We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once again a relaxing weekend”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was our third stay at The Old Swan and once again we can not fault this wonderful old hotel which is full of old charm and history, its staff are lovely and hard working. For those who are looking for a new hotel with plastic window frames, none creeky floors, level floors and the new build feel go somewhere else as this hotel has wooden window frames and creeky floors and major charactor, the clue is in the name "The OLD Swan Hotel". If you like the old feel, the old style comfort and you like warm and friendly people this is the hotel for you. We would like to thank the staff who worked damn hard at breakfast time the weekend that we stayed (26th-29th oct 2012) and all bar a few snobby impatience people everybody gave good coments and praised the staff for their hard work.

Room Tip: if you are a tall or valuptous person you would be more comfortable in an executive double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a dbb rate. We had a 5 week old baby with us and the staff couldn't have done more to help us. From getting a room upgrade to a suite, to lugging our luggage for us, the staff really are one of the hotels best assets! We have stated in a few of the Classic Lodge hotels now and would definitely recommend them - plus their offers are brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoruPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked this hotel as it was one of a few that had rooms available for the weekend at short notice. What a find. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the staff were better than I have encountered in any hotel. I travelled with my elderly mother and they treated her with courtesy and respect. They could not do enough to help.
In the evening we chose to have a bar meal rather than eat in the dining room. The food was very good and even though the hotel was very busy on the Friday night, there was no delay. There was a wide variety of options for breakfast and again the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaslaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I recently stayed here as part of a wedding party. I had been booked in as part of the wedding party for a premium room. On arrival out room was not ready ( our fault we were early) the receptionist kindly offered us the use of a single room to shower and change and would contact us as soon as our room was ready! We changed in a fairly good sizes single room and then transfered to what was supposed to be our premium double! The bed was no bigger than the single and the room was tiny with no light! The room overlooked the hotel roof so was very poor natural light and no view!!! The shower failed to drain so when showering I got a mini footbath too!!! The room was stifling and the window didn't open to allow any fresh cool air!! All this for a whopping 95 pounds!!!! If I'd of been asked to pay its worth I'd have paid 50 at most having known the quality was so poor I'd of chosen a cheaper neighboring hotel . After this the bar was often left unmanned and there was no draft soft drinks so when ordering 2 drinks the coke was a full size bottle at 2 pounds and the lemonade was poured from a flat bottle of r whites!!! Such a shame for such a magnificent building!!! I wouldn't stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Togtog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We attended this hotel for a conference. Having read the reviews on TA I was not looking forward to it at all. We arrived and parked easily in the enormous free car park. We entered through a side door which made the walk much shorter. The corridors were carpetted in a style suitable for this type of hotel, the public rooms were well decorated with large soft sofas and a roaring fire and the reception staff were friendly. This is a traditional hotel and lives within the confines of its design and age, the lift is ancient and cranks its way up the old stairwell space, but that does add to its charm. We had what appeared to be a renovated room, but unfortunately the windows were not renovated, presumably it is listed and the wind did whistle in, but we had a big hot radiator which made up for it. The bed dipped in the middle and there was a blanket rather than a quilt, but it was reasonably quiet and we slept well There were plenty of lights in the room, my usual whinge is that I can't see to get ready unless I stand at the bathroom sink, and we had a big flat screen tv with loads of channels.
I found the hotel staff in general to be helpful but confused, loads of young staff who didn't know where anything was. There was no sweetener on the breakfast table and they could not provide Earl Grey Tea ( I found the tea bags under the dining room reception desk myself).
The best think about the hotel was the location, a very easy walk into town.
I could see people being disappointed if they had high expections, it's a big faulty towers like on a big scale, but if I got a good deal and wanted to spend a night in Harrogate I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated one with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at The Old Swan for four nights bed, breakfast & evening meal, the food was excellent, good choices, plenty of it.
Warm open fires in appropriate communual areas which made a great welcome, & a pleasure to relax by in the evenings.
Staff were curteous and cheerful, ready to help any time.
Beds were comfortable, our room for 2 was huge, but quiet, water was hot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon along with our party of ten to attend the Murder, Mystery weekend. We have to say that this was one of the best weekends we have ever spent. The staff, the food, the rooms - everything was perfect. The Murder, Mystery aspect of the trip hosted by 'It's Murder' was excellent entertainment providing us with so much he actors were brillant and the hotel waitresses were very attentive.

Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A room at the front has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stringers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review and attending the Murder Mystery event. The hotel is renown for the Murder Mystery nights, in fact they used to feature as a regular prize on the 'Sale of the Century' game show remember that one....Nicholas Parsons, from Norwich - its the quiz of the week, etc...

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon

PS.Our November MM event is full but we still have some space at the 'Mistletoe Murders' Christmas event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing