We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
NOTTINGHAm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Thank you for a very nice overnight stay. Friendly staff and excellent value for money. Situated just a few minutes walk from the town center, with it shops restaurants and bars.
Some parts of the hotel are a little tired but you can see that the management are attending to this and making improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for you positive comments, as you say the Old Swan hotel is perfectly located near the town centre but is also far enough away from the hustle and bustle to provide a peaceful break.

Thank you also for noting our ongoing improvement activities, we are currently painting the external woodwork and pipework plus all of the corridor areas inside the hotel. We are also planning several improvements in our bedrooms in the next few months.

Thanks again

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    548
    353
    169
    109
See reviews for
181
835
33
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

we have just stayed for 4 nights at the old swan hotel Harrogate,we were part of a coach party, our cases were taken of the coach, bought to our room,the room we were allogated,was not to our satisfaction,room 190 not much room between the bedside table & the wardrobe, to get to the bathroom,shower over the bath,toilet behind a partition,& it was a long walk through lots of doors, from the lift. My husband phoned reception they obliged us with another room,331, to which someone fetched us & took us to the room,2 floors up, out of the lift, through 1 door, there it was,roomy, walk in shower,very nice, our cases were redirected,very well organised,resturant staff,very nice,nothing to much trouble, food very good,nice bar to sit & relax,with an after meal drink,there is nothing wrong with the resturant decor,after all it it a very old building that has character.

Room Tip: if you are not to good at walking, room 331 or there about is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Old Swan hotel.

We have many different types of room so it is always worth asking to move if something is not quite right and we are keen to ensure guests are comfortable during their stay.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I was greeted with outstanding customer service at reception and that level of service continued throughout my stay, the breakfast has even got better which was great before but outstanding presentation now, many thanks

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, your positive is much appreciated by the team and I and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel could do with a serious make over. The doors are tatty, the chairs in the restaurant re also tatty, the décor in the restaurant is insipid and does not do the room justice. The room was OK but needed more than to pictures over the bed. A couple of more pictures would make it more comfortable looking. A good dust would also be helpful, the bedside tables were thick with dust and all the light fittings had not been dusted in some time. The sink in the bathroom was too small and the taps too big so it was near impossible to wash or shave. The water did not go down the plughole very quickly so there was serious danger of overflowing when the tap was run. The curtains are insipid and the stripy carpet made your eyes go funny. The room could be so much better for just some minor touches to make it feel more in keeping with the building and it's heritage.

I had to ask for a lean wine glass and clean cutlery in the restaurant. The staff did not seem to be sure of which table was being served as we were presented with pate before we had even ordered, and the wine we ordered was taken to another table first.

The food was OK but not brilliant and lacks vegetables- I had a tiny piece of pork loin with allegedly chorizo potato ( didn't find any chorizo and there was certainly no taste of chorizo!) it had three bits of apple and that was it for £20! At least one vegetable would have given it colour and make t more of a dish.

Breakfast was disorganised with lots of tables in need of clearing. Despite asking for a runny egg and making a point of it, I received an only just runny egg, the coffee was cold and we had to ask for some more and specify hot coffee. I had to hunt around the other table for jam pots and sauces for the rather skinny ( and apologies for upsetting Yorkshire people- I am from Yorkshire stock myself) Yorkshire breakfast that confirms the generally held opinion of Yorkshire people being tight! Hardly a hearty breakfast for a good day's adventure. It apparently costs £14.95 unless included in the room price- you would be better off going to any of the local cafe's and tea rooms!

The staff also looked untidy, shirts hanging out, long hair left down- unacceptable in a food service environment!

I was disappointed that the hotel did not live up to expectations but I have been in much better quality 3 star hotels and overall not worth the money.

Some small attentions to detail would vastly improve this tired and unloved hotel. It is definitely in the faded glory category

It is however in a good central location and I would go back if I was sure the details had been addressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for posting your constructive comments and I apologise that your stay was below par.

I have noted your feedback and will be reviewing it with the relevant departments in the hotel. I am especially disappointed to read of poor housekeeping & attention to detail and am sorry that you have left with a poor impression of the hotel.

Your review does not mention whether you discussed your disappointment prior to your departure however I would welcome the opportunity to do so if you could please contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a business trip. The first room I was given was of a reasonable standard, however it had an internal connecting door, which isn't good as a single guest. I was unfortunately awoken in the night due to the noise of the TV next door, and had to be moved. The night receptionist was excellent, and gave me a temporary room for that night. I was then given a further room the next morning, and have to say what a disappointment. It was dull, drab, worn out and bleak, not good when I had to move because of their first room. It would have been nice if there had been a goodwill gesture of a slightly better room than the one I had to leave, but to be given a worse one wasn't good.

The bar was ok, nothing more than than. The bar menu was limited, over priced and nothing special. The breakfast was an adventure each morning. If you arrive early, before 7.30, there's a chance that you'll be served promptly, and that your breakfast will arrive as you request. Any later, forget it!! The staff got confused, were slow to respond, and were confused and forgot even the slightest request.

There are so many hotels to choose from in this lovely Northern town, I certainly would recommend a good look on tripadvisor before making a final decision about where to stay. Whilst I know there will be mixed reviews, its good to see what they are saying, as this hotel has a good reputation locally, but the little bits of detail and attention let it down for me.

Room Tip: The final room I was allocated was on the top floor, it might be best to avoid them as it was very d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay and I am sorry that your visit was not entirely satisfactory.

I apologise that you were not impressed by the bedrooms you were allocated, all of our bedrooms are decorated and furnished in the same designs although as the building dates back to 1840 all of our bedrooms are different in terms of size and configuration.

Sorry that you left the hotel disappointed with our attention to detail and hopefully you will give us the chance to redeem your faith at some stage in the future.

Thank you for your comments

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our party of seven really enjoyed our Murder Mystery weekend at The Old Swan, end of September. Rooms were comfortable, staff extremely co-operative and friendly and all of us much preferred a hotel of character rather than a modern anonymous 'box'. Organization and timing of the Murder Mystery was good and worked well. Dinner was on the better side of good, and the breakfasts were excellent. Decent parking and a great location for exploring Harrogate, we would certainly visit again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threex3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear reviewer, many thanks for your positive review and recommendation, glad you enjoyed the Murder Mystery event, we will be releasing the 2014 dates soon so hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthoror
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We treated ourselves to a stay at the Old Swan and we were impressed with everything.
We were given a suite which included a sitting room and a big bathroom with roll top bath etc.
The staff left us a card and box of chocs.
We had dressing gowns and slippers provided.
The part of the hotel we were in was quiet. You could hear people walking in the room above but it was not an issue for us.
We enjoy the breakfasts we had. The selection could not have been beaten, choice was excellent.
Hotel location is great for the town centre and the ample parking is a bonus in Harrogate.
All in all we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyH332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and the team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Congratulations on your anniversary and I hope we will see you again soon.
Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing