to help you out with all questions and requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If you are expecting 5 star accommodation then this will disappoint, but if you want clean surroundings, good breakfast and comfy bed then you wont be disappointed. Stayed 2 nights for husbands birthday, Room 7 which was quite large and spacious, nice and quiet good sleep, somebody had badly marked the carpet which was obviously brand new which was a shame for the owner who was chatty and hospitable. Don't go if you don;t like dogs as the owner has a beautiful dog called Cindy who is soft as butter. 10 mins from centre ideally situated so you can leave the car, parking permits available.

Room Tip: ask for room on front of hotel seem to be the larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Hotel wasn't chosen by us (two females visiting a conference), as we were moved there because the previous hotel we were booked into had no en-suite attached to the room. On arrival the owner kindly moved her car to allow us a parking space. Good start to the stay I thought! When we arrived at the reception area, another lady was leaving due to her allergy to dogs, however this wasn't particularly an issue to us. The hotel corridors and stair wells are very dark and dismal and the door to the bedroom appeared to have been previously forced open and repaired with filler. It didn't feel very safe for a female staying in a room on her own and the doors didn't lock adequately and didn't have safety chains. The decor is definitely tired and in need of an uplift. We decided we couldn't stay there and went back to reception to return the keys. Prior to seeing the rooms we had agreed to stay 3 nights at a charge of £95 (double room) inclusive of breakfast, however when we stated we were leaving the owner declared that the organisation booking this on our behalf would be required to pay for all 3 nights. Although I can't comment on the fantastic breakfast that others have mentioned as we didn't stay there, I do believe that this B & B is expensive and overpriced in comparison to the other very nice hotels around The rooms were depressing and the bedroom had a dull, unclean, well worn saggy sofa in the corner which I would be very reluctant to sit on. This put me off the thought of sleeping in the bed. Our main concern is the standard of the accommodation compared with well known hotel chains which provide a better standard of accommodation for less money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank 1MJW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
5.1 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
265 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House Hotel

Address: 36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4 diamond AA Rac & ETB rated hotel, situated in a quiet tree lined street close to the Harrogate town centre. Snug bar has a selection of over 100 whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley House Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing