We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay, had a lovely time”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great stay, had a lovely time”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here at the beginning of August and had a great stay, everything from start to finish was brilliant - the porter who helped with luggage, reception staff and staff in the restaurant. The food was well presented and well cooked, great atmosphere and pleasant modern feeling suite

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescahowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your recent review of your stay in Harrogate, I am pleased that it was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    574
    367
    175
    115
See reviews for
190
873
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just returned after weekend aniversary break everything was fine exept our room,which was dissapointing mainly the view of a brick wall and a drain gully full of moss and mud,we reported this to reception who informed us there was nothing they could do about it.The bathroom was a joke had to walk sideways past the bath to reach the toilet (we are a slim couple) any larger people would have problems so be aware!. No doubt the response will be an apology from the manager which we should accept for these shortcomings from a four star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiestevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback, as you say the least that I can do is apologise for the shortcomings however if you would be kind enough to contact me I will be happy to discuss this matter further.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

lovely hotel clean and comfortable was very pleased with our room . excellent staff on reception and a very good first impression. however this was totally spoiled when we had our first dining room experience. the staff seemed to be untrained and disorganised, the food was unappetising and of very poor quality and every meal was served almost cold. when we complained to the manager we were given an apology but things did not improve. it is a shame that such an impressive hotel is let down in this way

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear reviewer, sorry that your experience was of mixed quality and standards, this clearly should not be the case and please rest assured that I will be investigating matters further to ensure we resolve any issues.
Thank you for highlighting these concerns and apologies once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

What a refreshing change from modern day hustle and bustle hotels.

Set back in its own luxurious, well maintained grounds with free parking and within easy walking distance to the town centre.

The staff are all very well trained, very polite and try to cater to your every need. Their Yorkshire breakfast is to die for and is freshly cooked to order so no more congealed egg yolks and cremated bacon and sausages!

Our room was a bit small but beautifully furnished and we had panoramic views over Harrogate. Breathtaking!

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weyayelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Harrogate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for four nights as part of a short organised break.
I arrived early....no problem!
I asked for a room with a view...no problem!
The hotel was full of old fashion character and first class service.
Excellent room, excellent meals and excellent service....nothing was too much trouble.
Everything worked and even the weather was SUNNY every day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter1950claret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your visit and the sun is still shining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

no complaints as to food and room when i booked for this hotel i did mention that it was a special treat being our 59 wedding anniversary but the reception did not know anything about this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay - Happy Anniversary again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We used the Old Swan Hotel for the world's largest crime fiction festival; the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival. Every bedroom & function room was used and with 9000 tickets sold, managing lunches, tea & coffee options and general leisure services was a significant challenge that posed no issue for the staff at the Old Swan. Fantastic feedback from all of our guests & the beautiful outside spaces were an added benefit to the high-quality and well serviced rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonCanavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing