We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed - this hotel seems to be living on its past reputation”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointed - this hotel seems to be living on its past reputation”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Normally I use tripadviser to check out accommodation before booking, but on this occasion - a funeral - we had to make a quick decision and opted for the Old Swan Hotel. My reviews are usually positive, but sadly this hotel did not come up to expectations. We paid £103 for a double room and this did not feel like good value. The positives first:

The hotel has an excellent location within walking distance of all the best places to shop in Harrogate.
The car park is huge and free and we had no problems on returning to find a place.
The breakfast was first class. Well cooked, what we ordered and nicely presented. My special request for crispy bacon was correctly presented.
The staff were pleasant but not always effective.
We found a very pleasant small lounge by the side door - good to sit in and read the morning papers.

The downside: The rooom was small but adequate but not spotlessly clean. I rang 3 times over 4 hours to ask for a bed covering to be exchanged as there was blood on it. Whoever cleaned the room could not have failed to have seen the blood and should have removed it to be cleaned. The first time I complained resulted in no action. The second time a most polite receptionist told me she would have it dealt with within 5 minutes. She then went off duty and yet again nothing happened. An hour later my complaint did result in the offending cover being removed, and on our return that evening a clean one was in place.

The small shower had curved doors, and the casing was very poor - really dirty and needed power cleaning. Some of the grouting in the shower needed repointing and was grubby and using the shower was not an attractive proposition.

There was a gap between the top of the bed and the headboard which meant the pillows kept falling down the back of the bed during the night. The gap was caused by a boarded-in partition on the floor, presumably covering lighting wires.

There were dirty handmarks on the window sill and the carpet surrounds needed a good hoovering. The bedroom windows needed cleaning.

At breakfast the next morning we waited quite a while until someone noticed us to show us to a table. Staff were very busy and we were told that someone had not turned in for duty.

This hotel had a refurbishment in the last few years, but some of the public areas are in need of repainting. Doors are damaged with luggage hitting them, the lift was dirty and 'faded grandeur' seemed to be the order of the day.

I made my complaints in writing before leaving and have also completed a questionnaire from my booking agent, and I shall be interested to see if anyone responds.

Whilst hotels are fortunate to have lots of conference trade in Harrogate, they cannot be complacent about cleanliness and this hotel appeared to me to be understaffed where it mattered - in the cleaning of rooms and serving meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, I am sorry that not every aspect of your visit was satisfactory, please rest assured that I have made note of your comments and will ensure that the team continue to work to improve our facilities and services.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    565
    362
    171
    112
See reviews for
186
862
35
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

the staff in this hotel are brilliant and the large public areas - although need brightening up have some wonderful features. However, the double room we were allocated felt like we had been put in the attic, The furniture was dusty and it felt very depressing. We were particularly disappointed as this was the first time my husband and i had managed to have a break for three years and after looking at the photos on the website were really looking forward to a staying in a lovely room. We had to ask to have the pillows changed as they were extremely uncomfortable, which was done without question, we were told that other people had also asked - so it seems they need new pillows ! We handed in our comment card before leaving, hoping we could discuss when we paid, but nothing was mentioned ! I would like to say we would visit again, but would be very wary of which room we would get - it was definately not worth £119 and we feel we've been ripped off - do not stay in room 384 !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, thans for your recent review, I apologise that you found our facilities below standard and I will be reviewing the areas you mention to ensure we rectify any problems. Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to redeem your faith in the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel is comfortable, the setting is lovely and the staff were very pleasant. My only complaint is with the breakfast service. No complaints with the breakfast food, but the service was poor. On one occasion we had to wait 20 minutes for our order for tea and toast to be taken. We had a couple of other long waits, this was for no perceptible reason as the restaurant wasn't busy. It seems to be down to bad organisation. If the hotel could get this sorted I would say it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, thanks for your review, I am sorry that our breakfast service was poor on this occasion, as reviews on this site show we are all fallible and do make mistakes sometimes. I apologise that they incovenienced you as much as they did and hope we get the chance to redeem ourselves soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked a two night stay with our Tesco Clubcard vouchers and had asked for a double room. On arrival at reception I asked if we could have a twin room, as we had just spent three days in a double room at another hotel nearby and hadn’t realized how small a double was having been used to a king size at home.
We were given room 342, the furthest you could get from reception but well worth the trek! The room was large, well furnished and the bed was huge (two singles zipped together which we were told we could have made into separate beds but decided to leave them together). The bed was so comfortable it was the best nights’ sleep I’ve ever had in a hotel.
The bathroom was small, no bath, just a large shower cubicle with folding doors, but that suited us fine. We had a lovely view over the gardens at the back of the hotel and as it was very hot we left the windows wide open and never heard a sound.

There was a wedding on when we arrived and also two coach parties staying there so we couldn’t book an evening meal until 9pm on the first night so decided to eat out at a restaurant recommended by the hotel. This was a Chinese restaurant situated in the Royal Baths, beautiful but pricey!
We booked a table in the hotel for the next evening and the food was very nice and well presented. My only complaint was the service was a little slow, as a previous reviewer said, due to them setting the tables for breakfast.
Breakfasts were very good with freshly cooked food and fast service.
The hotel has a charming old fashioned feel to it and in a perfect position for visiting Harrogate.
All the staff were friendly and obliging and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear reviewer, many thanks for posting your comments on this site, we appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Room 356 was clean and bright. Bathroom the same. Bed comfortable We came to see Harrogate not to live in the room. Only constructional criticism would be for the staff in the restaurant to be given some leadership. We were told that they were very busy Saturday evening and that we could either eat at 8 or 8.30. Yes, they were busy but they were getting the tables ready for breakfast Sunday morning! Also, the head honcho might just have mentioned that it was a buffet as we entered Sunday morning. Too many of the girls were just wandering around seemingly trying to avoid eye contact. For goodness sake, give them a station. 5 or 6 tables for each waiter/waitress.

Perfect position for visiting Harrogate. Make sure you have some fish'n'ships at Graveleys.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridges82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your review, your comments are noted and we hope you come back again soon!
Regards and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked our trip with our tesco clubcard vouchers and weren t sure what to expect. The staff were very friendly and our room was very clean and the decor was in fitting with the hotel. On our first night we were waiting for the evening menu to come out and we did ask at reception a couple of times who said they were still waiting for it and to come back later, we came down for dinner at 730pm but when we spoke to the restuarant we were told we had to book and they didn t have atable until 9pm, we were a little disappointed but they did reccommend another restuarant, however we couldn t get in to that and decided to wait for the hotel meal at 9pm, the resturant manager Paul said he would fit us in asap and he seated us at 830, the food was amazing and the staff were very obliging. When we went back up to our room we found a bottle of wine on ice and a letter of apology!! excellent service all round both in the resturant and the staff in the bar.
Would reccommend staying here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear reviewer, thanks for posting your comments, I am sorry we did not make a great first impression but am pleased that your stay was enjoyable overall!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Booked for three nights for a birthday celebration, and everything went perfectly. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite - very spacious and clean with everything we needed, including bathrobes, slippers, bottled water, chocolates. Staff were friendly and helpful and we found the whole experience delightful. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Let them know if celebrating special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances_d123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for your review and your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing