We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad from start to finish” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The first problem i encountered was trying to book a room on a saturday evening, which apparently you can not do. I would have not booked after this experience but was attending a wedding at The Old Swan so was easier to stay there. There were 2 weddings on the same day and this meant the car park was very full and had to park on a ruble area at the back of the hotel. The only positive point was how helpful the porter was who went with my husband to collect our bags from the car. We went for a quiet drink in the hotel bar and was quite rudely told to use the bar in the wedding reception rather than the main hotel bar! We were stood waiting for ten minutes at breakfast before anyone noticed us and the service did not get any better was slow and had to repeatedly ask for things. The food was poor - the fried egg was swimming in a pool of oil and the toast was only half toasted! When we came to settle the bill we were told by a young man whose english was poor that our room rate was £10 more than we were told on the phone and what was on the room card which we were given on arrival which was overpiced at £100 and expected a better service for a hotel charging that amount.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am sorry that you found our facilities and service below par. It is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your disatisfaction at the time and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves however I have noted your comments and will be ensuring that we try not to repeat these errors.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    548
    353
    169
    109
See reviews for
180
835
33
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I had a one night stay this week and everything associated with the stay was of a high standard. The hotel has traditional decor but the rooms have been modernised. The receptionist was extremely efficient and friendly and set the standard for the rest of the stay. The room was large and there was a balance between the traditional element of the hotel and modern facilities. As part of our stay we received free afternoon tea which was a choice of sandwiches and scones. We booked dinner in advance with an allowance. Breakfast was also included in our stay. All staff we came into contact with were friendly and professional. The stay was excellent value for money. All in all, would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljr1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive review, it means a lot to the team who work hard to look after our customers. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great Location, near to the Town Centre with a large car park. Hotel prices a little on the steep side for me. The real negative though was the 'hairy' face cloth and 'stained' curtains ... not really 4star quality!

It is a Hotel with some charm as it's period features and surroundings lend themselves to what 'could' be an excellent romantic getaway ... however does need to 'fix' those little niggles especially as it's not a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have had an obvious re-furb ... seek those as a starter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, apologies that we did not meet our usual high standards on this occaision and that certain elements of your stay were unacceptable. Apologies once more and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had BB & Dinner & a room upgrade for £100, great value. The public rooms bar and restaurant were well maintained. Our room upgrade got us a suite , so we had breakfast in the room, very nice. The staff were friendly. The Hotel is very handy for the town centre, so no parking problems because the hotel has plenty of spaces.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEDFORD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your constructive comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Kippers, or smoked haddock with a properly poached egg for breakfast; well-maintained grounds to just wander around in, lots of parking; clean quiet rooms, fresh milk on demand and staff who smile and say "Hello" as if they mean it all make this a very good place to stay. The additional advantages of being in Harrogate (Bettys, the Stray, the Turkish Baths) and in the centre but on a quiet road, and Harrogate itself being in Yorkshire (pubs, markets, hills) are just a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased that your recent visit to Harrogate was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My partner and I love Harrogate and we normally stay at the Old Swan. We last stayed on 1st July. The staff are always helpful and friendly. The rooms are more than adequate, large, clean although sometimes a little hot at night. The bar and restaurant are fab. Very handy location to access Harrogate town centre and you can leave your car on the carpark after checkout, whilst piling on the pounds at Bettys t shop! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claretcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased that your experience met our usual high standards!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Having stayed in Harrogate over Christmas at a different hotel with a minute car park we were relieved to find no trouble parking in the Swan's huge car park. We arrived early but were welcomed warmly and told our room was ready. We had booked an executive room which I would not say was large (compared to our previous Harrogate hotel). However it was more than adequate for our needs and the important thing was that the beds and pillows were very comfortable. What a pleasure also to have photographs on the walls of real scenes instead of the 'modern unidentifiable blobs' alot of hotels seem to have nowadays. We would have like the tea tray and biscuits to be on the talble rather than in the wardrobe for us to get out and locate a socket. However, it was great to have a teapot, no other hotel we have stayed in has provided this, it's just been dunk a teabag in a cup, so top marks there. Loved the view over the garden and trees. I found opening the window very annoying, it took me a day to work out that I had to turn it 'inside out' for it to stay open. The bathroom was small and the one shelf over the sink was taken up with the hotels toiletries etc. A quick reorgnisation soon solved that problem. The shower was excellent, I could have stayed under it for ages, although we would have preferred a walk in shower to one over the bath, but that is purely personal, I expect some people prefer a bath and there certainly wasn't room for a vath and a separate shower.
The lounge and bar area was large and comfortable and service excellent. I thought the cocktails a little expensive and limited myself to the Agatha on the last evening, highly recommended.
I agree with comments regarding the restaurant, the staff were lovely and I could see that they were working very hard, but I think it would have helped them as well as the guests if as someone else has suggested, each member of staff was allocated to a set number of tables, particularly on very busy Saturday nights. The restaurant manager should supervise the staff and notice if some guests are not being attended to. May I also suggest that the hotel invests in some proper size wine glasses, not those small glasses, I don't like my red wine to the top of the glass. When I asked for a larger glass I was provided with one, a somewhat too large glass! The food was excellent and nicely presented. The porridge and boiled eggs I had on two morning were perfect.
There were a few other niggles but I have said enough and all in all we had a really enjoyable stay at the Old Swan and would most definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of your recent stay, I appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing