We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stop”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stop”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Whilst on business I stayed here with an ailing partner (Chewsy) who struggled to stay warm due to the snow. The bar was cold and Chewsy couldn't get warm due to her illness (sore tummy). To be fair to the hotel they saw her shaking and provided a portable radiator in order to make her more comfortable which helped so we stayed for two drinks. They also gave her free pretzels. After the drink Chewsy had to find her way around a maize of corridors to her room which wasn't as easy to find as we thought it would be and because the building was cold Chewsy felt cold also. This was the same vice versa finding the bar again. We were encouraged to book a table for tea even though there was only 5 couples in the massive dining room. Tea was fine but when we went for another quick drink in the bar there was no bar man so we didn't bother (could have done with some more free pretzels because there wasn't a lot of tea for the price). The corridors were a little noisy at sleep time and my bed was too small but there was plenty of space in the car park. Breakfast was fine but wasn't very big but by this time Chewsy was feeling better so it didn't matter.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    566
    362
    172
    112
See reviews for
186
863
35
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at the Old Swan for a party week end and were not disappointed. Yes, the hotel is not modern, but it has a real old world style about it. Our room was a good size, clean and very comfortable and was on the first floor.We had a brilliant time at the party, with live music, good food and even wine and beer included on the table, which was a nice touch. Breakfast in the dining room was really good. I commented to my husband that it was like being on thr Titanic with the decor and the entire roof being of stained glass and later found out that the wood pannelling in the dining room was from the Titanic's sister ship! The staff were very helpful and we plan to return to sample one of their Murder Mystery week ends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We are frequent visitors to Harrogate and have stayed in several hotels in the city centre, but none as disappointing as The Old Swan. Having found our way via a very cranky lift to one of the upper floors and through a maze of corridors we found our room which was inadequately heated for the winter's day we were there (we eventually found the radiator in a cupboard under the cold and draughty window!). The lighting was very dim we could not see to read and worse still, the tiny and very tired en-suite had only a small shower with the handbasin located under a very draughty window with the mirror on the adjacent wall over the loo!! Generally the service was slow (45 minutes to get a sandwich when there were only a few other people in the lounge). Breakfast was an experience too, with everything pre-cooked, although brought from the kitchen as a plated meal. The tomatoes looked shrivelled, the eggs hard and rubbery and the bacon shattered when you put a fork in it!! The hotel trades extensively on its ties to Agatha Christie, well in our opinion,how this hotel can charge what it does for the service and facilities it provides would be a good plot for one of her mysteries!

Room Tip: Unable to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeclgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel was probably very grand when it opened, unfortunately the owners have not invested at the necessary rate and time has not been kind. The old charm has now dissipated into history, the rooms are large, old fashioned, but clean. The reception is OK but not professional.

The breakfast was good but not great, the cost was low, I was on business and feel Wi Fi should be included in the rate.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PhilKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Swan several times over recent years, sometimes with my wife on a weekend break and more often as part of a large party for banquet/conference events. It is not one of the new breed of minimalist bright hotels rather being steeped in wood panelled history. Given that its main claim to fame is as the the secret hideaway of authoress Agatha Christie it is not surprising that the hotel clings on to that period in looks and feel.

The restaurant is large and in my opinion can feel a little lacking in atmosphere unless there are a good number of diners in. One of the things worth a look in the restaurant is the most incredible ceiling.

Staff throughout are generally very efficient and friendly and the food/drink served in the hotel is at worst average and can be very good. Overall providing that you accept that it is not a modern hotel it is a good hotel in an excellent location.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntb146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went in a group of 12 couples for a xmas party weekend, There is ample car parking,the check in was first class as were the rooms.The breakfast was excellent all that you need in a buffet.The xmas party meal was excellent well served and very tasty,there was a local group on for the entertainment plus a disco,and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening.The location is perfect for a short stroll into the town centre,will be returning at sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We had twelve rooms and everyone was happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel was well above average on most counts but there were a few glitches. The freshly prepared breakfasts were much appreciated apart from the disappointing kipper which was actually just a kipper fillet. At a supplement of £3.50 a bit of a rip off.

The bedrooms were well appointed and the adjoining bathroom had the most efficient bath taps I have ever seen.

The food over the New Year period at dinner was adequate but from the 3rd Jan there was a marked improvement and the food was 1st class.

The major drawback however was the bar. Staff tried very hard but were at times a bit slow. No angostura bitters to allow them to prepare or actually not prepare a Champagne cocktail I felt was not the standard expected of. 4 star hotel. They also had no Creme de Menthe not really an unusual liqueur.

Overall a good spot to to stay by virtue of its location and room quality despite my minor complaints.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing