We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be coming back!”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We won't be coming back!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stopped in this hotel in March 2012 and were pleasantly surprised by its excellent location close to the town centre. Our room was on the top floor and very pleasant, once we were used to the creaking floorboards. However the breakfast was without doubt the worst we have ever had anywhere in the world. The scambled egg was as hard as a rock, the poached egg would have made a satisfactory golf ball and mushrooms were full of grit and nearly broke my tooth. Sent both our breakfasts back but couldn't face a replacement. Hotel wrote to apologise but we would not recommend this hotel to anyone else without reassurance that the breakfast chef had been replaced. Alternatively you could eat breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    574
    367
    175
    115
See reviews for
190
873
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is large, somewhat rambling with lots of corridors and odd shaped rooms (to be expected given its age) but we could not fault the cleanliness and decor of both our bedroom, and bathroom (both recently redecorated), the service by the staff and the quality of the food. Reading some earlier reviews I do wonder what people expect.
True the lift was out of order when we arrived but we were offered use of the service lift if this was a problem. I had phoned, prior to my visit, to ask if I could take my own duvet as I have an allergy to some blankets. This not only proved not to be a problem but duvets were provided by the hotel for us. Excellent service,
We enjoyed ourselves and would stay agin at this hotel if in Harrogate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The White swan is a really beautiful hotel. The staff are excellent (extremely polite and efficient) and the breakfast was lovely. Our room, and bathroom, was immaculate. The only thing was the heat - I think we must have been over the boiler room and there was no air con!

The hotel is in a great location - it was five minutes walk to the shops, bars and the Turkish Baths 9which is also worth a try).

We stayed for the weekend but wish we could have stayed longer. I will definitely chose this hotel again if we come back to Harrogate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncletravelingmatt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We had been warmly recommended The Old Swan and that is why we selected there to stay. The hotel is quite old fashioned - clean and comfortable but slightly tired. My room was small with an awkwardly designed bathroom. The lift was out of order. The breakfast was fine although nothing special. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for a two night stay for my friends wedding and can I just say that we were very impressed, the hotel is very grand however slightly worn in places however this was more than compensated for by the exceptional service provided by the manager graham and his team. Graham was flawless in his running of the event and despite the number of strange requests we kept throwing at him throughout the day he really did come up with the results. Graham is a real gem and I know the bride and groom are both thrilled with his services, many thanks

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hants1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My review is based on a two night stay. This is a visually pleasing hotel from the outside: imposing, neat, grand but homely.

Entrance neat, clean, welcoming, pleasing. An understated welcome, polite staff, left to take selves to room on 3rd floor using an old lift with floor inicators that didn't work. Corridors very tired and in dire need of painting and repair in places. Room adequate and clean (apart from the fact the carpet had not been hoovered since the last guest). A large water stain from the top of the ceiling to the top of the window. Large bathroom with linen but no face cloth. No robe in wardrobe. Tea making facilities and LCD TV in room. When we emerged from our room to go downstairs, the lift was out of service.

The lift remained out of service throughout our stay, from the Thursday afternoon until Friday morning. The stairs were very steep and almost impossible for some guests to manage.

Staff in bar lounge and elsewhere - as well as housekeeping - very polite and accommodating. Met friends 4 friends for dinner which was fine and reasonably costed (though the vegetables were on more on the side of pingable from your fork than al dente). Slept quite well though hotel too clautrophobically hot (a fact rehearsed at breakfast by many guests and our friends). So much for the first day.

Breakfast the next morning showed a lot of choice and for the price was excellent. Again very efficient and polite staff.

Having decided to eat-on again for dinner the second evening, was where things really began to crumble. I had a long (about 5") dark hair in my meal and drew it quietly to the attention of the waitress. Profuse apology followed by the duty restaurant manager for the evening saying no-one could understand the hair as no one in the kitchen had long dark hair. (I am not dark haired and my partner has very short hair). Almost an implication from the manager that it had been planted! He offered to give me half a bottle of wine. Table next to us waited 3/4 an hour for meal to come to table, and when it did, it came without the starters having been served. 10 minutes later their starters arrived. 30 minutes after that, they got their main course back again. Another couple sitting behind us had ordered no starter but sat at least 30 minutes before their meals came out, only to be taken back to the kitchen by a confused waiter, who then brought them back out 5 minutes later after another waitress sorted out the confusion.

The night had strong winds and heavy rain and we were woken to the sound of loud dripping, which I at first thought was the central heating firing up. It was infact a bad leak from the top of the ceiling which met the roof, water dripping fast and heavily into the room and soaking everything. It was happening in the same spot where we had noticed the stained walls the night before.

Had the hair incident not happened and had the restaurant manager been more amenable to the issue, and had there been no water flooding into the room, and had the lift been working, and had the restaurant on the last evening not been in total chaos, then this review would have scored four out of five. We had been talking to each other about coming back, because of the good service from all the staff (bar one). But events from the secong restaurant dinner onwards spoiled that decisively. No return to this placee. I have tried to be very fair in my review.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jazzer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Stowmarket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A delightful hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our bedroom was the quietest hotel bedroom we have ever stayed in,the beds were comfy and the en suite and bedroom were nice and clean.
Only complaint with the room was that it was very hot, heating not on but the room still very warm . My husband enjoyed his cooked breakfasts and we both enjoyed our afternoon tea in the bar or in the garden.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your feedback, I apologise if it was too warm for you, it is difficult with such unpredictable weather to satisfy everyone however I am glad you enjoyed your stay over all! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing