We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base for Harrogate.”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Good Base for Harrogate.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I booked a two night break to celebrate my wife's 'special' birthday and the hotel was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had booked an Executive Double and it was excellent - lots of space to spread out. Only moan was the exhorbitant charge for Wi-Fi, £5 an hour. Surely nowadays this should be complimentary.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    573
    367
    175
    115
See reviews for
190
872
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just had a short working stay at the Old Swan and, as usual, it was a great stay. The hotel has character; public and bedrooms are interesting and comfortable. I was in a suite above the main entrance and it is very well equipped with two large rooms as well as bathroom, so lots of room to spread out. It was a bit chilly, however.

Food is good and service is friendly, if slightly wacky (but in the nicest possible way). I love Harrogate and the hotel is close to lots of interesting things to do including some good restaurants, not to mention Betty's.

Room Tip: Front of hotel more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a two night "winter warmer" break and upgraded to a superior room. The room was spacious and well appointed. Complimentary dressing gown and slippers was a nice touch. There was also a bottle of Prosecco. The staff were outstanding; welcolming, friendly, helpful and efficient. Our meals were all excellent with a good choice. The hotel has a warm confortable feel. We have stayed before and look forward to returning again. Only negative is the noise you get from creaking floorboards of the room above

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_deller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Nice hotel.

Lovely old building, good location, clean and comfortable. The age gives the place character, uneven floorboards, sash windows, open wood fires... It is in need of a tidy up however, bit of new carpet, paint, would do the place wonders. It's not cheap and for the money I'd expect a little more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed here for work just for one night as I had a good offer and I was not overly impressed.
Check in process was fine and straight forward and the front desk staff polite but when I got to the room it was freezing! The old sash windows let in a lot of air and there was always a draught present. The heating in the room hadn’t been turned on and it was only a small radiator, right by the window, so the curtains had to be closed for any heat to get into the room.
The room needed attention. There were marks on the wall, wall paper coming away from the wall and cracks from the paint in the ceiling. I was beginning to think that because I had a cheaper than usual deal, I got put in a below par room.
The bed was 2 singles pushed together and not actually clipped together as when I sat on them, they came apart. Mattress soft but not too bad.
Bathroom is massive! Its almost a waste of space. They could have utilised better and the piping from the toilet was exposed, when it should have been covered and it looked like a tumble dryer hose.
I went in after a night out and couldn’t get back in the door. Obviously my key card hadn’t been registered for the front door. I did bring this up upon check out and wasn’t offered any get apologies for any inconvenience for standing outside in the freezing cold for 20 minutes at 2.30am!
Breakfast was a sorry affair. There was no sense of urgency and no one to greet you on the door as you walk in. Staff were polite and friendly although there were people waiting by the door without being greeted or acknowledged. When a table did become available the were beckoned over from the back of the room, instead of being walked up to, greeted and taken to their table. The breakfast itself was just OK...nothing special or fancy.

Overall....Nothing special at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

First impressions of the hotel were good although the corridors leading to the bedrooms could have been tidied up a bit, the paintwork had seen better days. We had a suite which was lovely, separate sitting room and large bathroom with roll top bath. Food was very good and service was excellent. The only problem is the lack of soundproofing between rooms. The people above us got up every morning at 6 and then spent 2 hours walking round the room which had very squeaky floor boards, we could hear everything, even their kettle boiling. In spite of this, I would still go back because everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Lovely old building and lots of history. Rooms clean and spacious. Needs a fortune spending on it to modernise it.
Parking is plentiful and town centre minutes walk away. A great base. Food is getting better also.
There are better hotels in town, but this works well for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing