We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,848)
Filter reviews
1,848 results
Traveller rating
465
635
416
197
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
635
416
197
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christieafternoon teamurder mysteryevening mealtown centrecream teatraditional hotellovely hotelbottle of proseccosconesold buildingself servicelarge bathroomvalley gardensenjoyable staytwo night stayfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 1,848 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went to the Old Swan for Afternoon Tea at £15.25 each. When I booked and again when we arrived I was greeting with 'do you have a voucher?' we didn't but this left us feeling like either we had missed out or rather that people with a voucher might get a lesser service.

Staff were polite. Tea unremarkable. Bread on sandwiches slightly hard and a stingy portion. Macaroons and biscuits were soft. Scones good.

The room was the bar, pleasant enough but felt it was a catch all room to sweep up people for varying reasons, an anti room for functions etc.

All in all it was no where near as special as I had hoped.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellyBoro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback on your afternoon tea visit, I am sorry that it was inconsistent and that the experience was less than you felt you paid for.

Thanks again for sharing your comments and I will be monitoring this area to ensure that normal service is resumed.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, arriving Friday night to a nice big old fashioned looking hotel and plenty of car parking.

Our room wasn't particularly big, but was fine for us although there was very little drawer space for clothes. There were shelves inside the wardrobe but they were thick in dust, as was the hairdryer stored there, so we ended up leaving our things in the suitcase.

Other reviewers have mentioned not having duvets. I have no problem with sheets / blankets but the way the bed was made, the blanket only came half way up the bed so you had to untuck everything and we ended up fighting over the bedding. Extra blankets really should have been provided given that it was December and the hotel turn the radiators off overnight; we were really quite cold in bed. Having said that, we slept well enough, apart from being woken by noisy guests passing the room a few times.

The waiting on staff at breakfast were nice and friendly. Cooked breakfast on Saturday was brought through from the kitchen but my scrambled egg was cold, and the rest of it had a bit of a skin as if it had been put in the oven to keep warm. Not very appetizing. Sunday's was a buffet which I don't usually prefer, but at least this all looked freshly cooked and was warm. The prepared fresh fruit was lovely but beware the tea which was so strong it tasted stewed both days and I couldn't drink it. Some of the chairs were quite badly stained too.

After xmas shopping on Saturday we decided to return to the hotel to drop off our shopping at 2pm and treat ourselves to lunch and a glass of wine in the bar, only to find that the bar area was full of wedding guests sipping their pimms and there was no room for us. On asking at reception (there was no one on the bar), we were offered the option of sitting in a bare side room full of half assembled tables or an hours wait until the wedding guests went through to lunch. I know that weddings are a big part of hotel trade, but they shouldn't prevent other guests from using facilities such as the bar.

Neither option was exactly appealing. We considered room service but the room still hadn't been made up and so we ended up going out in the rain again, not the relaxing treat that we had in mind.

In the end, we did get our nice lunch, but no thanks to the hotel; we had it in the Bell Tavern which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback, I apologise that you experienced a number of issues and I will be using your feedback to improve standards.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for two nights with my wife from the outside a very grand hotel with good views,check in was quick and professional as was all the staff. Room was comfortable and big enough for the two of us, bathroom was spotless and a good size.We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, on both mornings the food was lovely.The hotel is ideally situated for a short walk into the town centre would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigalb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your visit to Harrogate!

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here last week November for just one night. Reception was very professional. Standard room was fairly small, but so so cold. Bathroom excellent. But the heating did not start until 6pm and off at 9pm. We had to use extra blankets to keep warm, not a good nights sleep. Evening dinner in the restaurant was superb. Service first class, and food very very good. Could not fault anything. However breakfast, all food was cold! Bacon, eggs, beans, toast, coffee... All cold. Arghhh. Such a difference to evening dinner, why? Would we return, yes, but would upgrade to better room, and assume breakfast was a one off, hopefully.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What you have to bear in mind when visiting this hotel is that it is a large grand older
style hotel, yes it could do with a touch up in places, but that just enhances the
character of this hotel. When we visited there were two different offers on which gave us
dinner bed and breakfast and some little extras, so with a little help from their central
booking, we were able to put them back to back We had an excellent evening meal when we
arrived, and the following morning a very good breakfast. We did eat in the hotel the
following night but had a buffet breakfast on our day of departure, which was also good.
Another nice touch is in the lobby area they have a lot of display cabinets with very
reasonable and unusual items in them. All the hotel staff seem to work very hard and are
very pleasant. This hotel is well worth staying in, especially if you are able to get a
good offer. Try visiting their website claasiclodges.co.uk. As this was a special
occasion i e-mailed the hotel directly (thanks again Emma) and they were able to
make it. An extra special few days for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbnetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive review and kind comments, much appreciated!

Merry Christmas

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews