We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am Cesar Ritz reincarnated”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I am Cesar Ritz reincarnated”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I checked every corner for dust and couldn't find anything - even with the microscope that I carry for my hotel inspections .

Even in my first incarnation I Could not have created food as good as this. Escoffier is an amateur compared to these guys.

The receptionists weren't just friendly, they were really attractive . I asked one of them to spend the night with me , and she said yes! Now that is service!!!!

I checked out, replete, happy and fully satisfied. I walked out of the front door, self combusted and disappeared in a puff of my own self importance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42twat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Cesar!
Thank you for your interesting review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    566
    362
    172
    113
See reviews for
186
864
35
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We visit this hotel a couple of times a year and have never been let down. Although we were given a small room, last visit we were given a suite and spoilt, it was perfect. Clean, comfortable and little extras. The staff again were superb, friendly and polite at all times. Thank you for a lovely break, counting down to the next one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you once again for your positive comments, glad you enjoyed your break and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for one night in February this year? Hotel very charming with staff helpful in everything we asked for.The only complaint that we had was that the bedroom was very small for a 5star hotel although the bathroom was huge! We noticed that the television was sloping on the table it stood on and The door had a half inch gap at the bottom and light flooded in under the floor making the room bright when all the lights were off.We put a towel under the door to stop the light coming in and came to the conclusion that the floor was unleavened and everything was on a slant ! Overall this did not spoil our stay

Room Tip: check out room before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 169Marios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for your positive comments, all of our bedrooms are different in terms of size and layout, I would encourage reviewers to let us know whilst they are with us if they are not happy and we will do our best to ensure they are comfortable.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this through Secret Escapes for afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast, for £99, and it was lovely. We had a corner room with double aspect windows overlooking the front of the hotel, and it had a lovely homely feel about it. I think there are 3 things that would make a difference though, crisp white linen and a duvet on the bed, a glass screen for the shower instead of a curtain and some new fluffy bath towels. That said, it would not put me off going again, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the Wedgewood was excellent and very well presented, the room is amazing. The afternoon tea is a must, I have to be gluten free and surprisingly it wasn't a problem, sandwiches, scone, jam and cream and other lovely cakes.
The hotel is going through some re-furbishment which is needed in some areas, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a stay and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for you constructive review and I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

As I've mentioned in a previous response we will shortly be introducing duvets.

Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan for two nights on 13th and 14th Feb. and had a lovely relaxing stay in Harrogate despite the weather.The hotel is in a brilliant location for exploring Harrogate and is set in lovely grounds with good views into town. We only did B & B at the hotel so can only comment on the breakfast which was plentiful and lovely and all the staff were attentive and pleasant. Our room was fine for our needs but could benefit from a little TLC although there was a strong smell of paint in there when we arrived which indicates work is going on somewhere. I noticed the floor boards in the room and elsewhere were quite noisy and warped and I had to remind myself it is called 'Old' Swan as I creaked my way across the room to stuff my hubby's jumper into the 2 inch gap under the door. I have seen other reviews on here about guest's rooms being very hot but we had the exact opposite, although I do tend to feel the cold easily but my hubby said he felt the temperature was just on the wrong side of being comfortable too. Anyway this was rectified as soon as we requested an additional heater for the room and it was lovely to return to our room following our walk back from our evening meal in town to find it all 'toasty' with our new heater switched on!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for posting your feedback and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate.

We have recently painted all of the bedroom corridors in the hotel and are currently re painting the ground floor, reception and meeting rooms - sorry about the smell!

Thanks again

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just returned from a secret escape package at this hotel including afternoon tea,dinner and breakfast. I was a little worried reading some of the previous reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were lovely, the room although small was adequate, with everything you need. The afternoon tea was superb. Dinner was lovely, but as I only like white meat and no fish, I did struggle with a main course, as no chicken on the menu, but I did have the veggie option that was nice, that is not the Hotels fault but mine for being so picky, The breakfast was also lovely. We had a wonderful time at this hotel, yes this is an old hotel, but for me that is part of its charm, ideally placed for exploring the centre of Harrogate, would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your five star review! The team and I are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant one night package stay including afternoon tea,evening meal and breakfast. Excellent value for money. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Room a little hot so switched off the heating and opened the window. Would prefer duvets on beds but apart from this had a wonderful time. Would certainly stay there again or one of the other group hotels.
Great for parking,very central.

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you were enjoyed your stay.
We do plan to introduce duvets in the next few months.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing