We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and class”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August.
I upgraded the room to an executive,,which for £20 extra a night, all we got extra was a small box of 6 Belgian CHOCS on the 1st night and bath robes for the duration of our stay together with disposable slippers, not really worth the upgrade, however, the room was comfortable and nicely furnished.
The staff here are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble, they are polite and deal with any questions or queries with respect and punctuality. Even the housekeeping staff are lovely - we asked for a fan to be placed in out room as it was very warm and the windows don't open too much and it was there on our return for our day out.
The restaurant food was excellent, cannot fault the food or service, except for breakfast on the first morning, we chose to have the full English - as you do when you don't have to cook it yourself, my egg wasn't runny and there was no fried bread on the plate ( this part of the breakfast is not a self service) however, the following mornings everything was fine and I did ask for a runny egg which was provided.
The evening meals were faultless, beautifully cooked and presented and tasted excellent. The staff were great too, and became more friendly with each time they saw you.
We fully enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend to anyone wishing to have a quality break in this beautiful area

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback - great title by the way! Glad you enjoyed your stay, spread the word and we look forward to your next stay.
Thanks and regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

A murder mystery weekend for a birthday celebration. Good food, good service and beautiful hotel. Would stay there again no problem. Do go for the murder mystery, it is so professional, interesting and well conceived. The actors are a joy!!!!!

Room Tip: Children and pool are not necessary for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heronbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, thanks for your review and recommendation for the hotel and the Murder Mystery event - I hope you guessed who did it!
Hopefully see you again soon
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel has ample parking and is a magnificant building well situated for touring Harrogate.. We stayed there for a murder mystery weekend which was absolutely brilliant. On the first night we suffered from loud music until 12.30am and a really dirty glass had been put on the table in the room used for the event. On the Sunday morning it was difficult to find a clean glass for a fruit juice at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed the Morder Mystery - they are great fun - apologies about the poor glass condition you mention.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful, historic hotel ideally situated just on the edge of Harrogate for a very special anniversary. The hotel and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the ambience of this lovely old hotel was wonderful and the setting in acres of green lawn was beautiful. The hotel had very kindly upgraded us to a suite on the top floor - unfortunately the heat was oppressive in the unseasonably warm weather and the old sash windows only opened a few inches ... no air conditioning, but we did procure a fan for our second night which helped! Everything was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had recently been renovated. Excellent service but could do with some more mod cons!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, many thanks for your constructive feedback, we do not advertise that we have air conditioning but sorry you were a bit disappointed and thanks for your other kind comments.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wonderfully central, lots of parking. Good sized double room, the bed was very comfortable.Large bathroom with powerful shower. The hotel was full but no area felt crowded. Looking forward to a return visit for my nephews wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear 'girls', thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very nice hotel situated very near to the main town, we had a on suite bathroom but there was no extractor in the room and it turned into a steam room. The breakfast room is brillent its like going back 100 years and thats just the staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for your interesting comments and apologies for any inconvenience. All of our bathrooms have some form of ventilation - I will be investigating your comments.
Thanks
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Old Swan was obviously once a great hotel that has now faded somewhat. The main dining room is magnificent with a wonderful glass lantern ceiling but to restore it to full glory would take a lot of money!
My room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom had been sort of refurbished with new tiling but with no furnishings, blinds etc. The feeling is that things have been done on a limited budget.
On a positive note the staff were very helpful and the man at reception personally came to help when I had a key problem on arrival.
Breakfast was disappointing though, poorly cooked sausages and dry bacon.
The majority of guests at breakfast summed things up, holidaying pensioners and BT engineers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear reviewer, sorry your stay was not good enough, I appreciate your feedback and will continue working to improve. We are currently redecorating and are continually striving to maintain and improve the hotels condition and service levels.
Apologies once more
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing