We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary Stay Well Worth Staying.”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Scunthoror
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary Stay Well Worth Staying.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We treated ourselves to a stay at the Old Swan and we were impressed with everything.
We were given a suite which included a sitting room and a big bathroom with roll top bath etc.
The staff left us a card and box of chocs.
We had dressing gowns and slippers provided.
The part of the hotel we were in was quiet. You could hear people walking in the room above but it was not an issue for us.
We enjoy the breakfasts we had. The selection could not have been beaten, choice was excellent.
Hotel location is great for the town centre and the ample parking is a bonus in Harrogate.
All in all we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and the team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Congratulations on your anniversary and I hope we will see you again soon.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    582
    385
    182
    118
See reviews for
197
895
37
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent the weekend with friends to celebrate a special birthday. Everything about the hotel was fantastic - the staff were extremely helpful, the food delicious and the room excellent. The attention to detail within the room was outstanding. Thank you to all for making it such a great weekend. Would definitely recommend to family and friends for a break in the Harrogate/Dales area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Agatha suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break in Harrogate. The chefs and the team in housekeeping are chuffed that you praised their hard efforts and we look forward to welcoming you (and your friends!) back soon.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had our wedding here on 27.09.2013 and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. The staff are amazing and so helpful, especially Jessica and Jamie. Nothing was a problem for them and they made myself and all of our guests feel very welcome.

They made sure my day ran as smoothly as possible and even helped find me a ring when my husband forgot the wedding bands! Which I couldn't thank Jamie enough for. The day ran perfectly and all my guests had the most amazing time.

The venue is beautiful and has so much character and charm. The food is beautiful too. It's in a perfect location, only a 5 minute walk from Harrogate Centre.

Overall, the venue is wonderful and the staff there are so helpful and polite. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie__10388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing our hotel as the venue for your reception!

Both Jessica and Jamie are really pleased that you enjoyed your special day - hopefully you have forgiven your new husband for forgetting the rings by now!! and I am pleased to hear that Jamie came to the rescue!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned home after our 3 night stay at the Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, the staff where friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location and handy to the shops. The rooms where spacious, very clean and the beds where comfortable. Plenty of car parking available at the hotel which was good as we where travelling in a coach We will definitely make a return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive review, your group were very welcome and we look forward to the next time....Christmas shopping maybe?!
Thanks again
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

After staying and eating in the hotel 3 years ago I suggested to my husband that we eat here on our weekend in Harrogate. We were not disappointed by the grandeur of the dining room. The food was excellent with amazing flavours. The portions of the starter were a little small but all in all a very good meal in lovely surroundings. Service good-attentive without being intrusive. Try it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, I hope it won't be as long till your next visit! Thanks for the recommendation.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed overnight with a group of friends for Jons 50th
Excellant hotel with splendid food nothing too much trouble for the staff , very welcoming and accommodating , would definitely return will watch out for the murder mystery weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear reviewer, glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review and hopefully see again soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights early October. The room furnishings are fine but some of the common areas of the hotel are in need of updating as are the window surrounds. The hotel is in a great location for the centre of Harrogate and has adequate parking if you want to use a car to visit the surrounding area. All told we had a nice stay and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clark249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear reviewer, many thanks for posting your review and constructive comment.

We are currently redecorating all of our bedroom corridors, public areas and external window frames as part of our ongoing investment in to maintaining the condition of the hotel. We also shall shortly be replacing some old bedroom windows with new as part of the same project.

Thanks again
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing